We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it so much we came back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander's Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alexander's Guesthouse
Save
You added Alexander's Guesthouse to your Saves list
1118 Fleming St., Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Loved it so much we came back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

It was a delight to walk through the door of Alexander's Guesthouse again to the very warm and attentive welcome from Jeff (as well as from other staff who recognised us from last time). He soon reminded us about everything we needed to know - that we hadn't really forgotten from our previous stay! All the great reasons came flooding back as to why we stayed here last time; the unique individual rooms, crisp white linen, superb breakfast spread (enjoyed al fresco on the deck) and the daily happy hour and relaxed atmosphere with other guests of all ages. The service is just top notch - we wouldn't choose anywhere else when staying in Key West!

Room Tip: They are all so unique, you won't be disappointed! The only problem is loosing the room you real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    47
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
517
71
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Spent 4 days at Alexanders. The staff is attentive and friendly and will respond before you know it your requests. The house is comfortable, private and makes you feel like your in an oasis. The pool, hot tub are great places to hang out for a quiet relaxing time and then of course their happy hour sets the tone for the evening. This place really does take you away. Even the rooms are all unique and very comfortable. A definite place to go back to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Wait! This isn't going to be another of those straight couples raving about what a fabulous place Alexander's Guesthouse is is it? Yes! Yes, I'm very happy to say that it is!  We left today after a too short stay, met some really great guests, enjoyed the (extended) happy hours immensely, spent way too long lingering over breakfast conversing with our newfound friends and benefited from the recommendations of restaurants (Cafe Sole, Latitudes at Sunset Key, Santiago Bodega and Better Than Sex among the best) and other activities throughout our brief stay.  We stayed in Room 16 which is a really great and private suite with a private patio and Florida room but next time we won't require such a sanctuary. Jeff and Aggie are fabulous hosts (hostesses) and welcome all with open arms. Mike is a great substitute bartender as he held up through a very extended happy "hour" ( actually four hours) on our last night. And then there's Charlie! A better friend and dispenser of advice and well wishes I have never seen at a lodging facility. I guess the best compliment I heard while there came from at least two from different couples who both stated that once you've been to Alexander's Guesthouse why would you ever want to stay anywhere else while in Key West? My wife and I whole heatedly agree!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

On the advice of good friends I booked a short-week-of-work stay at Alexander House this month. As well, this was my first-ever stay at a B&B in Key West. I was truly impressed from my first communications with the property until my (much too soon) parting moments. There were no hitches or glitches; quite the contrary. The staff (particularly Charlie, Jeff, Agnes and Michael) were spot-on attentive and most courteous - indeed, as friendly as family!

The property is spotless: rooms, hallways, reception area and breakfast area, the pool and jacuzzi. Each day starts with a complimentary buffet breakfast including eggs, french toast, cold cereals, fruit, muffins and juices. Coffee, as well, is available throughout the day. A complimentary happy hour is hosted each afternoon at 5: great beverages and a chance to meet and share with the other property guests. The pool and jacuzzi are available 24 hours a day.

I have already booked my return for 2014. Should you decide to stay at Alexander Guesthouse I wish you the same wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool and jacuzzi are likely booked before others but ALL rooms are large, clean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at Alexander's many times. Everything was perfect! The staff is amazing, friendly, and welcoming. The rooms are modern, clean, and comfortable. The pool and yard are quiet and relaxing. I highly recommend it while visiting Key West!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was our 3rd time in Key West but just our first time at Alexander's House. Would definitely return. Friendly people. Comfortable accommodations. Great coffee and breakfast. This part of old town is quiet with lots of great off-Duval restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

After staying at one of the large resorts our first trip to KW last year, we opted for something with more character this time and chose Alexander's based on the tripadvisor rating. My husband and I have traveled to many wonderful places over the past 20 years, but without a doubt have never stayed anywhere as friendly and welcoming as this. The staff were exceptional, especially Charlie, who was equal parts host, chef, bartender, and entertainer. The other guests, almost all gay/lesbian couples, were mostly professionals in their 30s/40s/50s, and were extremely warm, fun, and very friendly to us - the only straight couple there for much of our stay.

The daily breakfast was excellent and varied each morning, far better than a standard buffet. The happy hour was fun and a great opportunity to mingle with the other guests. The pool and sun decks were attractive, clean and a great place to relax and enjoy the sunshine.

We liked the location - about 1/2 mile easy walk from Duval St, but a shorter walk to the wharf area with many excellent restaurants and bars. There's also a friendly and well stocked convenience store one the corner next to Alexander's.

We stayed in room 10, on the first floor. We liked the separate entrance from the front porch, and especially enjoyed the enclosed private patio with plantings and bubbling fountain. The room itself was nicely decorated, although not spacious - really just room for the king sized bed and a couple of small dressers. The shower was out on the patio, along with the separate half bath, which was fine for us but small, and could use some updating. This seemed like the most private room location-wise, and the patio was definitely a plus, but from the pictures on line, some of the other rooms look larger and have more updated bathrooms, so it really depends what you're looking for.

Overall, we felt Alexander's exceeded our (high) expectations, and we would most definitely stay there again. The atmosphere and friendliness were the best part, but we honestly couldn't say anything negative about the whoe experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Guesthouse

Address: 1118 Fleming St., Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexander’s Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse is proudly gay –owned and operated. Our guests can enjoy complete freedom and a little peace of paradise. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West’s famous Historic District, Complimentary expanded continental breakfast served poolside and complimentary evening cocktails. Two sundecks are also available for sunbathing. Each room is uniquely decorated in a contemporary style, in addition to the basic rooms, Alexander’s offers deluxe rooms, suites and even a full apartment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alexander`s Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander's Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.