We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem of a house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Douglas House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Douglas House to your Saves list
Douglas House
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   419 Amelia Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
“Hidden gem of a house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Great location, near the Southernmost Point. Easy walking distance to Mallory Square and the north side of the island. Stayed 4 days and never needed a scooter or electric car.

Great heated pool and outdoor seating area for late nights or early mornings. Quite area, and parking lot reserved for guests behind the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    162
    54
    29
    15
See reviews for
65
287
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dade City, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have been going to Key West for many years and have stayed at a lot of different places. The Douglas House is now in our top 2. It is close to Duval St. but it is the quiet (south) end. There is a Circle K a block up (yes they have beer). If you are feeling lazy and don't want to walk, there is a cart rental store also a block up Duval St.

ALL of the staff was friendly and treated us like we were in a 5 star hotel. We stayed in 2 different rooms, decided to stay an extra night but the room we were in was already booked. They moved our bags to the new room for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monson, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had a six night stay. Due to the time of year (spring break) most of the rooms were booked, so I think we had the last one available. Located across from the office, L8 is at the end of upper level of an old home with a large porch. The room was clean but very small and the bed was terrible. We complained and were moved two nights later. Room 15 was a nice large room with plenty of space and a very comfortable bed. This room is behind the office off the beautiful secluded garden oasis & pool. One last room change landed us in room 4, a cute little bungalow style room with a private porch. Also a very nice room. All rooms had a mini fridge & microwave, which was very convenient. The only thing which was really lacking...no continental breakfast, just coffee & tea.
Over all it was a nice place to stay and I think we would go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had a wonderful time! The location and facilities are wonderful. Some bike racks would be very useful since so many folks bike around the island.

I also would have really appreciated a blackout curtains since the blinds didn't keep out the early morning sun or outside lighting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We've stayed here twice and both times have been great - good restaurants close by - far enough from Duval to escape the craziness but close enough to walk everywhere - staff is more than gracious and willing to recommend activities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

If you are looking for a place that's close to everything in Key West, this one will sure fit the bill. It is just a few steps away from Duval Street, and its many restaurants and bars. The staff was helpful and knowledgeable about the area, which was appreciated. We stayed in room L3, a one bedroom suite with a king size bed, sofa sleeper in the living room, and a full kitchen. The issue here is with the cleanliness and upkeep of the room, which is in an old house across the street from the main hotel. Let's just say that this room needs to be refreshed...! It sure needs a coat of fresh paint and new furniture due to years of use, and the bathroom door was a good example of that. Moreover, the floor was simply dirty, which is never a good sign. This is a shame as the house itself is quite charming and is in a beautiful cozy street of Key West. Even the cute white picket fence outside the porch is not so white anymore and its paint is chipped and dirty.

Our daughter slept in the sofa bed, which is an old and unattractive piece of furnitire with an old and not so clean comforter... And if you need darkness for a good night sleep, keep in mind that the porch is brightly lighted at night... So the bottom line is great location, but we sure expected to get more for $250 a night, this was not a great value for the money in my opinion. The rooms in the main section (next to reception) may be nicer and better kept, but we can only comment on the room we were in. Moreover, the pool area looked good and well maintained, although we didn't use it.

Room Tip: Rooms adjacent to reception may be nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Finding a place for under $200/nightwith parking was our objective and the Douglas House fit the bill. We stayed in room 14 which was quite spacious and clean. The sofa in the living room was rather tattered but we didn't use it much anyway. The room had a refrigerator and coffee maker. There was no hair dryer. The shower was massive although the water was hard to adjust to the right temperature. The gardens and fountain area were lovely and relaxing. The pool, while small, was clean and in good condition. Since our room was a free standing building, there were no issues with noise from other guests. The roosters, on the hand, are a different story. They let you know about 2 hours in advance of sunrise that a new day is coming! Parking was in a lot a block away and very convenient. Overall, I would recommend this place based on our experience in room 14.

Room Tip: Room 14 has a king bed (average mattress). The sofa/sleeper in the living room is a bit worn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Douglas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas House

Address: 419 Amelia Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Douglas House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful oasis awaits you in this historic Old Town retreat nestled amid lush gardens. Luxurious, yet affordable, accommodations range from deluxe rooms to comfortable suites and two bedroom, two bath condominiums. Amenities include pool, hot tub, free parking and free continental breakfast daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Douglas House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas House Hotel Key West
Douglas House Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Douglas House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.