We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with local character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Douglas House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Douglas House to your Saves list
Douglas House
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   419 Amelia Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
South Portland, Maine, USA
1 review
“Nice place with local character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

This unique place provided us with a nice, quiet retreat in a good location just off Duval Street. They have done a creative job of combining several properties into a sort of compound with a nice little pool and sitting areas. The one BR suite we had was remarkably spacious and in good condition, but with a slightly off-beat, relaxed, Key West sort of style. If you want a new, fancy resort experience this might not be it. But in that case, Key West might not be where you should go, anyway.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    175
    60
    31
    15
See reviews for
72
305
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

We spent two nights at the Douglas House in Key West in May, 2011. It was delightful. The hotel is very clean, no sense of mildew, which in the hot/humid climate of The Keys was a suprise. The staff could not have been nicer to us. Very laid back environment. Breakfast 8 - 10 a.m. around the pool; much more than coffee and a muffin. Beautiful garden area that shows imagination, lovely, peaceful; we had a coffee there late one night and breakfast one morning, enjoying the quite splish splash of the small water falls. The room was very comfortable, as advertised, for three. Window unit A/C that kept the small apartment very cool. The Douglas House has three or four buildings, we stayed in a house that was constructed in the late 1800s, orginally as a family home and then as a Cuban social club. One of the staff reported a ghost was seen at times on the first floor of our building. We stayed on the 2nd floor and one in our group actually saw and heard a ghost in our room, rumbling around in the kitchen and pushing a purse on the coffee table up and down; and the another in our group heard the ghost rumbling around in the kitchen; the ghost was not threatening, just seemed to be interested in letting us know she was there. One staff member told us that at times guests reported that the room doors were locked from the inside. We found our door unlocked on several occassions when we were sure that it had been locked before. Who knows, maybe the ghost had left our door unlocked. The house that we stayed in had a beautiful wrap around porch, with comfortable chairs all around, very pleasant for just sitting and reading or relaxing. If you go to Key West, the Douglas House is a great choice, just off of Duval Street, within walking distance of all sights of interest, comfortable, well appointed, without being flashy, just comfortable, no mildew, huge benefit, pleasant and helpful staff, and fairly priced.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

We recently stayed at the Douglas House on a 4 day vacation and were extremely happy with everything. The location was perfect, being close to Duval Street but not right in the craziness. The beds were very comfortable and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They were always ready with advice on places to eat, and very accomodating with our travel schedule when we needed an early check-in and somewhere to store our bags after checkout on the day of our departure. We could not have been happier with our stay and if we return to Key West we will stay here again without a doubt. Thanks Douglas House staff!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

We recently stayed at Douglas House on the recommendation of Key West visitor centre. It was expensive but well located. We stayed in an apartment opposite the hotel, (number 17, I think) which we discovered later was privately owned but managed by Douglas House. It was a lovely apartment , very well-equipped but when we retired to bed we had a nasty shock, and the reason for this poor rating. The bed was SO creaky you couldn't even turn over without it making a terrible noise and prevented us from being able to sleep. The reception is not manned at night so 1.30am we rang the help line to see if we could change rooms. We got a sleepy lad who was not keen to come out. So in desperation, in order to try and get some sleep, we dragged the mattress off the bed and into the lounge area. We had an awful night's sleep because lights were shining in the room from outside, and of course we were on the floor. So disappointing. We complained to the hotel manager the next day and he could only offer us 10% off what we'd paid because we'd booked through the visitor centre. Needless to say we didn't stay a second night!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gibraltar,mi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

We could not have felt more at home here.. The rooms are clean and well stocked, the pool area is quaint and the staff is very friendly and always eager to help.. The only thing i would have liked is more fresh fruit at the breakfast .Also the Wi-Fi was difficult to access from backrooms

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

We recently stayed at Douglas House on our first trip to Key West. There were zillions of places to stay in Key West - all of them expense/overpriced - so we choose this place pretty much based on location...we wanted to be in the old part of town so we could walk/bike everywhere. This was a great location - one block from the quiet end of Duvall...near the water, great coffee places/restaurants. THe room was fine - roomy with a kitchen. Bed was comfortable/ AC worked well...the bathroom was a bit worn around the edges but basically ok. THe lighting outside our room was way too bright creating quite the glare in our room They would do well to put softer/dimmer lights on the outside porches to create a nice atmosphere. THe gardens were lovely with nice cozy places to sit with morning coffee; the pool was way smaller than we expected and we didn't use it. The "continental breakfast"...well, the breakfast was a huge disappointment unless you like boxed Fruit Loops and stale bread. That was it folks for the breakfast...coffee, stale bread and sugary cereal. No fresh fruit, no yogurt, nothing healthy or interesting. The staff was informative but not particularly friendly. They do, however, have very friendly cats that hang out in the garden...we liked the cats.

All in all, Douglas house is fine if you want to be where the action is but still have some peace and quiet. We would most likely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in march. Got the cottage, very nice! Seconds to rival.. heated pool was awesome.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Douglas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas House

Address: 419 Amelia Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Douglas House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful, genuine Key West-style tropical oasis awaits you with this historic retreat nestled within the quiet, cultural district of Old Town. Luxurious, yet affordable accommodations range from deluxe rooms to comfortable suites and two bedroom/two bath condominiums. Amenities include heated pool, Free parking, Wi-Fi, coffee & tea daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Douglas House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas House Hotel Key West
Douglas House Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Douglas House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.