We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Douglas House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Douglas House to your Saves list
Douglas House
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   419 Amelia Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

my boyfriend and i offered a room at the douglas house through a visitor center on the way to key west. when we were walking up he mentioned that it didnt really look like much from the outside, but it definitely exceeded our expectations. the person who checked us in took us to the room first to make sure it was what we wanted. the room was very spacious with a sitting area, fridge, sink and microwave area. the king bed was very comfortable. we definitely for more than what we paid for. it felt like an island villa and there was a lot of privacy. we have already told our friends about it and plan to make that our regular spot when we visit key west!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    175
    60
    31
    15
See reviews for
72
305
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

The buildings are old but nicely kept. I had a ground floor King Palm with tile floor, mini fridge, microwave, & sink. There are no elevators so if climbing wooden stairs is a problem, I'd suggest asking for ground floor. Even then I had 2 steps up to my room. It's located right off Duval St at the quieter end near the beach. The off-street free parking was really nice to have. I parked once and left the car there for 3 days! When I go back, I'd stay there again for sure. All the staff I met were very friendly and helpful.

The only negative was the *free wifi* signal was so weak, I could not connect. My group had 4 rooms in 3 different buildings and nobody could connect.

Room Tip: There are several buildings, each with 2 floors. The stairs are wooden and some are narrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We recently stayed at the Douglas House for 3 nights. We stayed in #8, the palmetto palm, located above the office. This is a one bedroom with 2 queen size beds in the bedroom and a pull out couch (futon-like, but comfy...our 20 year old slept on it.) It also had a full kitchen, which was very handy for us. The room was clean and perfect for the four of us. The grounds are lovely with the gardens surrounding the pool and hot tub. Our two kids, 17 and 20, spent a lot of time in the pool. The breakfast served every morning was perfect. It consisted of cereal, muffins, fruit and bread for toasting. Also juice and coffee. We loved having our breakfast out by the pool every morning. The Douglas House is located on the quiet end of Duval and is a little bit of a walk to the Mallory Square end, but we found ourselves walking up and down Duval a couple of times a day. The only thing we would have liked better is if the bedroom had a TV in it, but otherwise it was the perfect place, beautiful and clean. We would definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: Go to their website and check out all the rooms. They have good descriptions to find what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We had so much fun on our trip to Key West. The Douglas House is an older bed and breakfast but we will be back! We stayed in the Christmas Palm, room 3. It definitely had personality! We loved the staff! They were very helpful! The pool was nice. We enjoyed the outdoor breakfast area and the private balcony. The location of the hotel was perfect. They could use a little more variety of breakfast food. Otherwise, we were very pleased!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

It was our first trip to Key West. At first we were a little worried, the office area and front did not impress. But the room was very clean and looked almost new, the air worked great, everybody was very polite and helpful. It was on the quite end of Duval, but very convenient to everything. The pool was ok and the gardens were a nice touch. We had a car and had free parking only a half a block away.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Great location, walking distance to high street and touristic area. Car parking as car no needed after checked-in. Great receptionist! Good concierge service! Fantastic pool and pool area! The only insatistifatory thing would be the breakfast which should be improved.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Great place right off of Duval Street... lots of noise comes in from outside and sofa bed is really uncomfortable but I think those would be the only two negatives. Except for that the continental breakfast was great, cute pool/garden area, the staff is really friendly and accommodating. Went with the in-laws and the pooch =)

Room Tip: My room was L3, best view of the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Douglas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas House

Address: 419 Amelia Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Douglas House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful, genuine Key West-style tropical oasis awaits you with this historic retreat nestled within the quiet, cultural district of Old Town. Luxurious, yet affordable accommodations range from deluxe rooms to comfortable suites and two bedroom/two bath condominiums. Amenities include heated pool, Free parking, Wi-Fi, coffee & tea daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Douglas House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas House Hotel Key West
Douglas House Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Douglas House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.