We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our Stay at the La Te Da!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Te Da Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Te Da Hotel
Save
You added La Te Da Hotel to your Saves list
1125 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Key West
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our Stay at the La Te Da!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Wonderful staff, great service, lovely table settings, terrific entertainment in the bar area and...(although we did not see it) a show to boot! Every morning you get to choose from three offerings for breakfast -- including unlimited coffee and a nice glass of your favorite juice.

I have read a few of the other reviews; and I would call the rooms "Key West Quaint". Our air conditioner worked well when we needed it. There were two fans running; and you could turn them off it need be.

The only thing I would recommend is the cleaning staff needs to do a little more due diligence on some of the trim and woodwork. At one point, I bent down to an outlet near the floor to plug in my I-phone, and I saw many dust bunnies on the trim next to the floor......also in the bathroom. It didn't really bother us much since we've seen worse in much higher priced places.

I would highly recommend the La Te Da. Even though you are situated on Duval, you get a nice quiet setting with a pool and lush Key West palms and vines. They really know how to treat their guests! If you want to get caught up in the loud, Spring Break kind of atmosphere, you can work off your breakfast by walking down Duval and people-watch for a couple of hours. It was always nice to home back "home" to the La Te Da!

Stay there............and enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    123
    26
    20
    13
See reviews for
13
217
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Perry, Ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was our first trip to Key West and had no idea of the location. Did we luck out! This is a perfect spot to stay, it is on a quieter area of Duval street yet close enough to walk to any of the sites of interest and entertainment. We booked later than we should have so we did not have any leeway in our choice of rooms. The room we got is getting a little tired and could use some TLC. It also opened out to the dining area and was located next to the pantry. Room 19. That being said I would recommend booking well in advance and getting a room upstairs or down in the pool area. The staff are excellent and very friendly and willing to help with anything you ask for and always with a smile. The breakfast that is offered with your stay was far better than you get at most hotels. We had dinner at the hotel twice and both meals were delicious. Hats off to the chef and the wait staff. We also enjoyed the outdoor bar, a great place to socialize with some very interesting people. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Book well in advance of your visit and request an upstairs or pool area room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I love this place! We'ved stayed at Douglas House and Duvall House and La Te Da will be the only place I stay at in the future. Service A+, friendly attitude, happy to help with smiles, every staff member (front desk, waiters, bartenders).

The price is more then fair. We spent more in 2 nights at Duvall House then we did in 2 nights at La Te Da.

Beautiful atmosphere. Plants, soft lighting. Amazing free breakfast in the morning. Sit at a table with a waiter, 5 options on the breakfast menu, all full meals made for you. Suggested tip $3 per person, I left $10.

Only complaint, one night we were right upstairs above the bar outside talking to our neighbor and we could hear some definite arguing going on downstairs. I thought it was out of place and surprising, but whatever. The other 2 people I was with barely mentioned it and I was right by the edge right above the bar. But they were yelling.

The room was big, modern, clean. King size bed. Awesome "couples" shower ;)

Shout out to Tonto, the coolest nicest bartender ever! She makes everyone feel at home.

Bottom line: Top 3 favorite hotel combining service, atmosphere and value.

Room Tip: We had a room right above the bar and it was awesome! Loved being on the 2nd floor, you can see peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

SUMMARY
You need to stay here. Like, you need to. You will not regret it and afterwords you will likely message me to thank me for sending you here. Location, service, food, entertainment, this place knows how to rock out everything you're looking for. We've stayed at Southernmost, Duval House, and Douglas House and this place blows all of them out of the water; even Southernmost, which even at 350+ dollars a night can't match the service and whimsy of La Te Da. The difference is that this place is memorable, charming, and you're guaranteed to meet wonderful people here.

ROOMS
The rooms are fabulous. Many of the rooms have a patio or porch with chairs and a table, the bed is really comfortable, and you get an awesome, oversized stone shower (complete with bench). No TV, but who watches TV in Key West? All you need is a shower, bed, and place to chill while you're waiting for your significant other to finish getting ready. :)

SERVICE
If you are a service person like me, you will LOVE La Te Da. From the front desk to the wait staff to the bartender, you will love everyone. Say "Hi" to Tonto at the bar for me. Love her. Fabulous service is a big part of what sets this place apart from everywhere else. It sucks when you're having a great time and then a grumpy Gus comes along to ruin the moment. Not so at La Te Da, where the people love their jobs and treat you like a local. 

DINING
You know when you're staying at a Hyatt and you get a continental breakfast for free the next morning? Yeah, well keep your banana and cereal, Hyatt, because La Te Da is in the house and stealing your thunder. Welcome to La Te Da, land of the most awesome free breakfast you will ever get as part of your hotel package. I'm not aware of any other place that offers complimentary breakfast to guests in Key West, let alone food of this caliber. Choose between an All American breakfast (yummy toast/bagel type thing with eggs how you like 'em and crispy bacon), fruit and yogurt parfait, or French toast. You also get coffee, water, and your choice of a juice. Your hangover will thank you for staying here.

They also serve lunch and dinner here, and many locals come by for drinks and food. While we didn't end up eating there for any meal besides breakfast (huge regret), we did try some pate a local offered us and it was A-MA-ZING. Plus, if the locals are going there you know it's good. 

ENTERTAINMENT
If the almost-always packed bar isn't entertainment enough, there's a piano bar (Elton John and Billy Joel covers, anyone?) and nighttime cabaret show that is supposed to be very good. There aren't a lot of hotels or bed and breakfasts that offer the type of entertainment La Te Da does, so it's cool when you can walk downstairs and step into fun.

LOCATION
You're in a great location. You're on Duval, just a few blocks north of Southernmost Beach (in my opinion the best beach on the island) and on the "better" side of Duval. What do I mean by that? I mean that most locals won't go past 500 block because it's too touristy (think Sloppy Joe's, Irish Kevin's, Hog's Breath). So it's kinda cool you're on a more "authentic" part of Duval. Don't get me wrong, I'm stopping in for a drink or ten at Smallest Bar (my smallest favorite on the island), and you're totally within walking distance of those too, but it's cool being close to gems like Pearl's Patio and the Jazz Room. 

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were in Key west this past week and we happened to stumble on this hidden jewel. We didnt stay at the hotel but enjoyed the outside bar with doug the bartender along with purchasing tickets to the female impressionist show. I have to say the atmosphere in and around this complex is so relaxing and it has an air of exhuberance. After hanging out with doug who made amazing bloody marys and his own orange rum punch we left there in Key west style. The show was also amazing too. If you visit key west you should definately stop there, you wont regret it. Amazingly, the night life in the upstairs bar was also fun. The piano entertainer was amazing. Kept you on the dance floor all night. Great Place..I want to stay at the hotel on my next visit..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel this past weekend. The service from check in to check out was so amazing. I love key west and this hotel is perfect. Its on the quiet end of duval. So, it's not so loud, as other hotels. I plan on coming back to key west in april and plan on staying here again. That's how good this hotel is. Only down side is parking but who cares it's key west and once you park the car you're done.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed at the La Te Da from 1/24 to 1/29. What an excellent property. I met Michael at the bar shortly after arriving, he called me by name every time he saw me. All the staff was so personable without being stuffy. The included breakfast--WONDERFUL. Linen tablecloths, napkins and roses on the table, very classy. Nice pool and surrounding greenery, as a "northerner", that was most appreciated. My room was one of the best I've had through the years (Rm 22). Roomy, king-size bed, nice step in shower, and plenty of towels. I went up on the sun deck each day (had to look like I had been to Key West!). It is ideally located south of the hubbub of the other end of Duval Street, but those are within easy walking distance. All round great place. I'll be back most definitely! Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Te Da Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Te Da Hotel

Address: 1125 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
La Te Da Key West
Hotel La Te Da

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Te Da Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.