We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightfully charming hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Te Da Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Te Da Hotel
Save
You added La Te Da Hotel to your Saves list
1125 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 45 Hotels in Key West
A TripAdvisor Member
“Delightfully charming hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This little gem is a must-stay for anyone who appreciates old world charm. It's casual, breezy character provides the backdrop for relaxation, but Dave Bootle at the piano bar and the Tea Dance offered some great entertainment. My accommodations in room #32 were spacious, clean, and comfortable. The hotel is in need of some TLC, but I loved it's charm. Thank you LJ (general mgr), Eric, Chris and Daniel (concierge) for your hospitality and generosity during my visit. It was my pleasure to meet you all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    132
    28
    21
    14
See reviews for
16
245
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The hotel itself is average at best, nothing really to rave about. It is located on the quiet end of Duval street about 2 blocks away from the ocean and a small beach. The pool is really unusable, they should just get rid of it and use it for more restaurant seating. The employees, the bar and the food make up for the lackluster hotel. Free breakfast was really good. You only have a choice of four items listed on a card they give you. The bar is a great place to just chill out and people watch. Jason the bartender is a true professional. Look for him in the evening time. Dinner was really good also, check out the daily specials. Overall it was a nice stay, my only recommendation is that they do some remodeling to spruce up the place a bit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

B&B my @$$. More like a motel. No one helped with our luggage. We had to drag it up stairs that were slanted and uneven. AC unit was to small and the room was hot all the time. The large french doors do not have a good cover and forget trying to sleep with it is light out. 12.5% tax on the room. No show, just some guy on a piano. Only three choices for breakfast, same three everyday. Drinks were over priced and not very good, unless you prefer to drink out of the bottle. Very very strong. My wife cut her foot on the broken concrete in the pool. I was expecting a lot more at least in the service. Our room never got cleaned. We had to ask for more linens, just to have clean ones. The layout was nice and could have been a great place if it had been kept up and the service cared. Our little Inn we stayed at on the way home was great compaired to this.

Room Tip: Stay at the Hilton on the end of the street. They care about how your stay is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

quieter end of duval st, walking distance to everything tho! blocks to beach and quick walk to bars/restaurants. cute lil place, staff very nice. awesome included breakfast daily. only minor complaint would b the pool that needs severe updating.. but the beach is do close no need for pool. overall great place for the price! would def return :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This Hotel is Old Style Florida. It is beautiful with a pool in the middle and rooms situated near the pool or upstairs. You can walk up to one of two decks and look out over the neighborhood. The hotel is near the Altantic Ocean end of Duval which is so fabulous and much quieter than the other end of Duval It is easy to get around, walk or take a cab they are everywhere and reasonable.. The Staff is the absolute Best! From the housekeepers, Groundskeeper, waiters, bartenders, cooks, front desk staff - you feel welcome and experience fantastic service. I would love to say a special thanks to the guys at the Front Desk for being so kind and helpful. And a very special thanks to Tonto for saving Marilyn for me.
When we come back - we will definitely stay at the La Te Da. and I want to say that they have a great Cabaret too but we missed it this time. So we will plan a trip for cooler weather and make sure we catch a show.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a great location in Duval Street with great accommodations. The free breakfast was excellent, I was not expecting such delicious selection. The room was your average hotel room, could use a few updates(pool view), but the bed was comfortable so we were fine. Just one dislike, the pool was small. During our stay the hotel had nightly entertainment, karaoke, piano. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Would recommend and will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
267 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Spent 4 nights at this hotel in Key West. We had room overlooking the swimming pool with a small landscaped garden area. It was a quaint, small room with the basics for comfort. However the phone never worked, minor point since we have cell phones anyway. They have a dining are outside cover and protected overlying pool and street which was nice and open. Also, a bar area outside overlooking the street. Good for people watching. Also, an inside bar with piano and singing entertainment in the evenings. Very contemporary design and surrounding. Rooms upstairs and down all over this cover mansion/home of a former cigar manufacturer. One feature we thought was very nice was your choice of a free full breakfast every morning. Evening entertainment available on site. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. Conveniently located on Duval Street with walking distance to restaurants and attractions. I would recommend this place for a long weekend stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms are located near service areas. I suggest you ask not to be placed there. Other than th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Southernmost on the Beach
0.1 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 45 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#1 of 45 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.7 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#5 of 45 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,322 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#34 of 45 in Key West
4.0 of 5 stars 1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Te Da Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Te Da Hotel

Address: 1125 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
La Te Da Key West
Hotel La Te Da

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Te Da Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.