We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fellow guests, fab staff, genuine Key West stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander's Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alexander's Guesthouse to your Saves list
Alexander's Guesthouse
1118 Fleming St., Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Cocktail
Ranked #3 of 93 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, England
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
“Great fellow guests, fab staff, genuine Key West stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Excellent again as usual. All the staff here work very hard to ensure everything is great.

This place is truly hotel standard, but friendlier!!

Check out my key west blog about staying in guest houses like this vs hotels: http://keywestlookout.blogspot.com/p/key-west-hotels.html

Our just about vacationing here: http://keywestlookout.blogspot.com/

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    45
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
494
70
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We just returned from Alexanders on the 28th, and we are missing it already! This is my partners and I fifth time staying at Alexanders and from the moment we arrived we felt like we were coming to our second home. Rooms are imaculate as always, pool and hot tub was relaxing and clean. Breakfast was good as well consisting of Bagels, assorted breads, muffins, cereal, fresh fruit, and a delicious breakfast casserole that Charlie made in addition to other items. Happy Hour which starts at 5 was fun and a great way to meet new people that are staying there. This year there were a lot of guests that were there around the same time as last year and it was great to see all of them again. It is so good to be able to come on vacation somewhere and are able to "be yourself" with your boyfriend of 9 years (or girlfriend). Laura, Charlie, Amy, Agnes, and Jeff were all wonderful to be around and nothing was too much to ask from them. We cannot wait to come back again, and make even more memories to keep.
A very nice addition was the movie by the pool on Saturday night; well not really a movie, we actually watched a few episodes of the Golden Girls which was requested by popular demand! It was awesome to watch that under the swaying palms, and stars. There may show something different each time, but was a great addition to this wonderful place.
We are hoping to be able to come back and visit again before next February, but if we cannot make it we will definitely be back in February of 2013!

Room Tip: Room 7 is directly beside the breakfast/pool area. Would not recommend this room if you want a lot o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We chose Alexander's after hearing from several friends (and having it confirmed by the New York Times) that it was the best guesthouse on the island. Still, we tried to keep our expectations low, simply hoping for a relaxing, quiet place. Those expectations were blown out of the water once we walked up to the front gate. All the buildings on the property are immaculate and impeccably decorated -- and somehow they manage to make the whole place feel incredibly warm and homey at the same time. Without exception, every member of the staff treated us as if we were family from the moment we arrived, and they made our five night stay something we will remember for the rest of our lives. We stayed in Room #2, which was bright, clean, and quiet, with double exposure and lots of light. We will most certainly be back, and we will bring friends! If you're planning a trip to Key West, don't even consider staying anywhere else. -Lee and Theo (New York, NY)

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 in the main house are the quietest, but there isn't a bad room on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

The hotel strengths:
tasteful
quite
welcoming service
pleasent but cold breakfast
much cheaper then Island House
exactly oposite from Island House

Weaknesses:
very slow, no action for a gay resort (sex factor - 0) have to go to Island house for that across the street.
breakfast is cold - no restaurant

Room Tip: In this hotel there is a big differense in room types and cost, cheaper rooms are MUCH smaller and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed here for the 1st time and will definately return. Alexander's is in a peaceful location but only a 10 minute walk from Duval St. The rooms are set round a private garden & pool area with secluded sun terraces with sunset views over Key West.

We were lucky to be upgraded to room 15 which is very spacious and has a private balcony overlooking the pool area. The bed was very comfortable, with complimentary toiletries in a large bathroom.

The complimentary cocktail hour is a must, you get to meet your fellow guests and share local recomendations for bars & restaurants. Ask Charlie to make you a "rum runner" - very smooth and hits the spot.

There is wifi and a laptop for guests to use as well as lots of books to borrow. Alexanders thoroughly deserves its no 1 listing and I would recommend anyone to stay there.

Thanks again to Jeff, Charlie and the girls for making our stay so much fun. We travelled with friends who stayed across the road (and paid more) who wished they had stayed at Alexander's.

Room Tip: I recommend room 15 where we stayed, otherwise rooms 5 & 6 looked good with private balconies ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed at the attic room for $175 per night. Overall room is very good. The ceiling is angled so be careful with your head. Bathroom amenities, shampoo, conditioner, and lotion are from H2O – we like them. One thing that needs improvement is the mattress. It is so hard – cheap motel quality – like sleeping on the sidewalk. You can hook up your laptop with the LCD TV via HDMI input and watch your own in-home movies. One problem – we could not find a table and chair in the room to sit and work with computer.

Breakfast is very good. The food has some varieties such as waffle with strawberries and blueberries on Tuesday, and spinach quiche on Wednesday. Bread, muffins, fruits, and hard boiled eggs are available every day.

Staff are very friendly, especially the girls at the reception, Aimee and Charlie. They give away discount coupons for surrounding businesses. Make sure you ask some!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandersGuesthouse, Manager at Alexander's Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
We are so glad to hear this guest's experience overall was positive. Our highest priority is that each guest have a wonderful, relaxing experience here. We always wish a guest would mention something while they are here, so that we may change something if needed and possible. While we choose only high quality Simmons or Sealy mattresses, some are firmer than others. We did check this room and it seemed to have a firmer mattress and is on a platform which enhanced it's firmness. We brought in a different mattress with a comfy pillowtop and placed them in Rooms 8 and 9, just to ensure comfort, since both rooms have the same type of platform bed. We asked the guests staying in these rooms now and they say they love the bed, saying "It feels like a cloud". We had never had a comment before about these beds, but like to be proactive in case others in the future feel the same. We are always happy to make changes where needed. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Everything we might possibly need was provided for us. Even a lap-top computer in the lounge. Relaxing atmosphere & friendly, helpful staff. Staff made recommendations on dinner & sight-seeing. Staff arranged bike rental, car rental, offered help with air reservations. We were treated royally! Our rooms were tastefully decorated, extremely clean & very quiet. The pool & hot tub area is a tropical oasis. A beautiful property with a convenient location. Thanks Alexander's Staff, you are the greatest!

Room Tip: Great web-site photos of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Guesthouse

Address: 1118 Fleming St., Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexander’s Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse is proudly gay –owned and operated. Our guests can enjoy complete freedom and a little peace of paradise. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West’s famous Historic District, Complimentary expanded continental breakfast served poolside and complimentary evening cocktails. Two sundecks are also available for sunbathing. Each room is uniquely decorated in a contemporary style, in addition to the basic rooms, Alexander’s offers deluxe rooms, suites and even a full apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Alexander's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander`s Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander's Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.