We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fellow guests, fab staff, genuine Key West stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander's Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alexander's Guesthouse
Save
You added Alexander's Guesthouse to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1118 Fleming St., Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 89 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Great fellow guests, fab staff, genuine Key West stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Excellent again as usual. All the staff here work very hard to ensure everything is great.

This place is truly hotel standard, but friendlier!!

Check out my key west blog about staying in guest houses like this vs hotels: http://keywestlookout.blogspot.com/p/key-west-hotels.html

Our just about vacationing here: http://keywestlookout.blogspot.com/

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiswickTurnhamGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We just returned from Alexanders on the 28th, and we are missing it already! This is my partners and I fifth time staying at Alexanders and from the moment we arrived we felt like we were coming to our second home. Rooms are imaculate as always, pool and hot tub was relaxing and clean. Breakfast was good as well consisting of Bagels, assorted breads, muffins, cereal, fresh fruit, and a delicious breakfast casserole that Charlie made in addition to other items. Happy Hour which starts at 5 was fun and a great way to meet new people that are staying there. This year there were a lot of guests that were there around the same time as last year and it was great to see all of them again. It is so good to be able to come on vacation somewhere and are able to "be yourself" with your boyfriend of 9 years (or girlfriend). Laura, Charlie, Amy, Agnes, and Jeff were all wonderful to be around and nothing was too much to ask from them. We cannot wait to come back again, and make even more memories to keep.
A very nice addition was the movie by the pool on Saturday night; well not really a movie, we actually watched a few episodes of the Golden Girls which was requested by popular demand! It was awesome to watch that under the swaying palms, and stars. There may show something different each time, but was a great addition to this wonderful place.
We are hoping to be able to come back and visit again before next February, but if we cannot make it we will definitely be back in February of 2013!

Room Tip: Room 7 is directly beside the breakfast/pool area. Would not recommend this room if you want a lot o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonnnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We chose Alexander's after hearing from several friends (and having it confirmed by the New York Times) that it was the best guesthouse on the island. Still, we tried to keep our expectations low, simply hoping for a relaxing, quiet place. Those expectations were blown out of the water once we walked up to the front gate. All the buildings on the property are immaculate and impeccably decorated -- and somehow they manage to make the whole place feel incredibly warm and homey at the same time. Without exception, every member of the staff treated us as if we were family from the moment we arrived, and they made our five night stay something we will remember for the rest of our lives. We stayed in Room #2, which was bright, clean, and quiet, with double exposure and lots of light. We will most certainly be back, and we will bring friends! If you're planning a trip to Key West, don't even consider staying anywhere else. -Lee and Theo (New York, NY)

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 in the main house are the quietest, but there isn't a bad room on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

The hotel strengths:
tasteful
quite
welcoming service
pleasent but cold breakfast
much cheaper then Island House
exactly oposite from Island House

Weaknesses:
very slow, no action for a gay resort (sex factor - 0) have to go to Island house for that across the street.
breakfast is cold - no restaurant

Room Tip: In this hotel there is a big differense in room types and cost, cheaper rooms are MUCH smaller and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indep_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed here for the 1st time and will definately return. Alexander's is in a peaceful location but only a 10 minute walk from Duval St. The rooms are set round a private garden & pool area with secluded sun terraces with sunset views over Key West.

We were lucky to be upgraded to room 15 which is very spacious and has a private balcony overlooking the pool area. The bed was very comfortable, with complimentary toiletries in a large bathroom.

The complimentary cocktail hour is a must, you get to meet your fellow guests and share local recomendations for bars & restaurants. Ask Charlie to make you a "rum runner" - very smooth and hits the spot.

There is wifi and a laptop for guests to use as well as lots of books to borrow. Alexanders thoroughly deserves its no 1 listing and I would recommend anyone to stay there.

Thanks again to Jeff, Charlie and the girls for making our stay so much fun. We travelled with friends who stayed across the road (and paid more) who wished they had stayed at Alexander's.

Room Tip: I recommend room 15 where we stayed, otherwise rooms 5 & 6 looked good with private balconies ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJH638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

We stayed at the attic room for $175 per night. Overall room is very good. The ceiling is angled so be careful with your head. Bathroom amenities, shampoo, conditioner, and lotion are from H2O – we like them. One thing that needs improvement is the mattress. It is so hard – cheap motel quality – like sleeping on the sidewalk. You can hook up your laptop with the LCD TV via HDMI input and watch your own in-home movies. One problem – we could not find a table and chair in the room to sit and work with computer.

Breakfast is very good. The food has some varieties such as waffle with strawberries and blueberries on Tuesday, and spinach quiche on Wednesday. Bread, muffins, fruits, and hard boiled eggs are available every day.

Staff are very friendly, especially the girls at the reception, Aimee and Charlie. They give away discount coupons for surrounding businesses. Make sure you ask some!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gaby_pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandersGuesthouse, Manager at Alexander's Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
We are so glad to hear this guest's experience overall was positive. Our highest priority is that each guest have a wonderful, relaxing experience here. We always wish a guest would mention something while they are here, so that we may change something if needed and possible. While we choose only high quality Simmons or Sealy mattresses, some are firmer than others. We did check this room and it seemed to have a firmer mattress and is on a platform which enhanced it's firmness. We brought in a different mattress with a comfy pillowtop and placed them in Rooms 8 and 9, just to ensure comfort, since both rooms have the same type of platform bed. We asked the guests staying in these rooms now and they say they love the bed, saying "It feels like a cloud". We had never had a comment before about these beds, but like to be proactive in case others in the future feel the same. We are always happy to make changes where needed. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Everything we might possibly need was provided for us. Even a lap-top computer in the lounge. Relaxing atmosphere & friendly, helpful staff. Staff made recommendations on dinner & sight-seeing. Staff arranged bike rental, car rental, offered help with air reservations. We were treated royally! Our rooms were tastefully decorated, extremely clean & very quiet. The pool & hot tub area is a tropical oasis. A beautiful property with a convenient location. Thanks Alexander's Staff, you are the greatest!

Room Tip: Great web-site photos of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 47 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,258 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#1 of 47 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#36 of 47 in Key West
4.0 of 5 stars 2,034 reviews
0.7 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 47 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,746 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Guesthouse

Address: 1118 Fleming St., Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander's Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexander’s Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse is proudly gay –owned and operated. Our guests can enjoy complete freedom and a little peace of paradise. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West’s famous Historic District, Complimentary expanded continental breakfast served poolside and complimentary evening cocktails. Two sundecks are also available for sunbathing. Each room is uniquely decorated in a contemporary style, in addition to the basic rooms, Alexander’s offers deluxe rooms, suites and even a full apartment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alexander`s Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing