We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place quiet,just what we needed.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Papa's Hideaway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Papa's Hideaway to your Saves list
Papa's Hideaway
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   309 Louisa Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
Kettering, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely place quiet,just what we needed.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at papa's hideaway 3 nights in january,booking studio and arriving with keys as agreed in outside padlock excellent.Surprised no owners on site,we had one of the guests tell us the do's and dont's...never seen the lady owner till our last full day,and after handing over the rest of the $600 plus it cost all i got was a thank you.Now me being british i just was expecting more of how was your room,etc.......to be fair i think the owners are busy people but just thought a bit of chatting with your guest would of helped!
All in all,clean and lovely place to stay,very relaxing pool lovely,breakfast not like sizzler but hey we in key west.
Would i stay here again....yes most definete!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    24
    4
    7
    2
See reviews for
24
76
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The place is a really neat small guest house to stay at. We stayed in Studio 4 which had its own patio, and kitchen area. The pool is open 24 hours. Andrea and Fred the owners are really nice as well. Overall a great time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I have been coming to Papa's Hideaway for our annual Christmas trip for more years than I can count. It is our gift to each other, and look forward to it so much that we always book our favorite room a year in advance. Fred and Andrea are fantastic innkeepers. Accommodating and very informed when it comes to sharing what new (and traditional) things are happening in the area since the last time we visited. We always enjoy visitng with them while at breakfast to catch up on the past year's family events. The premises are beautiful, well-kept, and so conveniently located that unless we are going to specific locations just beyond walking distance, we never move the car. Just a block off Duval street, and it is still so charmingly quiet! You don't even have to leave if you choose not to - we simply enjoy sitting at the pool with a good book because once you are inside the high fence/gate, it is an oasis. It is such a pleasure to see repeat guests whom we've met over the years, and the extended continental breakfast is great! This B&B is truly a hidden gem, and we certainly look forward to seeing everyone next year. We may book an additional stay for this summer, but at any rate, we know our stay will be awesome!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We spent two nights here in mid December and were so glad we did. The place is charming and quiet. We never started our car once we arrived (lots of close free parking and safe well lighted at night). The pool was close clean warm and very inviting we ate outside every morning and the breakfast is very adequate indeed. Our room was perfect and so clean, we slept very good. We will return for sure. Highly recommend this place to anyone one, especially couples.

Room Tip: I would say each room has its advantages we were upstairs it was swell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed here for five days and the the staff definitely brought in the extra touches like coffee and breakfast buffet, extra beach towels, and sun block. We really appreciated all of the nice things. The owner, Andrea, took the extra time to map out locations in the area.

The grounds were beautiful with lovely gardens and a pool. The place was quiet for the most part (until the last day when a loud family stayed under us, but that is neither here nor there.) Our room was adequate, but a little outdated. We stayed on the top floor, which had a lovely porch where we spent many of our mornings relaxing.

The owner was prompt in fixing a problem that we had with the door, and I felt like that was a bonus.

My only con is that there were bugs! Ants. I did not bring this to the staff's attention because ant traps where already in the room. I don't really find this acceptable and I felt like we had bugs crawling on us the entire time. For that reason alone, I probably would stay elsewhere.

In addition, this location is further away from the main attraction than we wanted. Papa's Hideaway is close to Duval Street, but a little more than walking distance away from the Mallory Square and the pier, which was where we spent most of our time. In the future, I would probably pay a little more to stay closer to the center of the action.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotacachi, Ecuador
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are located in a secluded private botanical garden. Pool is clear and pristine great place to sit and work on a suntan. Nice continental breakfast by the pool. Free parking. Located in the old historical district walking distance to Hemingway's and Mallory square. You are alway from the Duval night life. We were in room 3 which I recommend since it is downstairs and easy to unload your bags. The upstairs rooms had rather step stairs. Our room was large open with king bed, microwave, refrigerator, coffee pot, plates and silverware. The bathroom was tiny and outdated. We were told to turn on the hot water in the kitchen to get hot water in the shower which did the trick. We have stayed in luxury hotels such as the Omni and Intercontinental but I certainly prefer the wonderful atmosphere and friendly folks at Papa's without the high cost of other places in Key West. I hope we will be lucky and visit again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This place was perfect for us. We have stay in Key West before and wish we had stayed here the first time. Really good spot the bottom end of Duval Street just around the corner from the beach. It felst very safe and i only about is about a 15 minute walk to the busy end of the street, which we prefer. It was very clean, cosy, private, quiet, with breakfast and a lovely pool area. Andrea was very nice and made us welcome as did Wilfred and Mozart.

We are hoping to go back and this will be our first choice......... cannot recommend it enough.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Papa's Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papa's Hideaway

Address: 309 Louisa Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Papa's Hideaway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Papa's Hideaway is a historic Key West Inn with all the charm of Hemingway's day and the convenience of being just a block or so off Duval Street and a few blocks from the Southernmost Point and South Beach. Yet, Papa’s is an oasis of tranquility, a lush compound on a quiet lane. Feel your tensions release as you bask in the warm tropical sun at poolside. Listen to the trade winds rustling through the palms, blowing all of your cares away.Papa’s Hideaway is the perfect mix of location, atmosphere and value.Come join us and make Papa’s your personal hideaway.All of our rooms are set up for your comfort and convenience:• King-size bed plus a queen sleeper/sofa *all purchased brand new in 2013!• Private bath stocked with towels, shampoo and hairdryer• kitchenette with coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, dishes and cutlery• Cable TV • Air conditioning • Free WiFi• Each room opens directly to a deck• An iron and ironing board, extra blankets and pillows in each roomYour room is set in a wonderfully lush property with a heated pool. A gas grill is available to all of our guests and plenty of tables and chairs in the gardens for dining outdoors.In our guest services office at Key West Vacation Rentals, 1075 Duval Street, C19, you will find a wealth of information about local restaurants and attractions, as well as maps and brochures. Ask us about anything you are interested in doing. We can arrange for snorkeling, diving, fishing, ghost tours, kayaking, sunset sails, jet skiing, parasailing, Dry Tortugas trip and more!For your convenience, bicycle rentals are available through our office. Let us know when you book your stay and we will arrange to have bicycles delivered to you.We are happy to do whatever we can to make your stay more enjoyable.We hope you have a great stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Papa's Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papa`s Hideaway Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papa's Hideaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.