We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you, Steve, for a welcoming and enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marrero's Guest Mansion

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marrero's Guest Mansion
Save
You added Marrero's Guest Mansion to your Saves list
410 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ocean View, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Thank you, Steve, for a welcoming and enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have always stayed at either the Weston or the Pier House at the end of Duval and have always been quite pleased. However, once we stayed at Marrero's Guest Mansion, we will reluctantly drag ourselves back to the other two venues if/when Marrero's has no vacancies. Marrero's is a charming old Victorian with comfortable and equally charming rooms. The back yard, tropical pool is secluded from the rest of the world which lends itself to total relaxation. On of our favorite parts of our stay was the daily happy hour from 5 to 6pm. Steve, the amiable host of Marrero's mixes up some tasty drinks and is part of the fun on the sprawling front porch. The happy hour made it easy to meet the other guests who were all very nice and sociable people, some of whom we met up with on Duval and enjoyed more cocktails and laughs. This is truly one of the nicest and sweetest places in KW. Pier House and the Weston, although truly elegant and nice, pale in comparison to this lovely gem. Thanks, Steve for a memorable stay at Marrero's.
My best,
Janice G.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    51
    21
    13
    11
See reviews for
10
294
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Marrero's location was as close as you want to be to the heart of Duval (Key West’s version of “Bourbon Street” with strip clubs replaced by drag shows) and all of the action, but being a half a block off the main drag made it feel like you were in a quite neighborhood bed and breakfast. That is what it is first and foremost, so the rooms aren’t perfect and they aren’t luxurious, but they are accurate to the website. The room we had, number 14, was nice and spacious, not adjacent to any other rooms, and was right by the pool. The “optional pool” is why we chose Marrero's in the first place. There is something about loosing the swimsuit, that makes people more open and friendly. It is a different mind set when it comes to “optional” resorts and inns. We have never failed to find people that are friendly, talkative, provide recommendations, or ask you to join them at dinner if you don’t have plans. The five pm happy hour added to the friendly nature of the inn; it should not be missed. The breakfast was simple, but with all of the great breakfast places like Blue Heaven and La Crêperie a few blocks away it didn’t matter. Steve the innkeeper was a great host and provided recommendations for restaurants and entertainment that were spot on. It will be our first choice when we return to Key West.

Room Tip: Room 14 right off the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had been skeptical if we would like staying at a Bed and Breakfast. We had stayed in Key West many times but always at large hotels with many services and benefits. But our good friends loved Marrero's and we trusted them enough to take our first plunge.

And we LOVED IT! We loved our host Steve and his wfie Jackie. We loved the mansion, we loved the buffet beakfast every morning and we especially loved the free happy hour everyday on the front porch.

Besides Steve, the guests who were staying at Marrero's also added to our enjoyment. We met a wide variety of folks from all walks of life. Steve calls his returning guests "repeat offenders" and I guess we will now be in that catagory.

The location is 1/2 block off of Duval St. which is close enough but also far enough where you don't get any of the street noise. We were there over St Patrick's Day weekend and the town was packed and noisy. Of course you would never know it while relaxing on the front porch or at the private clothing optional pool at Marrero's.

And speaking of the pool; it is heated and I would guess that is was well over 80 degrees. This was appreciated durinig our late night swims as the air tempature was only in the 60's. During the day most of the pool is in full sun but there are also shady areas to escape the hot sun. The pool is rather large for the size of the inn. The seating around the pool is limited to around eight lounge chairs.

The breakfast on the front porch consisted of coffee, tea, juices, pastries, bagels, yogurt, cold cereals and probably a few other things I missed. It was a nice start to another beautiful day in paradise. Everyone we met was very social and friendly.

From 5 to 6PM, Steve hosts a happy hour on the front porch. This consists of domestic beer, various red and white wines, and other cocktails and mixed drinks. This is just as social and friendly as the breakfast. Maybe a little friendlier after a drink or two!

We stayed in Room #13 which is on the first floor right behind the living room. The room is huge with two queen beds, two side chairs and a sofa. It also has a small private porch which overlooks an alley. We had no issues with anythiing in our room. Each room also has a small refrigerator.

When we stay again, I think we would prefer a 2nd floor room with a porch overlooking Fleming St. or we would want to stay at the poolside room.

We would highly recommend Marrero's Guest Mansion to our friends.

Room Tip: Room #13 is right hehind the living room. It is large with two queen beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Ga
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Being that this was our first visit to Key West, we based our stay at Marrero's on TripAdvisor reviews. Couldn't have been happier. The properties location was quiet and relaxing, yet still only a couple of minutes walk to Duvall Street by foot. Our room was clean and comfortable, the continental breakfast was well balanced, and our host Steve, couldn't have been more accomodating. We especially liked the afternoon happy hour where we were able to interact with other guests. The clothing optional pool was a great place to relax, read, or cool off in the afternoon. We definitely plan on returning here on our next trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #23 which was upstairs at the front of the mansion. This room had two beds separat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We spent 3 wonderful days & nights in Key West with another couple at the Marrero's Guest Mansion. The location on Fleming only a 1/2 block from Duval was ideal and convenient to all the sights. We were in Rooms 15 & 16 with a shared bath. Upon check-in, we were greeted by Steve who proved to be a superb host throughout our stay. He gave us a brief tour of the beautiful house and pool area, briefed us on house rules, gave recommendations for local restaurants and sights and handed us our keys to our small but comfy downstairs (yea) rooms.

After settling in and off to collect our electric Hummer we were back for the daily 5pm happy hour on the front veranda with Steve as our esteemed bartender. It was so nice to meet and chat with the other guests and to finagle stories from Steve about the ghosts and history of the mansion. We had no ghost sightings during our stay, but my ghost radar certainly detected spirits and communicated with words frequently.

Breakfast was served buffet style in the front parlor with seating again on the veranda prepared by the illustrious Steve. A nice spread of fresh fruit, bagels, toast, pastries, cereal, milk, juice and delicious coffee.

The small heated pool (clothing optional) was beautifully landscaped and a quiet reprieve at all hours from the chaos of Duval street. Fluffy towels, ice and an honor bar were a nice perk.

Would recommend the Marrero's Guest Mansion to anyone staying in Key West. It has wonderful ambience, perfect location and Steve is a most gracious host who makes you feel comfortable...no stuffy B&B here! We will be returning as "repeat offenders" soon!

Room Tip: Room 18 is said to haunted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed 5 memorable nights at Marreros. We had room 12 by the pool. The room was clean but needed some TLC. Steve was our host and coudn't have been more helpful. The pool area was clothng optional. The pool is heated. Just about everyone was nude and laying in the sun. I had my suit on the first two days. I didn't feel any pressure to take it off. Everyone just did their own thing. At night we skinny dipped until the wee hours with other guests. What a great time. The other guests were mostly middle aged and very nice. No spring breakers (Thank Goodness) No roudyness. It was just peaceful and relaxing. Happy hour on the front porch was great with Steve serving us any drinks of our choice. The Continental breakfast every morning was fabulous also. We will definetly be back next year. A+A+A+ to you Steve and your lovely wife Jackie.

Room Tip: Room #12 is by the pool. You can be naked by the pool only, so if you stay in the house you must be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband & I stayed at this wonderful B&B for 4 nights the end of Feb. It was the highlight of our vacation! We have stayed at several places in Key West & this was the best by far! Steve is a wonderful host & the other guests were very warm & friendly! It was our first time there & many of the others were "repeat offenders", as Steve calls them! Breakfast & happy hour daily are great for meeting & chatting with other guests. We met some wonderful couples & went for dinner with them. It was unlike any other place we have experienced!

We were in room 21. The room was small but it was fine for us. It had a very large bathroom & we were able to store everything away with no problem. There was a nice porch right off our room & steps to the pool area. I wouldn't hesitate to stay in that room again. Thanks again Steve, for a wonderful experience! We look forward to becoming "repeat offenders"!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marrero's Guest Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrero's Guest Mansion

Address: 410 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Marrero`s Guest Mansion Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marrero's Guest Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.