We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poinciana Place is THE place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poinciana Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poinciana Place
Save
You added Poinciana Place to your Saves list
715-719 Whitmarsh Lane, Old Town, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Queensbury, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Poinciana Place is THE place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We just arrived home from a week in Key West...staying at Poinciana Place. We could not have been happier or more comfortable than we were there! My only hesitation in writing this review is that more people will know how wonderful it is and we'll have trouble booking it each year!!!

This apartment has absolutely everything you need for your "home away from home" and that is exactly how we felt when we came back each evening from a busy day in Key West...we were home! From the incredibly comfortable king size bed, to the kitchen that had everything I needed to make us a home cooked breakfast every day to the fabulous private hot tub that I enjoyed almost every morning and night...we wanted for absolutely nothing! Carolyn was so wonderful to deal with while planning our trip and then Bruce was there when we arrived and brought us fresh towels during throughout the week. I accidentally broke a glass and he and Carolyn were so kind about it...Bruce just simply replaced it with another one!

We either walked or rode our bikes everywhere. There is absolutely no need for a car at all unless you plan on leaving Key West. There was a wonderful grocery store called Faustos two blocks from our apartment and I went there so often that the cashier knew my name by the end of the week.

The one thing that my husband kept commenting on was how close we were to Duval Street but how quiet it was at night at Poinciana Place. We felt like we the only ones on that pretty little lane...except for an adorable grey and white that sat at our screen door each morning to say "Hello".

We can't wait to go back and can't thank Carolyn and Bruce enough for being such warm and friendly hosts!!

You absolutely have to give this place a try!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosietoo, Director of Sales at Poinciana Place, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
What a lovely thoughtful review, mentioning all the fine points of staying at Poinciana Place.

We are so happy that you had such a good stay!

Thank you so much for taking the time and energy to write this. We will look so forward to your return.

Carolyn (and Bruce)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
45
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Great place to call home with a great location. You are a block and a half off of Duval. You are halfway from either end of Duval. You have a king bed, living room, kitchen, your own hot tub, and a space to park if you can't get along without your car for a week or so. Two air conditioners and two TVs. A washer and dryer are there for your use so you can pack lighter. A new restaurant,. Off the Hook, is a half block away. Sarabeth's, Mangoes, Blue Heaven, and Seven Fish are within a few blocks. Enjoy the craziness of Duval and then come home to peace and quiet. Stop at Croissant du France on the 800 block of Duval on your way home at night and pick up some pastries for breakfast. Brew your coffee, throw the pastries in the microwave, and enjoy watching Key West wake up.
(Hint-rent bikes. Eaton Bikes will drop off and pick up. You won't need a bike for the first day or so nor the last. Rent them in the middle of your stay to cruise the back streets looking at houses and to get down to the beach at Fort Zachary.)
Poinciana is the place that will put your trip over the top.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosietoo, Director of Sales at Poinciana Place, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you so much! You really nailed it in this review describing the location and amenities of Poinciana Place.

I enjoyed your enthusiasm as I'm sure hundreds of others will!

Come back!

Carolyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Just one block from all the action, in a quiet, secluded alley (most streets are alleys in this town) with local cats as your security, lies one of the secrets of Key West. A hidden treasure, this accommodation provides a nice kitchen, living room and bedroom with a comfortable king bed to rest your feet after a day of doing all the things the town has to offer. A hot tub greets you when you come home to take the edge off of your tired feet, and the a/c cools the apartment quickly to make sure you do not overheat for the evening. All necessary accouterments are provided before you arrive, which makes you want to keep the place stocked when you leave. It's a great time. This is our second time with Lazy Lane cottages, staying at Jasmine house the first time. I have only great things to say about both properties.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosietoo, Director of Sales at Poinciana Place, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
So glad you enjoyed Poinciana Place, the "lane" and its feline welcoming committee. It is a real sweet spot on the island.

Thank you for your splendid review!

Carolyn Baker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Our first trip to Key West and so so lucky that we came across Poinciana Place as a lodging option. We rented the Treetop Unit and were very happy with the amenities and the location (a very short block and a half walk to Duval Street). The only recommendations (not complaints) would be to add some storage type containers for food and 1 more sand beach chair (there was only 1). See just recommendations absolutely NO complaints. All in all we would highly recommend Poinciana Place and we will look forward to our return trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosietoo, Director of Sales at Poinciana Place, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for the nice review and the recommendations.

The owner probably didn't realize those items were missing and would have been glad to procure them for you!

Look forward to your return!

Carolyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was our first time visiting Key West, and we did a lot of research on where to stay. We ultimately made the decision to rent the Treetop unit because the price was comparable, if not better, to any moderately prices hotels in the area.
The booking process is made easily with Carolyn, who was a dream to work with and meet during our stay. And the owner Bruce is a genuinely nice guy who gave us a lot of great info on the island, along with suggestions on places to visit.
The accomodations are pretty simple, but with plenty of room for 2-3 people. We were able to make breakfast nearly every morning; lunch and snacks were also purchased from the local grocer, which keeps the price down because Key West is expensive enough without going out for every meal!
Location was awesome too; so close to Duval and the historic cemetery, a close trip by bike (or walk!) to the wharf and Mallory Square, etc.
Spacious king size bed, outdoor sitting area(s) with jacuzzi tub, cable TV, bike racks, friendly neighbor kitty, etc. make this a home away from hom.
Plus two window AC units were great for us cold blooded Wisconsinites!
I would recommend this rental to any person who prefers not to live in a hotel box during their stay. So much more freedom without the hassle of a hotel stay.
Thank you Bruce and Carolyn for the help, we will stay again when we come back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosietoo, Director of Sales at Poinciana Place, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank YOU for the lovely descriptive review. We hope you turn into a "next timer" and come back!

Warm regards,

Carolyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, Kansas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Poinciana Place is a great location, walking distance to Duval and all that Key West has to offer. It's a great place for downtime, with the patio and hot tub. We enjoy doing our own cooking and the basics are in your condo.

Room Tip: We've stayed in both units, and both are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosietoo, Director of Sales at Poinciana Place, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
You have been such a wonderful return guest over the years and we so appreciate that you have written such a nice review!

Hope you come back yet again!

Carolyn
Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here a year ago and would love to go back again this year. The place is very comfortable, clean and convenient to a lot of restaurants including one of my favorites, Seven Fish. It is a few streets off Duval so it's a relatively quiet existence. Just a great place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosietoo, Director of Sales at Poinciana Place, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Great to hear from you again and the thumbs up for Poinciana Place.

Hope you can make it back!

Warm regards,

Carolyns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Poinciana Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poinciana Place

Address: 715-719 Whitmarsh Lane, Old Town, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Key West
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poinciana Place, a duplex, is centrally located in Old Town Key West on a tiny lane, 1 block to Duval Street. Each 1 bedroom unit includes king bed and private outdoor jacuzzi, kitchen, living room, and many other amenities including free parking and internet service. Rent one unit or the 2 bedroom/2 bath house. Really reasonable rates! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poinciana Place Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poinciana Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.