We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Douglas House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Douglas House to your Saves list
Douglas House
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   419 Amelia Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place, great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

This was our first trip to Key West and we wanted a nice place to stay that wasn't extremely expensive, but at the same time close to Old Town. Douglas House met both of these criteria. Their rates were very reasonable compared to other available housing. Just a half block off of Duval St. it was close to some shops and restaurants but the most action was on the other end of Duval, which is a mile long which made our end very quiet. We stayed in Peach Palm #4 which is right off the street. It was not huge but adequate and very clean and neat. It had a small front porch with 2 chairs to enjoy the cool breezes during the day and evening. The porch was enclosed with lattice and had a secure and locking door. Locking French doors led from the porch to the bedroom. The bedroom was not real big; big enough for a queen side bed, 2 end tables and a corner cabinet with a TV. It was not cramped, just not huge as some hotel rooms. The bed seems to be a little antiquated. It was very bouncy...although we usually sleep on a Sleep number bed so it could be that we just aren't used to a regular spring mattress! A small room opened off of the bedroom that contained a small refrigerator and microwave and a rattan chair. The bathroom was small but again adequate. It had a shower with curtain, sink and a stool. Their was a medicine cabinet over the sink.The towels in our room were very nice and thick. A window air conditioner kept the room plenty cool but was noisy. We preferred using the ceiling fan. The wi-fi is nonexistent! Don't know where the hub is located, but we were probably less than 30' from the office and we couldn't register enough to use it. There is a small pool in the middle of the housing complex. It was sparkling clean and beautiful among the landscaping that is evident all around the pool area. Chairs were beside the pool for sunning and a bistro table and chairs set off on another part of the deck to enjoy the shade. Towels, coffee and tea were provided poolside. An ice machine was situated in the deck area along with a soft drink machine. There is some parking in front of the Inn and we were lucky enough to snag one of them. We didn't move our car the whole time we were there. Other free parking is in their lot just down the block.
Didn't like the idea of having to sign off on quite a few rules and regs. like a $50 lost key charge and a $75 per extra person per night charge and a $35 'let me in my room' charge but I imagine they have very good reasons for having these rules.
We totally enjoyed our stay at the Douglas House. We like the idea of staying someplace that has the feeling of being in a home rather than some hotel room. If we ever find ourselves coming back to the Keys we will definitely return here and will recommend to friends to stay at the Douglas House.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    162
    54
    29
    15
See reviews for
65
287
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

I rented the Traveler's Palm with my two teenage daughters for a Christmas Trip. We made the reservations at last minute and it was a reasonable price for the season.

The Douglas House Inn is less than a block away from Duvall Street. The Inn is a set of several Key West homes that have been renovated into seperate hotel suites. The suites are all varieties of sizes. Most all rooms have steps to enter but some are located on the upper level.

To get to our room you had to enter the courtyard and go up a couple steps onto a deck. Turn the corner. Down a few steps then back up a few steps to enter into The Traveler's Palm. This is room #5.

It was a nice size suite with a kitchenette including a small stove with an oven. Plates, silverware, and cooking supplies were all included. The kitchenette has a microwave, a full size sink and a small size fridge. The room had a coffee maker but no supplies to make coffee. For coffee drinkers, coffee is always available in the courtyard near the pool.

The room has an older sleeper sofa in the living room that wasn't very well supported. I wouldn't recommend it for a couple as my daughter said it was much more comfortable to sleep on as a sofa than opening the bed.

The bathroom is tiny. There is no vanity but there is a medicine cabinet to put your toiletries. There is a standing shower with a plastic curtain. The water doesn't come out very forcefully but it does get hot because the suite has a water heater in the closet.

The air conditioning is controlled by a window air conditioner in the bedroom area and the suite has two ceiling fans to help move the air. It was hard to regulate both rooms. The window air pushed the air directly towards the bed. So if you were too cold in the bedroom the living area was too warm.

The bedroom had a closet with no dresser. The dresser was in the living room and being used as the stand for the only television. The bed was an older no frills mattress. It was ok for the 3 nights that we stayed there. The bedroom and the living room were seperated by folding doors. The doors couldn't open all the way because the tile had lifted on the floor.

We only had housekeeping once while we we're there but the suite was clean. The towels and linens were economy style towels. More like something that you would get at a Super 8 or a Motel 6 than an Inn.

The hotel claims to have wifi except the only place we could get the wifi was in the courtyard. I spoke to the front desk clerk who was always helpful. He said that they were hoping that would be updated soon but didn't give any indication of when.

The courtyard was beautiful and offered various places to sit to enjoy the tropical garden. The pool was very clean and the temperature was fine for the season though I would have probably liked it a little warmer. Lounge chairs were available around the pool though not too many chairs were able to receive full sun because of the greenery or the buildings shadows.

No breakfast is served at this inn but there is coffee available in the courtyard as indicated earlier. There are a lot of coffee shops around the area for you to grab a pastry or something.

Parking is not located on property. You will have to unload your luggage at the Inn and then you will be given a parking permit to park on the Inn's parking lot which is about a block and a half away. The neighborhood around the parking lot doesn't look all that great. As in any place you stay, I wouldn't leave any valuables visible in your car while parked here.

The southern most point and the smallest beach on Key West is about 5 blocks away. Chairs are available for rental and it is mostly used by the guests at the Southern Most Point Hotel.

Even after the following review, I probably would stay here again. Just because of the price and the location.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

New Year's Eve Party - December 29, 2011 - January 3, 2012.
We stayed in the Sago Palm room which is Amelia St level. Sago Palm has no inside chairs; just beds. It is in poor repair but clean. Douglas House is 4 blocks from the beach and 10 - 20 blocks from the fun. You will get tired of the walk. It has a very small pool and a lush garden with small bistro chairs. No breakfast at all; just (good) coffee and tea.
Piracy is not dead! It is practiced at Douglas House! When you get there, they will make you sign a paper that charges super exorbinant prices for mundane things; like a $50 lost key charge and a $75 per extra person per night charge and a $35 'let me in my room' charge.
We will not stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinellas Park, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

This was our first trip to the Florida Keys, which is surprising since both of us are born and raised Krackers. I chose the Douglas Guest Inn (note: this is NOT a bed and breakfast) for the price and the amenities it noted, most especially the private patio/garden area. Our room, #11 Fishtail Palm (I believe it's called) was spotless and the perfect room, except for two things...the bed is obviously past it's usage time (very uncomfortable) and the two wannabe "Stomp" members (yes, I'm being sarcastic) that came in around midnight and, apparently, have never been taught the golden rule about being on a second floor, being courteous to the people beneath you. Regardless of that, we will return and we will return to the Douglas Guest Inn and we will want to be in the same room. Our room was so wonderful, I remarked that I could easily live in it permanently. The kitchenette was actually quite sufficient with it's small stove/oven, tons of cabinet space, small refrigerator, and bar area with stools to eat at if need be. Even the bar area had cabinets underneath. The bathroom was nice. There's only a shower stall and it's small, but it's doable. I found the fixtures everywhere to be nice enough and was overwhelmed by our private patio/garden area. The patio is so large it has a table with two chairs on one side and a cushion outdoor couch, chairs and coffee table on the other. There is an alarm clock provided, but we didn't need one thanks to the resident cat, "Calico". She made sure to wake us up every morning which really cracked us both up! She's a real sweetheart and, for unknown reasons, even to the staff, that's HER building. LOLLL! We didn't use the pool, but if we had stayed a little longer, we would have. It was a nice, clean area and they provide the towels for use at the pool area. The deep end is only 4' 8" which is sufficient, nothing huge or remarkable, just right. The staff were absolutely friendly and to the point, which we both appreciate. They were very helpful anytime we had a question or need. To be perfectly honest, we didn't want to leave. They made our first trip to Key West the best it could be!

Room Tip: The Fishtail Palm #11 is a very private room and outside area as long as you don't mind someone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed in room 14, which I think is called the Palm-Brisbane-something-room, its actually a standalone house. This B&B (actually, just "B", no breakfast is included) is actually a collection of several houses that surround a beautiful lush garden. It had one extremely comfortable and soft bed, a rain shower, and a large living area that could have slept two more in a roll out couch. Its big wide double doors (with a lock that sticks) opened onto a beautiful patio area, with picnic furniture and lounge chairs, shared by the neighboring house, which then opened up into the pool and garden area, all steps away. There was also a private seating area on the opposite side of the house, but we didn't use it because it felt to closed in. With the small number of guests the more spacious public garden areas still felt quiet and restful.

The location was perfect on the end of Duval street, a couple blocks away, far enough to be separate from the chaos but just a couple block walk and we were surrounded by shops, art galleries, and tons of good food. The folks working at the front desk recommended one good meal after another, from high end bistros to food carts with perfect conch fritters. After bicycling around the island we were really glad we stayed on this end, which was more peaceful and walkable than the north end with the many chain hotels and busy traffic.

The pool was kept to a pleasantly warm temperature, and we enjoyed swimming it. Some of the pictures show a hot tub, but that has clearly been paved over. Their are quiet hours starting at 10 pm and the pool closes at midnight. Since everyone's room surrounds the pool, this is definitely necessary, though it would be a fun place to hang and drink wine with family and friends.

I would highly recommend this guest house to anyone. My only complaint is the price. We paid a substantial premium for the Christmas holiday, and honestly I am not sure it was worth that premium price, but I can tell you after substantial shopping in the Key West area the price was competitive with nearby places, so I guess they are getting what the market was willing to pay. My advice is if you plan to be in Key West between Christmas and New Year, book well ahead.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

This is a hidden treasure in the middle of Old Town, with reasonable prices. We enjoyed the heated pool daily and the beautiful surrounding garden. Have been home 2 days and have already recommended it twice to friends.

Room Tip: The Coconut Palm Room is the second floor of an old house, with a small kitchen and a loft. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walland, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

We went to Key West for a weekend wedding and wanted to stay close to Duvall Street but not the busier end. This hotel was clean, elegant, comfortable and located next to some great bars and restaurants. Kevin at the hotel was great with giving us directions to the wedding venue, and had great taste in restaurants too. The courtyard was beautiful and quiet (except for the roosters!) The hotel had ample parking. I didn't get to take advantage of the plunge pool but several others did and seemed to be having a great time. Go to Sweet Tea's for dinner, the food and the staff are amazing. Also enjoyed the Speakeasy Wine and Rum Bar, great local hangout.

Room Tip: We had one of the upper rooms and there are no balconies but the glass wall opens up to let in the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Douglas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas House

Address: 419 Amelia Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Douglas House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful oasis awaits you in this historic Old Town retreat nestled amid lush gardens. Luxurious, yet affordable, accommodations range from deluxe rooms to comfortable suites and two bedroom, two bath condominiums. Amenities include pool, hot tub, free parking and free continental breakfast daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Douglas House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas House Hotel Key West
Douglas House Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Douglas House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.