We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than ever...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander's Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alexander's Guesthouse
Save
You added Alexander's Guesthouse to your Saves list
1118 Fleming St., Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Better than ever...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We've just returned from our third visit to Alexander's, and it's better than ever. Lots of new pool furnishings give an already lovely compound a fresh look, but the real stars here are the staff of dedicated and friendly folks who make this guesthouse run so smoothly. Their positive attitude makes everyone feel so welcome. We'll be back next year...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    47
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
517
71
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed here on our first visit to Key West, and can't say enough great things about this property and the staff. Everyone was knowledgeable, friendly and accommodating -- it really did feel like a home away from home. The room was clean and had a wonderful shower, everything worked perfectly, the pool was clean and enjoyable, and how could you not LOVE the afternoon open bar (which is small but fits right in with the atmosphere). The property is close to everything, on foot, bike or car. The breakfasts were wonderful and the kitchen felt like home as well. I would go 6 stars if I could! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We'd never been to Key West and we wanted something relaxed and not overly sexual in a gay guesthouse. Mixing men and women usually accomplishes that. The staff were wonderful and the place is beautiful. We got excellent advice from Aimee on snorkeling and drag shows (not at once). There were happy hour and breakfast daily. The guests are mature and friendly, and you can be as invovled as you choose. The room was very comfortable and the neighborhood is quiet. -Bill and Ken.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary Beach Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We have stayed at Alexander's Guesthouse twice now for a week at a time and it feels like home now. The accommodations are lovely with outgoing staff, fantastic happy hours, and courteous housekeepers. They now have bikes on site, great places for sunbathing either poolside or in a secluded area for private tanning!! The breakfast each morning is simple but elegant with plenty of options. We love the location, it is far enough off the main tourist drag of Duval Street but close enough to our favorite restaurants like PePe's, Michael's, and Cafe Sole. We never need any transportation while we are staying here. While we have seen some straight couples staying here, I think it is really caters to gay and lesbians. I have been going to Key West since the 80s and I am happy to have finally found Alexander's! Book early, they are often booked full during peak times.

Room Tip: rooms with private balconies facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We had the pleasure of returning to Alexander's for our second time (3/7-3/15) which was greatly influenced by our first visit last May. Again, the visit was flawless with careful attention by the staff to detail, comfort, serenity and guest satisfaction. The staff is uniquely talented and knowledgeable. While the entire staff deserves accolades, we would like to specifically thank Charlie, Aimee and Agnes for going above and beyond. They truely made our stay exceptional from knowing how we liked our Cuban coffee to our favorite cocktail at happy hour and everything in between. Breakfast is a real treat. There is a great selection of cold and hot cereals, fresh fruit, muffins, yogurt, cofee, tea etc. It is served poolside during a generous time frame 8:30-11:00AM. Coffee, iced tea, juices are available throughout the day. A nice touch especially if you remain poolside or stay in your room. We have had the pleasure of staying in most of the rooms. All the rooms are nicely appointed, clean, comfortable and spacious. Naturally, after a day at the pool, beach or sightseeing, one is ready for happy hour. Alexander's happy hour is from 5-6PM nightly. Happy hour is commanded by either Charlie or Aimee. They dispense generous cocktails, conversation and advice (if desired) on nightlife. Happy hour is a fantastic way to meet fellow guests in a comfortable and relaxing environment. We met such wonderful guests during happy hour some of which we remain close. The guests are varied in terms of age but overwhelmingly friendly and pleasant. It is evident that our second visit greatly influenced our third stay which will be later this year. Do you see why?

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

What an amazing guesthouse! My partner and I stayed for one night and didn't want to leave.

The staff are really lovely - nothing is ever a problem. We were so impressed with our room - we were in Room 9, which was so comfortable with everything you could want. The attention to detail is superb.

The atmosphere of the whole place is relaxed. They have a cocktail happy hour in the evening which is an opportunity to meet everyone. We kept to ourselves, which was perfectly fine - you can be as involved as you want.

Breakfast was lovely and served until late - which is a good job with all the fantastic nightlife Key West has to offer.

We'll be back soon - next time for longer!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

The Alexander Guesthouse is just great.
Starting from the nice room to the beautiful gardens.
The very helpful and friendly staff, here feels the most hospitable.
Not to mention the delicious breakfast and margaritas
during "Happy Hours"
We like to come back.
Gaby & Karin from Hannover Germany

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Guesthouse

Address: 1118 Fleming St., Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexander’s Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse is proudly gay –owned and operated. Our guests can enjoy complete freedom and a little peace of paradise. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West’s famous Historic District, Complimentary expanded continental breakfast served poolside and complimentary evening cocktails. Two sundecks are also available for sunbathing. Each room is uniquely decorated in a contemporary style, in addition to the basic rooms, Alexander’s offers deluxe rooms, suites and even a full apartment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alexander`s Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander's Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.