We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent (again)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander's Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alexander's Guesthouse
Save
You added Alexander's Guesthouse to your Saves list
1118 Fleming St., Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Cocktail and Tour!
Ranked #2 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Excellent (again)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

This community (it's now become more than a guesthouse!) continues to set the gay pace in Key West.

It's perfectly maintained by a permanent team of 2 guys.

The happy hour continues to mix a strong brand of Cosmo and Pina Colada.

The staff are the best asset. Laura, the excellent new man Charles and in particular Michael are just the best. Great job guys!

We stayed in room 16 for the second time. It's great - see the images.

Finally (with my British accent...) you do get a better class of fellow guests at Alexander's than any other similar guesthouse... more fun, more ironic ([--]), and far better looking. This was certainly the case this stay.

Even the cat, Hercules, is a class act!

See you guys again and soon.....

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    48
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
544
72
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

Let's start with the staff: There is nothing they can't or won't do for you. You feel pampered from start to end. Michael, Charlie and Laura made our stay lovely, helping with recommendations, bookings or just simply their company. It's like being the favourite guest in someones home (complete with lazy cat Hercules).

The poolside atmosphere in the afternoon is just sheer relaxation and getting to know everyone else. Met some lovely people in and around the pool, which we hope to meet again on return.

The rooms are brilliant - we have so far tried 2 - #s 13 and 15, both of which are secluded with their own porch facing the pools. The place is clean, spacious and most of all very friendly. This was our 2nd stay and surely not the last.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami,fl
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

Me and my partner had the most wonderful time at Alexander's.The hotel is nice and quiet. A great place to unwind and de-stress.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

I spent an extended weekend at Alexander's near the end of September 2009. Alexander's was a great experience. I was in room 8 on the 3rd floor. The room was perfect for a solo traveller and had everything I needed. The entire grounds were well kept, lush, and relaxing. The true stand out at Alexander's is the staff, especially Philippe and Michael. They go out of their way to make sure that every guest is having a wonderful time and getting the most out of their trip. I am already planning a trip back as soon as time and my schedule permits. Keep up the great work guys.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta,GA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

We stayed for only 4 nights but this place is tops! The entire staff is warm and welcoming and they really go out of their way to make your time there as relaxing and pleasant as can be! The environment is truly an experience that must be tried to appreciate. Five stars plus. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

My wife and I took a delayed honeymoon to Key West in January 2009. We looked at so many different places to stay in Key West but ultimately kept coming back to reviews of Alexander's. We had an AMAZING week-long stay at Alexander's. The staff was so amazing and kind. They knew we were there for our anniversary and one evening when we came back from dinner, there was a card and bottle of wine waiting for us. Our air conditioner in our room broke during our stay and they immediately moved us to a larger room with a private entrance! The sundecks for sunbathing were amazing and the pool was relaxing. Happy hour by the pool was such a nice touch! Breakfast each morning was incredible and I miss it so much. Filipe and Michael are the two gentleman who assisted us the most during the week of our stay and even arranged bike rentals for us. Laura assisted us the last day or two and she was so nice and helpful as well. We will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

I selected Alexander's Guesthouse as our Key West lodging because the diversity of our group demanded that we stay in a place that welcomes everyone. Alexander's is that place. Whether straight or gay , single married, committed or just dating all travelers will be comfortable in the guesthouse. The continental breakfast is typically assorted cereals, bagels, muffins, juices and coffees but omlettes are available upon request at the bar. The dining area is cozy and affords an opportunity to meet other travelers. The accomodations are clean, neat and very comfortable. Take care to watch the low ceilings in the third floor rooms. The staff is extremely professional and competent and were able to book both our recreation and meal reservations as well as assist with deliveries from local restaurants so you can eat lunches and dinners poolside. The happy hours at the poolside bar can prove tempting just beware oversampling and being unable to walk downtown to see the sunsets. All in all Alexander's is well worth consideration for your stay.
Gary H and Friends Durham, NC

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.9 mi away
Southernmost on the Beach
0.7 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 45 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,087 reviews
1.4 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 45 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,550 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#30 of 45 in Key West
4.0 of 5 stars 1,860 reviews
2.8 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Guesthouse

Address: 1118 Fleming St., Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexander’s Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse is proudly gay –owned and operated. Our guests can enjoy complete freedom and a little peace of paradise. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West’s famous Historic District, Complimentary expanded continental breakfast served poolside and complimentary evening cocktails. Two sundecks are also available for sunbathing. Each room is uniquely decorated in a contemporary style, in addition to the basic rooms, Alexander’s offers deluxe rooms, suites and even a full apartment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alexander`s Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander's Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.