We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poinciana Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poinciana Place
Save
You added Poinciana Place to your Saves list
715-719 Whitmarsh Lane, Old Town, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Elverson, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

This place was absolutely perfect!! Great location, beautiful backyard, spacious living room, and hot tub--all just steps off of Duval! We will be back soon!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosietoo, Director of Sales at Poinciana Place, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
We're so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves and took the time to write the kind review.

Hope you will return!

Carolyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
45
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Me and my fiance stayed here for a week and had such a good stay! The owner was so nice and accommodating. My fiance brought his boat with us and the owner who is a former 100 ton captain, brought us some maps and tips on where to take our boat and what to see! The house literally has everything you need, from kitchen utensils, bedding, everything you could imagine in the bathroom, down to all your beach gear, you really feel at home. It has a gate with a lock, so you feel very safe, even though the neighborhood is pretty nice.

We stayed up stairs and the whole time we stayed there were others staying in the bottom part of the house (its a duplex) They keep it separated very well though, we hardly noticed them. We did use the backyard deck area to grill, almost every night! Its a place that both parts of the house can access but we never had a problem with anyone wanting to use the area at the same time.

The best part was the location! Its smack in the middle of everything. It about two blocks from Duval which is a five minute walk, perfect for being close but not to close to the noisy crowd. Its toward the center of Duval as well, so each end is about the same walking distance.

We will definitely come back and stay here again! My fiance end up proposing while we were here so this place will always be special to us!

Room Tip: This is a great place for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensalem , PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011 via mobile

Would recommend over a pricey key west hotel! We stayed for a week in the treetop unit, and another couple we were traveling with rented the garden unit. The location was perfect, just walk down the street and you are in the center of it all.

The owners have thought of it all,everything you could want was waiting for us. Enjoyed using the kitchen as well as the grill.The hot tub was great. We rented bikes from Moped Hospital (2 blocks away) and had so much fun riding around and exploring.

There was a bit of a musty odor in the unit, but they had plug in air freshners to try and cover it up . We weren't used to the window AC units and the noise they make, but got used to it.
Also, if you stay you are sure to meet a cute little grey kitty we named Vacay Kitty. Our first meeting was her at our door meowing. Obviously the renters are all very kind to her because she was so sweet. She likes chicken :)

2 thumbs up, why pay more for a hotel when you feel at home here.We will definately be staying again!




  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We cannot say enough wonderful things about our recent stay at Poinciana Place!! We loved our unit from the minute we walked in it. If you are looking for flashy, this isn't a place you'd like. It is older as most homes in Key West are, but it was incredibly charming, and immaculate!! We had fresh towels every day we wanted them, a washer and dryer we could use (and did!), and loved having our own space that just doesn't exist when you are in a hotel room. It was so close to Duval Street, just a block and a half away; near enough to visit the restaurants and clubs by foot, but far enough where you didn't have to listen the crowds!! A perfect blend of charm, location and convenience; topped off with Bruce's hospitality, we can safely say that this little haven in Key West is a GEM!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosietoo, Director of Sales at Poinciana Place, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Sooo glad you enjoyed your stay at Poinciana Place. It is a sweet spot! Hope you come back!

Carolyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Arrived early and Bruce graciously welcomed us - a fantastic and caring host. The Garden Unit was very nice as others have said, and included some standard cooking spices in the kitchen. Being on the ground floor, we basically had the deck and grill to ourselves (which according to the owner is common) - I guess the treetop unit tenants tend not to come onto the deck much, which was perfect with us. Not used to in-window AC so much, but only had trouble sleeping one night. We had one great casual afternoon where we swung by Wings & Wieners and took carry-out to the Green Parrot - amazingly it was much fun. No hesitation on recommending this place.

Room Tip: Select Garden Unit if you want to use deck alot
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon and we think it was the best choice. Key West was awesome, but I think renting this place made it better. Its close enough to duval to be fun but far enough away to be queit.

Plus you get a parking spot!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston, md
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

this was our first time down to key west. This unit has an upstairs and downstairs, we stayed downstairs in the garden unit.; Location is great, only a block from duval, you can walk just about everywhere from there. The cottage is cozy, the hot tub is great. There is a small kitchen so you can eat a few nights at home, there is a grill on the deck which we used several times. The deck is wonderful, we just relaxed out there! We hardly knew we had upstairs neighbors. there is also a washer and dryer. If we go back we would stay here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poinciana Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poinciana Place

Address: 715-719 Whitmarsh Lane, Old Town, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Key West
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poinciana Place, a duplex, is centrally located in Old Town Key West on a tiny lane, 1 block to Duval Street. Each 1 bedroom unit includes king bed and private outdoor jacuzzi, kitchen, living room, and many other amenities including free parking and internet service. Rent one unit or the 2 bedroom/2 bath house. Really reasonable rates! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poinciana Place Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poinciana Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.