We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem Close to everything but away from the noise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Papa's Hideaway

Save Saved
You added Papa's Hideaway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Papa's Hideaway
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   309 Louisa Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 98 Key West B&B and Inns
North Carolina
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Hidden gem Close to everything but away from the noise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We spent two nights here in mid December and were so glad we did. The place is charming and quiet. We never started our car once we arrived (lots of close free parking and safe well lighted at night). The pool was close clean warm and very inviting we ate outside every morning and the breakfast is very adequate indeed. Our room was perfect and so clean, we slept very good. We will return for sure. Highly recommend this place to anyone one, especially couples.

Room Tip: I would say each room has its advantages we were upstairs it was swell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    23
    4
    7
    2
See reviews for
24
73
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed here for five days and the the staff definitely brought in the extra touches like coffee and breakfast buffet, extra beach towels, and sun block. We really appreciated all of the nice things. The owner, Andrea, took the extra time to map out locations in the area.

The grounds were beautiful with lovely gardens and a pool. The place was quiet for the most part (until the last day when a loud family stayed under us, but that is neither here nor there.) Our room was adequate, but a little outdated. We stayed on the top floor, which had a lovely porch where we spent many of our mornings relaxing.

The owner was prompt in fixing a problem that we had with the door, and I felt like that was a bonus.

My only con is that there were bugs! Ants. I did not bring this to the staff's attention because ant traps where already in the room. I don't really find this acceptable and I felt like we had bugs crawling on us the entire time. For that reason alone, I probably would stay elsewhere.

In addition, this location is further away from the main attraction than we wanted. Papa's Hideaway is close to Duval Street, but a little more than walking distance away from the Mallory Square and the pier, which was where we spent most of our time. In the future, I would probably pay a little more to stay closer to the center of the action.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotacachi, Ecuador
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are located in a secluded private botanical garden. Pool is clear and pristine great place to sit and work on a suntan. Nice continental breakfast by the pool. Free parking. Located in the old historical district walking distance to Hemingway's and Mallory square. You are alway from the Duval night life. We were in room 3 which I recommend since it is downstairs and easy to unload your bags. The upstairs rooms had rather step stairs. Our room was large open with king bed, microwave, refrigerator, coffee pot, plates and silverware. The bathroom was tiny and outdated. We were told to turn on the hot water in the kitchen to get hot water in the shower which did the trick. We have stayed in luxury hotels such as the Omni and Intercontinental but I certainly prefer the wonderful atmosphere and friendly folks at Papa's without the high cost of other places in Key West. I hope we will be lucky and visit again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This place was perfect for us. We have stay in Key West before and wish we had stayed here the first time. Really good spot the bottom end of Duval Street just around the corner from the beach. It felst very safe and i only about is about a 15 minute walk to the busy end of the street, which we prefer. It was very clean, cosy, private, quiet, with breakfast and a lovely pool area. Andrea was very nice and made us welcome as did Wilfred and Mozart.

We are hoping to go back and this will be our first choice......... cannot recommend it enough.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. It was peaceful and relaxing getaway in Key West. The hotel was in walking distance to everything, but far enough away that it was so quiet. We felt as though we had the property to ourselves. I even got him to swim in the pool while there, which I can never get him to do:)

The room was clean and comfortable. We enjoyes spending time in the room just relaxing after a tiring few days in South Beach. The room looked exactly like the pictures on the website. The property had little odd and ends that you might forget available on the property such as bug spray, tanning lotion, sunscreen which really comes in handy.

I felt as though I was staying with family while there because the room and property were so cozy and small with only 5 rooms on the location.

The staff is very nice and helpful. It was nice to sit down and chat with Nancy in the morning during breakfast.

Thank you Nancy, Andrea and the other staff. I miss Key West already!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Papa's many times over the years. Occasionally we've brought friends or relatives along and we're always telling people we know to go there if planning a Key West trip. This is my most favorite place on earth to be and I can never get enough of it. The property is charming and very private. We've stayed in every room and the cottage as well. All are homey and comfortable and clean. The pool and deck area are inviting and relaxing with lots of tropical foliage and the occasional resident iguana or two. The continental breakfast each morning is generous with fresh fruit and baked breads, a nice way to start the day. The owners and staff are wonderful! Fred and Andrea are very gracious and kind, as well as generous with their knowledge of the island. Whatever your looking for, they can guide you in the right direction. I simply can not say enough good things about this wonderful place. It's truly my idea of heaven on earth.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I were on our 6th trip to Key West and stayed at Papa's the last week of September. Nancy met us at the gate to welcome us before the taxi could even pull away and I knew then that we had chosen well. Our room was very comfortable and clean as was the pool and patio area. This small B&B was perfect for relaxing by the pool without all of the Duval St. noise and commotion. We really enjoyed the privacy and the stress free atmosphere. The owners and staff made sure we had whatever we needed to enjoy Key West without being bothersome. A nice breakfast was available every morning poolside and bicycles were on site if needed. If I HAD to say something negative it would be that the water in the shower was a little slow to heat up but was not a problem. Well, that and these ''poisonous caterpillars'' by the pool that we never saw. I would recommend Papa's Hideaway to anyone who seeks a private, clean and low-key environment. We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Papa's Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papa's Hideaway

Address: 309 Louisa Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Papa's Hideaway 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Papa's Hideaway is a historic Key West Inn with all the charm of Hemingway's day and the convenience of being just a block or so off Duval Street and a few blocks from the Southernmost Point and South Beach. Yet, Papa’s is an oasis of tranquility, a lush compound on a quiet lane. Feel your tensions release as you bask in the warm tropical sun at poolside. Listen to the trade winds rustling through the palms, blowing all of your cares away.Papa’s Hideaway is the perfect mix of location, atmosphere and value.Come join us and make Papa’s your personal hideaway.All of our rooms are set up for your comfort and convenience:• King-size bed plus a queen sleeper/sofa *all purchased brand new in 2013!• Private bath stocked with towels, shampoo and hairdryer• kitchenette with coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, dishes and cutlery• Cable TV • Air conditioning • Free WiFi• Each room opens directly to a deck• An iron and ironing board, extra blankets and pillows in each roomYour room is set in a wonderfully lush property with a heated pool. A gas grill is available to all of our guests and plenty of tables and chairs in the gardens for dining outdoors.In our guest services office at Key West Vacation Rentals, 1075 Duval Street, C19, you will find a wealth of information about local restaurants and attractions, as well as maps and brochures. Ask us about anything you are interested in doing. We can arrange for snorkeling, diving, fishing, ghost tours, kayaking, sunset sails, jet skiing, parasailing, Dry Tortugas trip and more!For your convenience, bicycle rentals are available through our office. Let us know when you book your stay and we will arrange to have bicycles delivered to you.We are happy to do whatever we can to make your stay more enjoyable.We hope you have a great stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Papa's Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papa`s Hideaway Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papa's Hideaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.