We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unparalleled Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander's Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alexander's Guesthouse to your Saves list
Alexander's Guesthouse
1118 Fleming St., Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Cocktail
Ranked #3 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Unparalleled Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

If you’re used to staying at hotels when you travel, staying at a guesthouse requires a change in mind-set. There may not be a 24-hour front desk, or a valet to bring the car around whenever. But, be prepared to sacrifice the anonymity of a cookie cutter chain for a more intimate, personalized experience. The very best guesthouses deliver a superb experience with top notch service and leave you wondering what you ever saw in a hotel anyway. And Alexander’s Guesthouse is the cream of the crop at delivering a superb experience.

The very visible front desk employees deliver extraordinary personal service. They know your name, what room you’re in and engage with you as you come and go, offering help with any need along the way. They take your pleasure personally and feel it’s their responsibility to ensure you have a good time, with helpful suggestions catered to your travel personality. Maps, tour tickets, bike rentals, dinner reservations, excursions – they do it all. When Agnes heard that the guided cemetery tour wasn’t happening one morning, I had a printed copy of the self-guided tour almost immediately. They are a font of knowledge that you won’t get at a hotel chain. It’s not quite Anna Madrigal, but you will feel like family. Kudos to the employees I interacted with the most: Agnes, Jeff and Charlie.

Guesthouses also have a personality. Alexander’s is one of peace and quiet, inclusiveness and relaxation. Everyone is welcome. Period. And that sort of welcome allows everyone to be themselves, to relax and enjoy their vacation. It’s a job they do well.

The rooms are well decorated and cute, the expanded continental breakfast is delicious with a little individual touch each day and the hospitality is unparalleled.

There’s a reason Alexander’s is rated at the top of the travel listing for Key West. It’s their dedication to providing you the best experience possible.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    44
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
474
70
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tarrytown, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at Alexander's for our wedding week, and couldn't have been happier!! What a BEAUTIFUL B&B. Not only is Alexander's unbelievably clean (and smells like clean laundry 24-7), but the decor is fabulous and the staff is amazing. Everyone is so happy and nice, and they all made our stay so special. We stayed in Room 3...it was inside the main house. The room was SO cute and even though it is considered one of the smaller rooms, it was super cozy and more than enough space for 2 people. We loved the built in closets with shelves so all of our stuff was always put nicely away and the room stayed spotless all week. The pool was warm and we enjoyed night-swimming...The fresh-brewed iced tea that seemed to always be waiting for us on the kitchen counter was delicious. And what could be better than FREE happy hour from 5-6 every day??!! The location was great…we both love to walk so we walked to Duval every day, a few times a day…we felt safe and relaxed…could ask for NOTHING more!!! I would recommend staying here to anyone…we both can NOT wait to get back!!!

Room Tip: Room 3 was cozy, clean and perfect!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Alexander's Guest House is truly and amazing place. We visit several times a year and it feels like another home to us. The entire team there treats you like family. The rooms are beautiful and clean. The guests that stay there are friendly, and respectful. It's the perfect get away.

Room Tip: I prefer the suites, but every room there is beautiful. We've stayed in 5 or 6 different rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My partner and I have been to Key West many times and this is our second stay at AGH. I would highly recommond AGH! The staff truly makes you feel at home and the service can not be beat. I can not say enough good things about AGH. We wanted a sun set cruise for 18 people and they did the rest and when the number increased to 21 they took care of that, the best. HAPPY HOUR! Did I mention Happy Hour! The rooms are very clean, nice decorated, fresh towels and the breakfast is up scale.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Absolutely wonderful place to stay in Key West! From the moment you arrive you are treated like family. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful in finding places to eat and things to do. I enjoyed the company of the other guests at Breakfast and happy hour. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Fantastic stay at Alexander's. The staff is helpful , attentive and very friendly. They create an environment that makes you feel like part of a family with other guest staying at Alexander's. Can't wait to return for another visit. Every thing was first class the food the rooms the pool happy hour and the staff. One of my best vacations.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I was very pleasantly surprised here. The staff went out of their way to help me feel welcomed, find things to do, and even partied out on Duval Street with me one night. The happy hour is fun and free, and you always end up meeting people from all over - couples, singles, gay, straight. The place is clean, kept up well, the rooms are upscale yet the rates here are reasonable. You are right across the street from the Island House resort if you want to partake in more wilder times or have lunch/dinner, but it's always nice to go back to Alexanders where you can truly unwind. Even the continental breakfasts were great. Staying here made this mini vacation for me! You are a 15 minute walk down to tourist trap areas, but it's such a pretty walk down the gorgeous Fleming Street you don't mind it, or you can rent bikes to get around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Guesthouse

Address: 1118 Fleming St., Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexander’s Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse is proudly gay –owned and operated. Our guests can enjoy complete freedom and a little peace of paradise. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West’s famous Historic District, Complimentary expanded continental breakfast served poolside and complimentary evening cocktails. Two sundecks are also available for sunbathing. Each room is uniquely decorated in a contemporary style, in addition to the basic rooms, Alexander’s offers deluxe rooms, suites and even a full apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alexander's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander`s Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander's Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.