We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, relaxing day out on the water” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kayak Kings Key West

Kayak Kings Key West
5001 5th Ave, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-896-9006
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you want to get off the beaten path then us for one of our AMAZING tours. From our mangrove maze tour to a full day of exploring our back country, we go where no one else does. We are eager to share our playground with you and show you the many wonders of our awesome ecosystem. We warmly welcome walk-ups. Cheers!
Metropolis
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing day out on the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

From the start, AJ and his crew are laid back and ready to please. The week before we were to arrive at the marina I recieved confirmation from AJ about the trip and a weather report of what we were to expect. Once we got to the marina we were greated with a big smile from AJ and a sweet black lab. It ended up that one of his friend's parents were in town and they asked if they could tag along. From the start we just felt like part of the gang. While out on the kayaks we saw a shark, tons of jelly fish, a manatee, a bald eagle, a crab, and lots of beautiful scenery. The Blue Angels were in town and were doing a practice run, so we got our own person flight show while out as well! It was our first time kayaking, and AJ was wonderful at teaching us how to manuever through the mangoves. Since most of the people in our group were locals, we heard great stories about the different landmarks around the area. We really did have a great time and can't wait to visit Key West, and Kayak Kings, again! Thanks, AJ for letting us be one your buds for the day!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    2
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
madison, wi
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A must do when in Key West!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We've been on several water adventures around the country but AJ and Kayak Kings ranks way way up there! AJ was an awesome guide - knowledgeable, funny, laid-back and really dedicated to giving us an enjoyable experience in the mangroves maze. We met AJ at a small marina, jumped in the kayaks and the adventure started right away by seeing a manatee by the dock! Paddled through the mangrove maze (incredible!!!) and saw horse-shoe crabs and nurse sharks. Two hours of paddling went by fast and we didn't want it to end but upon return we sat with AJ at the marina, drank some beers and relaxed - really great guy who has done alot in life and is someone you'd want to hang out with! Our only regret is that we weren't able to take a trip with him the next day on a snorkeling adventure...but next time in KW, Kayak Kings will be at the top of our list of to-do's! Don't miss experiencing Kayak Kings - it was the best part of our vacation!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience-best part of our vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We arranged a day-trip with Kayak Kings during our stay in Key West. From the first phone call, we were impressed with the professional, friendly staff. On the day of our trip, we met AJ, Liza, & Castro at a small marina. They had everything clean, loaded, and ready to go. We spent the day sightseeing, snorkeling the Wisteria wreck, and sea-kayaking through the mangroves. AJ shared tons of great stories about the history, culture, wildlife and local characters of Key West. He's obviously been in and around Key West and boats for a long time. And Liza & Castro were great guides, smiling and making sure we were comfortable and having a good time. It was an amazing day, and we were so glad we went with a smaller outfitter who gave us a personalized, unforgettable experience we'll treasure. Thanks guys!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome mangrove experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

If you haven't been inside the mangroves or salt ponds you need to check it out! And there's no one better than the crew at Kayak Kings to take you out for your own personal experience. It is so peaceful, the water is crystal clear and it's just breathtaking. Chris and the crew at Kayak Kings are so passionate about the biology and local habitats of the animals and sea life in the Keys. They can customize trips and make your experience completely unique. Get off the beaten path and book any water adventure with the Kayak Kings for an experience that you'll never forget.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, IL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Time in the Mangrove!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

What a great time we had! Chris was a fantastic guide. Very informative, he respects nature and the ecosystem, we loved going thru the mangrove as well as the open water part of the trip. It was the most relaxing part of our trip to Key West. Laid back, quiet, no crowds, beautiful scenery. Only as much work as you want it to be. Loved it. We highly recommend an adventure with Kayak Kings.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayak Kings Key West also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Kayak Kings Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kayak Kings Key West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.