We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Papa's Hideaway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Papa's Hideaway to your Saves list
Papa's Hideaway
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   309 Louisa Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Papa's right after New Years. They were nice over the phone when we were making our reservation and even offered the "off season" price for our stay. We told them that we might not make it to Key West by check in time, but they said they would stay later and they did! Andrea also made a point of showing us where a Circle K and small grocery store was on the map. We got right into our room and we were very impressed with how clean and orderly it was. The bed was very big, comfortable, and clean.

The breakfast wasn't bad either. It isn't a hot breakfast per se, but it was definitely more than we expected from their website. The pool area is very clean and open 24 hours - we spent every night after getting back from Duval Street in the hot tub. They also have a cat the roams the grounds that is very nice.

We would definitely recommend this to anyone who is looking for a simple, relaxing stay in Key West.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    25
    4
    7
    2
See reviews for
26
76
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

The service was awesome. Andrea (the Owner) went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable! Will Return!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

We shared the 2 bdrm 2 bath cottage with another couple for 4 nights and did not want to leave. It was a private paradise, quiet and lush, romantic and cozy. We enjoyed eating our continental breakfast on the wrap-around porch every morning. We could easily access the pool and hottub directly from our bedrooms which had doors out to the porch. We loved the location, away from noise and crowds but yet within walking distance of Duvall Street and many lovely and interesting neighborhoods. The staff were congenial and happy to provide info about good places to eat. We would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Papa's in February and felt at home from the moment we arrived. We have stayed in many places in Key West, and would go back to Papa's Hideaway without hesitation. The rooms are charming, comfortable and spotless. Being small, the property feels like home. Breakfast on the patio under the palms is a delightful way to start the day. They have bikes to rent right there, and Papa's is convenient to just about anyplace on the island.
We loved the heated pool in the afternoon after a morning at Fort Zach and lunch at our favorite watering holes. The owners couldn't have been nicer, and were a great source of advice and assistance in anything we needed.
And what I loved was the quiet. Papa's is on a dead end street near the Southernmost Point, and was a lovely and quiet place to come back to when we had our fill of the bustle and fun of Key West.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

We shared the cottage with another couple - all of us have spent several vacations in Key West before - and we all agreed that we loved staying at Papa's Hideaway. The historic cottage has so much charm, the wrap around porch is perfect for meals and relaxing, we even grilled ourselves a gourmet meal using the grill the property makes available.

The owners are pleasant, helpful, and obviously take pride in this place. The breakfast was a nice treat too. We will be returning!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

Things I didn't read in other reviews that I loved about Papa's Hideaway:
Privacy- The rooms are quiet, The common area is completely blocked from street view. No one ever bothers you except midday to ask if your room needs serviced (more on that later). It is not in the middle of everything and it makes for a wonderful retreat from the madness that Key West sometimes lends itself to.
Foliage- It feels all around the property like you are in a tropical paradise. It is beautiful. They have tomato plants, a lemon tree, tons of beautiful, healthy plantlife everywhere.
Location-Papa's is not on the central strip of action. Love it. It is however just around the corner from the Southern Most Point, a small beach, a market, fantastic restaurants and bars not on Duval, a huge park and within walking distance to all of the touristy hubbub that interests many visitors.
Andrea and Fred- They are the know all, do all, managers of the B&B. They are true locals with a wealth of knowledge about all things Key West. They are super friendly, helpful, interesting and busy. They do everything around the place from reservations to maintainance.
Extras- There is a cat on property (surprise!). I thought it was awesome that there was a small bag of cat treats out in the common area for visitors to give to the cat and make friends. There is sunscreen always laid out and available for use by guests. Each suite, room or the cottage comes with bug spray on the porch in case the bugs are biting. Really?! This is something very classy resorts don't even think of!!
Service- We generally do not have our room serviced on vacation unless we need towels. We take care of it and don't need our bed made by someone else each day. One day we were gone off property when Service came by. So, when we returned, our room had been picked up some and things restocked...here's an extra step...I keep our dirty laundry in a pile in the corner of the suite....it was folded! Not cleaned (thank goodness or I would have felt strange) but folded and set aside neatly!

I highly recommend this B&B to anyone of any age. The pool was fantastic! The hottub was fantastic! The porches, the breakfast, the location...everything was perfect. We loved it here and will be back!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2009

This is an Inn called Papa's Hideaway it is off the main path and near the light house and the sothern most point. I paid for two night and was charged for the third night I did not stay. The rooms are old and the windows are the old glass roll out type that do not close in the bathroom and next to one bed. The room was cold during the nights the wind blew in and you could not close the windows. Not a good place to be!

  • Liked — Plants
  • Disliked — Being charged for a night I did spend!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapasHideaway, owner at Papa's Hideaway, responded to this review, February 8, 2009
Back in July 08, this guest reserved 3 nights for Feb 09. She received an email confirmation that stated very clearly the 14 day cancellation period. She emailed back that everything was fine except for a problem with the addresss.
When she arrived at Papa's Hideaway to check in, she told me that she would be dropping her 3rd night. February is a busy time, but by waiting until the last minute, she makes it almost impossible for me to re-rent the room. Her traveling companion told me she was surprised that her friend hadn't called me because the had known for weeks that they could only stay 2 nights.
They paid for all 3 nights with the understanding that I would refund their card if I was able to re-rent the room. The room sat open for that night, so we did not give them a refund. We did however offer her a full credit toward her next stay, which she refused.
The room she stayed in was completely renovated 6 months ago. It has new tile, new walls and a new bathroom. We did discover when they checked out that the window crank had been broken. Had they mentioned this to us during their stay, we would have been able to close the window for them until we could install a new crank.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Papa's Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papa's Hideaway

Address: 309 Louisa Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Papa's Hideaway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Papa's Hideaway is a historic Key West Inn with all the charm of Hemingway's day and the convenience of being just a block or so off Duval Street and a few blocks from the Southernmost Point and South Beach. Yet, Papa’s is an oasis of tranquility, a lush compound on a quiet lane. Feel your tensions release as you bask in the warm tropical sun at poolside. Listen to the trade winds rustling through the palms, blowing all of your cares away.Papa’s Hideaway is the perfect mix of location, atmosphere and value.Come join us and make Papa’s your personal hideaway.All of our rooms are set up for your comfort and convenience:• King-size bed plus a queen sleeper/sofa *all purchased brand new in 2013!• Private bath stocked with towels, shampoo and hairdryer• kitchenette with coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, dishes and cutlery• Cable TV • Air conditioning • Free WiFi• Each room opens directly to a deck• An iron and ironing board, extra blankets and pillows in each roomYour room is set in a wonderfully lush property with a heated pool. A gas grill is available to all of our guests and plenty of tables and chairs in the gardens for dining outdoors.In our guest services office at Key West Vacation Rentals, 1075 Duval Street, C19, you will find a wealth of information about local restaurants and attractions, as well as maps and brochures. Ask us about anything you are interested in doing. We can arrange for snorkeling, diving, fishing, ghost tours, kayaking, sunset sails, jet skiing, parasailing, Dry Tortugas trip and more!For your convenience, bicycle rentals are available through our office. Let us know when you book your stay and we will arrange to have bicycles delivered to you.We are happy to do whatever we can to make your stay more enjoyable.We hope you have a great stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Papa's Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papa`s Hideaway Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papa's Hideaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.