We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yours before you ask” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander's Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Alexander's Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alexander's Guesthouse
1118 Fleming St., Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Cocktail for You!
Ranked #1 of 97 Key West B&B and Inns
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yours before you ask”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Alexander's Guesthouse gave me 2 of the pleasantest days a traveler can have. From the first telephone greeting to the last goodbye, the staff conveyed warmth, friendliness, consideration and service that I've never experienced outside of my family, at least not at an inn. They anticipated needs and interests and went the extra mile in providing things like breakfasts that still make my mouth water, a free and generous poolside happy hour that left me friends with many other visitors, and a knowledge of Key West that pointed me where and when I needed to be to enjoy its ambience, whether lively, scenic or historic. In their delightful, peaceful setting, these people gave me a gem of a stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    685
    42
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
460
62
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My partner and I spent four days at Alexander's and the home, our room was fantastic - nicely decorated, comfortable and the amenities are delicious; I loved the heated in-ground, outdoor pool!
The staff were wonderfully friendly, helpful and provided fantastic service. They helped us plan a romantic dinner cruise, they provided solid suggestions for places to eat and even helped us score a reservation and a discount on wine.

Jeff was truly fantastic and special - thank you for all your help and suggestions.

Great place to stay, we plan on staying there again.
thanks to all the staff and guests for making our vacation special
Mike & Matt

Room Tip: We picked Room 14 - which is a great size and right off of the main floor infront of the pool and ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The apartment has only just been totally refurbished last month and we are one of the first people to stay in it.

Alexanders best room is now even better!

The bed is firmer and better.

The shower is incredible and much more powerful. Bigger, all glass, really nice.

The kitchen looks great.

See my Key West blog with loads of pics and videos of the new, improved apartment. And other tips and lists on visiting Key West. Search google for: Key West Lookout.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We spent an amazing 3 nights at Alexander's. Very friendly staff, excellent breakfast and tasty drinks during happy hour :)
The room was very clean and comfortable. Would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing and welcoming atmosphere among the the more mondane places to stay in Key West.

Thanks to all at Alexander's!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

What a wonderful place to stay at! Great service - thank you Charlie an Jeff for all your help and guidance during our stay. Well decorated contemporary rooms and hotel unlike most which can be a bit 'mumsy' in Key West. Great included breakfast - lots of choices and a very happy Happy Hour. Definitely will go back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanger, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was my second stay at Alexander's and nothing changed! Still the best place to stay in Key West by far! The rooms are excellent and breakfast is excellent, but what makes Alexander's stand out is its staff and what happens when you stay there. First, the staff, starting with Charlie and Laura down the the people that clean your room they become family. But the most valuable thing that happens is that during your stay the entire guesthouse becomes a family! You may visit as a single or even a couple, but you will leave as a family member!
Thank You
Dick Paduchowski

Room Tip: Any room will do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I have stayed at Alexander's 3 times now and can honestly say that the experience keeps getting better. The facilities are always immaculate and the staff is amazing. Anything you can conjure up - a jet ski excursion for 16 people, chartering a sail boat for 22, making dinner reservations for 4, or even setting up a volleyball net over the pool - they do it all and they do it with a smile and very graciously. Happy Hour at the Monkey Bar with Charlie and Amy mixing up the drinks is always a hit. Breakfast is always yummy and the entire staff are always doing whatever they can to make the place and your stay wonderful. I highly recommend this place for gay and lesbian travelers. You will not be disappointed! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Room 10 is very unique. Room 15 is wonderful and sort of removed from the hustle and bustle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Guesthouse

Address: 1118 Fleming St., Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexander’s Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse is proudly gay –owned and operated. Our guests can enjoy complete freedom and a little peace of paradise. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West’s famous Historic District, Complimentary expanded continental breakfast served poolside and complimentary evening cocktails. Two sundecks are also available for sunbathing. Each room is uniquely decorated in a contemporary style, in addition to the basic rooms, Alexander’s offers deluxe rooms, suites and even a full apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alexander's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander`s Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander's Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.