We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Special..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander's Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alexander's Guesthouse
1118 Fleming St., Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Cocktail for You!
Ranked #1 of 98 Key West B&B and Inns
Pompano Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So Special..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed 3 nights for a birthday celebration with friends who had stayed and raved about it. From check in with Laura & John to Anges preparing expresso to go for our trip back to Fort Lauderdale, this was total relaxation. Clean, well maintained, and located in a quiet area, we could ride bikes in morning to explore and walk to shopes and dining. Happy hour daily, breakfast by the pool each morning. Multiple sun decks for privacy and evening hot tub dips were perfect touches to a perfect stay. Our room had porch with bamboo all around. Very tranquil. Will recommend and look forward to return visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    659
    42
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
445
60
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful visit. Stunning room. Room 15!!! Staff very professional. Wonderful relaxing
H20 products in bathroom. All well done nice items for sale in lobby. Breakfast well done. One suggestion for happy hour. Include beer. Why offer wine and specialty cocktails and I cannot have a beer without a 3.00 up charge. Not nice

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

So nice, so accomodating. Great room, great breakfast. The staff were all so helpful to us. The manager... I think her name is Laura... but I cannot remember for certain -- she was great. I arrived with a horrible abscess tooth and she set me up with a great dentst, right down the street, who mercifully pulled it! She also didn't charge us for laundry, because the laundry service had failed to pick up our clothes that day. Probably saved us $30! Truly, they go out of their way to make you feel welcome and at home. If I am ever in Key West again, I won't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Loved the apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This really is a special place.

There is nothing wrong with Alexander's; it's perfect.

Our room was beautifully designed and spotlessly clean - number 14 right by the pool area; would really recommend this room.

Staff are wonderful; special mention for Geoff and Shannon.

You can chat with the guests, or keep to yourself; it's pretty relaxed.

Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from our second stay at Alexander's, and we can't wait to return! We have traveled to Key West many times over the years, and now that we have found Alexander's, we would never stay anywhere else! The guesthouse and grounds are beautiful, and the staff is top-notch! Thanks, Alexander's, for a wonderful trip and great birthday for my husband!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

What a wonderful ....relaxing...weekend....Alexander's is beautiful. The staff is amazing...on top of everything....making sure your stay is an enjoyable one..I'm not sure I've been a place where the staff is so friendly. The breakfast was wonderful....the happy hour was so nice....met some very nice people. Would return at any opportunity. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We had room 5...which was wonderful...opened up to second deck....nice and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Had an amazing stay at Alexander's
The staff was extremely friendly and took great care to see that all of our requests were met.
Delicious food and atmosphere. The happy hour was especially nice

Thanks to all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alexander's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Guesthouse

Address: 1118 Fleming St., Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexander’s Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse is proudly gay –owned and operated. Our guests can enjoy complete freedom and a little peace of paradise. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West’s famous Historic District, Complimentary expanded continental breakfast served poolside and complimentary evening cocktails. Two sundecks are also available for sunbathing. Each room is uniquely decorated in a contemporary style, in addition to the basic rooms, Alexander’s offers deluxe rooms, suites and even a full apartment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alexander`s Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander's Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Alexander's Guesthouse to your Saves list