We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best gay resorts in the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island House
Save
You added Island House to your Saves list
1129 Fleming St., Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the best gay resorts in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful smal gayresort in a quiet neighbourhood. Walking distance of Duvalstreet. Clean and cosy rooms. Very friendly staff. 24 hour service. When you are here it really feels like holiday. We did visit 4 times now and we we wil be back.
We want to thank the staff for the great times we had.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    71
    17
    11
    10
See reviews for
Families
0
169
102
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are gay and looking for a fun place to kick back in Key West, look no further. This place has everything you need. There is literally no reason to leave. But if you want to, it is an easy walk to shops, restaurants, and gay bars. The pool is hella fun place to relax. Having a full bar adjacent to it makes it even more so. There are two hot tubs, a quieter sun deck, full gym, and if you wish, a video fun room. Clothing is optional, but there is zero pressure to do without if you don't care to do so. The on-site cafe serves food 24 hours a day and is actually quite good. Food prices are reasonable, especially for the quality of the food. The staff here is very friendly and super helpful. If you choose to stay elsewhere, it is worth getting a day pass to the Island House. But, really, I'd recommend staying here.

Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wharton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We love Island House and only stay here when we visit Key West. The staff is great and always friendly, the rooms are always clean and in working order, the food & drink is always great and the amenities are aawesome and the boys are nice I guess....

Thanks gor some GREAT hospitality!

Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I can't say enough positive things in this small space about Island House!
The resort tries so hard (no pun intended) to make ever possible way to make sure everything is perfect. The staff is always professional and polite. The resort is maintained better than a Hilton! Everything is clean and spotless. You cannot find a better gay resort. THANK YOU Island House for making my weekend even better.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Let me say I love this place and the concept of the Inn. It's very clean and well maintained. The amenities the property offers is second to none in Key West and the rates are acceptable for the atmosphere and type of Inn.

The restaurant at the Inn is good for a quick snack or light breakfast.

With some exceptions, the staff were usually less than friendly and often times bordered on rude. They did their job, and you got the feeling they were there for the paycheck. So disappointing. There certainly wasn't that great southern hospitality I expect. I didn't get a sense of a management presence monitoring the staff and watching their interactions with guests. They should. If I owned the Inn I'd be making fast changes.

I wasn't the only guest noticing this. Most of the crowd felt the same way. Speaking of the guests......stellar. My partner and I arrived for a couples getaway, and will leave with several more life long friends.

If you're thinking of a stay in Key West, don't look further than island house.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

Our second time staying at Island House. Attended Bone Island Weekend - had an absolute blast. We decided to stay in the upstairs apartment (#420) which is the house directly across the alley from the main door. This way we could be a part of the fun but still getaway when we needed to nap. Never heard any of the late night/early morning partying from the pool area. Apartment comes with 2 bedrooms (very comfy beds) but only a single bathroom (Aveda bath products). Full kitchen and huge living area & private balcony. Total of 3 TV's - Yes you still get access to the Porn channels (14,16 & 18). The Staff really takes care of the guests and the Restaurant has a variety of good food if you choose not to leave the property. That said some top notch restaurants a short walk away.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

The Island House is a great resort property. Everything about it welcomes you and makes you feel at home. The staff is very attentive, friendly and helpful. The pool bar and staff rivals most restaurants and they pay attention to the details. I commend the staff for making sure the stack of towels are fresh and warm. Rooms are very comfortable. Bathrooms could use an update though;-) I highly recommend this beautiful property to all gay men.

Room Tip: I don’t think there is a bad location in the entire property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.9 mi away
Southernmost on the Beach
1.4 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.8 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#1 of 45 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 45 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#5 of 45 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,322 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#34 of 45 in Key West
4.0 of 5 stars 1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island House

Address: 1129 Fleming St., Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine.... a place where everyone is gay.... where it’s easy to make friends.... where you can really be yourself.... where you can enjoy yourself 24 hours a day..... in a secure locked compound, safe from the outside world...... where a friendly and capable all-male staff are on hand to make sure you enjoy your vacation...... in a tropical paradise. Well that place is waiting for you. It’s called Island House in Key West ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island House Hotel Key West
Island House Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.