We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander's Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alexander's Guesthouse
Save
You added Alexander's Guesthouse to your Saves list
1118 Fleming St., Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Cocktail and Tour!
Ranked #3 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Please read all the other reviews because the message is common to all. Alexanders is truly different. It is like having your own place in paradise . Please join the many people who return every year , you will not be disappointed. It is a long way from the UK but it is worth it for the service, atmosphere, the new friends that you will meet and that something special that you will only realise when you are there. We have been at Easter time for the last few years. We shall be there in 2014. Just try it once and you will be an addict.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    48
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
524
71
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Being quite the creature of habit and after 12 years of frequenting Key West…I always stay at Alexander's. In my opinion, there is NO better accommodation in Key West! …they never fail to meet my expectation for casual island elegance and service.
The staff is spectacular and extremely accommodating of anything that you need and reasonably ask. ...WATCH OUT, MR. CARSON….the staff of Downton Abbey have something to aspire to! 
This is truly a one-of-a-kind property with a warm and enjoyable mix of clientele, both straight and gay. We enjoyed breakfast and coffee by the pool, and cocktails there as well, every day. The guests become a quasi family in that each morning at breakfast or, evening at cocktail hour, everyone shares what they are doing or, did for the day, where they are going for dinner, asking if you have plans and want to go with them. Everyone is so relaxed and friendly, who could ask for more while in Paradise?
Alexander's has been my #1 choice for accommodations. If my favorite room/s are not available, I wait until they are, rather than go to another property and risk being disappointed.
Simply put, there is just not enough good to say about the accommodations, staff and ambiance of this place; it feels as great arriving there for a vacation as it does when arriving at your own home after a long hard day at work.
...truly a gem, nested away in Old Town….HIGHLY recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Another fantastic stay at Alexander's......My partner and I just love it! The staff really know how to do it right. A few new ones Elies and Mike have fit right in like they have been there since day one. And enough can not be said about Jeff's outstanding guest attentiveness. He treats everyone like royalty! We are looking forward to our next visit. Can't wait to see our old friends and to seeing the new ones we made again when we return!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Alexander's is absolutely fantastic. It has beautiful grounds, beautiful rooms, and wonderful, friendly staff!! Jeff is especially helpful and very friendly. Even the housekeepers are very friendly! Everyone makes you feel welcome. I cannot give a high enough review to Alexander's that will really do justice.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

April 22 was the eleventh anniversary for my partner Wil and I. This year, we wanted to make our first trip to Key West. Via Trip Advisor and other internet research, we chose Alexander's. This was one of the best choices in vacations to date; top of the line customer service, comfort and etc. Since returning home, we have praised Alexander's by word of mouth and have recommended to many family and friends. For the record, prior to our flight and visit, we were contacted by Alexander's for any tentative needs or wishes. From check in to check out, this was a refreshing experience that proved customer service is still alive in our world today!!! Cleanliness, comfort, friendliness, affordibility, and one last mention; customer service. This is the top of the choices folks. Jeff and Elise catered to sheer professionalism and exemplified their career choice of hospitatlity; KUDOS to the team!!!

Room Tip: Pool views are superb ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I came to this wonderful resort as a stranger and departed as an old friend.
Alexander's is not just the best...but the very best. The staff outstanding. The treatment 1st class. The rooms warm and comfortable... alive with that Key west charm.The breakfast was filled with favorites for any palate.The happy hour was an ice breaker to meet new friends and to reacquaint with old ones.The pool area clean and very comfortable. As you can tell I truly love Alexander's. I'm already booked for next year the same time as my new friends so we can have a reunion.If your taking a trip to Key West you need to stay at Alexanders!

Room Tip: 2nd floor guest house suite over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have stayed at Alexander's several times and each time it is everything and more than we could hope for. The combination of the best staff possible(Laura, Jeff, Agnes, Elise), beautiful, comfortable rooms, the ammenities, and free happy hour are some of the reasons we will always stay at Alexander's. They do it all and they do it right. That is why there is no better place for adults to stay in Key West. Thank you guys for another great stay and we look forward to seeing you a few more times this year.

Room Tip: If you want the best room Alexander's has to offer, stay at the apartment. Beautiful apartment w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Alexander's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Guesthouse

Address: 1118 Fleming St., Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexander’s Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse is proudly gay –owned and operated. Our guests can enjoy complete freedom and a little peace of paradise. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West’s famous Historic District, Complimentary expanded continental breakfast served poolside and complimentary evening cocktails. Two sundecks are also available for sunbathing. Each room is uniquely decorated in a contemporary style, in addition to the basic rooms, Alexander’s offers deluxe rooms, suites and even a full apartment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alexander`s Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander's Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.