We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent (again)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander's Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Alexander's Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alexander's Guesthouse
1118 Fleming St., Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Cocktail for You!
Ranked #1 of 98 Key West B&B and Inns
London, England
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
“Excellent (again)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

This community (it's now become more than a guesthouse!) continues to set the gay pace in Key West.

It's perfectly maintained by a permanent team of 2 guys.

The happy hour continues to mix a strong brand of Cosmo and Pina Colada.

The staff are the best asset. Laura, the excellent new man Charles and in particular Michael are just the best. Great job guys!

We stayed in room 16 for the second time. It's great - see the images.

Finally (with my British accent...) you do get a better class of fellow guests at Alexander's than any other similar guesthouse... more fun, more ironic ([--]), and far better looking. This was certainly the case this stay.

Even the cat, Hercules, is a class act!

See you guys again and soon.....

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    677
    42
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
454
61
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

Let's start with the staff: There is nothing they can't or won't do for you. You feel pampered from start to end. Michael, Charlie and Laura made our stay lovely, helping with recommendations, bookings or just simply their company. It's like being the favourite guest in someones home (complete with lazy cat Hercules).

The poolside atmosphere in the afternoon is just sheer relaxation and getting to know everyone else. Met some lovely people in and around the pool, which we hope to meet again on return.

The rooms are brilliant - we have so far tried 2 - #s 13 and 15, both of which are secluded with their own porch facing the pools. The place is clean, spacious and most of all very friendly. This was our 2nd stay and surely not the last.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami,fl
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

Me and my partner had the most wonderful time at Alexander's.The hotel is nice and quiet. A great place to unwind and de-stress.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

I spent an extended weekend at Alexander's near the end of September 2009. Alexander's was a great experience. I was in room 8 on the 3rd floor. The room was perfect for a solo traveller and had everything I needed. The entire grounds were well kept, lush, and relaxing. The true stand out at Alexander's is the staff, especially Philippe and Michael. They go out of their way to make sure that every guest is having a wonderful time and getting the most out of their trip. I am already planning a trip back as soon as time and my schedule permits. Keep up the great work guys.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta,GA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

We stayed for only 4 nights but this place is tops! The entire staff is warm and welcoming and they really go out of their way to make your time there as relaxing and pleasant as can be! The environment is truly an experience that must be tried to appreciate. Five stars plus. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

My wife and I took a delayed honeymoon to Key West in January 2009. We looked at so many different places to stay in Key West but ultimately kept coming back to reviews of Alexander's. We had an AMAZING week-long stay at Alexander's. The staff was so amazing and kind. They knew we were there for our anniversary and one evening when we came back from dinner, there was a card and bottle of wine waiting for us. Our air conditioner in our room broke during our stay and they immediately moved us to a larger room with a private entrance! The sundecks for sunbathing were amazing and the pool was relaxing. Happy hour by the pool was such a nice touch! Breakfast each morning was incredible and I miss it so much. Filipe and Michael are the two gentleman who assisted us the most during the week of our stay and even arranged bike rentals for us. Laura assisted us the last day or two and she was so nice and helpful as well. We will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

I selected Alexander's Guesthouse as our Key West lodging because the diversity of our group demanded that we stay in a place that welcomes everyone. Alexander's is that place. Whether straight or gay , single married, committed or just dating all travelers will be comfortable in the guesthouse. The continental breakfast is typically assorted cereals, bagels, muffins, juices and coffees but omlettes are available upon request at the bar. The dining area is cozy and affords an opportunity to meet other travelers. The accomodations are clean, neat and very comfortable. Take care to watch the low ceilings in the third floor rooms. The staff is extremely professional and competent and were able to book both our recreation and meal reservations as well as assist with deliveries from local restaurants so you can eat lunches and dinners poolside. The happy hours at the poolside bar can prove tempting just beware oversampling and being unable to walk downtown to see the sunsets. All in all Alexander's is well worth consideration for your stay.
Gary H and Friends Durham, NC

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alexander's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Guesthouse

Address: 1118 Fleming St., Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexander’s Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse is proudly gay –owned and operated. Our guests can enjoy complete freedom and a little peace of paradise. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West’s famous Historic District, Complimentary expanded continental breakfast served poolside and complimentary evening cocktails. Two sundecks are also available for sunbathing. Each room is uniquely decorated in a contemporary style, in addition to the basic rooms, Alexander’s offers deluxe rooms, suites and even a full apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alexander's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander`s Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander's Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.