We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duval Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Duval Gardens to your Saves list
Duval Gardens
1012 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 97 Key West B&B and Inns
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Very friendly stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here just for one night in Key West. The location is very good, on one of main streets, close to evening activities but in quiet surrounding. We were kindly welcomed by Christina, given all recommendations and parking hints. The parking is small and no reservations available, as announced, but we were given all directions to affiliate parking, all clear.
Our room (queen-sized bed) was tiny but good too. No wardrobe, only chest of drawers. Enough space in the bathroom. Room doors exit to common patio and it was great to sit there, looking on the street or meet neighbors. The breakfast was great: continental, with lots of fruits and bakery.
I would definitely recommend this small hotel for those who love cosiness, this hotel is full of it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    79
    20
    9
    2
See reviews for
24
172
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sun City Center, Fl
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here for three days in early May. The room was clean and very pretty, though small. Parking is limited, but our car stayed parked the whole time as we walked everywhere. We really enjoyed the breakfast on the front porch and visiting with fellow travellers. Both managers were friendly and very helpful. I hope we can return again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Had a great time there. Very nice service, people very friendly and warm.
The B&B is ideally located for tourists who want to visit Key west. All the important "action" is nearby and it is easy to go everywhere interesting (beach, shops, attractions, etc.) by foot.
The room I was in was not that big but very comfortable and clean. We didn't use the swimming pool (quite small)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This B&B is well located just a couple of blocks south of all the action. The room was quite small, but clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was above average. The pool is really a spa - hot water, but no whirlpoos. We enjoyed our stay, but if we were to go back to Key West, I think I would bite the bullet and pay more for a larger room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We found this B&B thanks to trip advisor for our 1 night stay at Key west. the choice was great.
The B&B is locate in the hearth of the town along the main road Duval street. By walking is easy to reach all the most important attractions.
The building is in typical key west stile: white wood. The rooms spacious, cleaned and in doll house stile. The breakfast has been served in the veranda by the owner.
Free parking in front of the hotel or in a parking lot just 5 minutes walking far.
only one point...considering that the whole building is made by wood...it's easy to hear your room neighbour during the night.
All was perfect. Hope to come there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

What a great place to stay!!! The staff is great!!! The rooms are super clean and well taken care of. Perfect location!!! Good little breakfast on the porch each morning. We had room 21 which over looked Duval St, and loved to sit on the balcony drinking a glass of wine before heading out for dinner each night. Great location for people watching too!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

I was very happy here and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The room was super clean and on the last day, the maid even made animals out of our towels which was a cute touch. We had a lot of luggage as this was our 2nd leg of a trip but had more room than I expected - although the room wasn't huge, there was plenty of room to store our suitcases off to the side, as well as plenty of drawer space and a nice sized bathroom with plenty of space to hang wet towels and bathing suits. Wasnt cramped at all and could get organized. We were in room 12. Breakfast was fine - fruit, yogurt, bagels, coffee... And a nice front porch to sit and eat. The pool was small but pretty and there were never more than 2 other people hanging out there. Loved the location - a quick walk to South Beach or the southernmost point. A little further walk to Mallory Square and the more populated end of Duval St but that was a good thing - allowed the B&B to be pretty quiet yet still easy to get to the action. Receptionists were always quite friendly and helpful. My only minor complaint was that the room was brighter than I would prefer at night - even though they tried to block it out with nice shutters and extra curtains - but I always bring a sleep mask for those instances and it didn't bother my husband. There was also easy access to drinking water at the pool which saved us from buying water bottles - we filled up reusable cups throughout the day - and there is a nice sized mini fridge in the room to store beer, etc. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duval Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duval Gardens

Address: 1012 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Topical Bed & Breakfast on Duval Street, in the heart of Old Town Key West. All rooms with romantic canopy netted beds, private bathrooms and Mini refrigerators. Queen and King rooms available. Enjoy breakfast on the front porch every morning. Walking distance to beaches, shopping nightlife and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Duval Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duval Gardens Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duval Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.