We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, close to everything at a excellent price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pegasus International Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pegasus International Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pegasus International Hotel
501 Southard Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Key West
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent location, close to everything at a excellent price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I stumbled upon this hotel on a website and booked based off price and was weary at first after seeing pictures and videos on YouTube. After my stay, I highly recommend. Hotel is in excellent location where you can walk to everything and sits right on Duvall. The pool and patio deck were remodeled and very contemporary and cute. The rooms were ok and beds weren't anything great, however, the bathrooms were remodeled and nice but small. I don't book rooms based off comfort and size, I'm on vacation and I don't spend much time in the room anyways, however I've stayed in a hotels from the Ritz Carlton to 19$ motels in Orlando Fl. So with that being said I know quality and decent hotels when I see one. This hotel is great for the price you pay. You can walk from one end of the island to the other with no issues. Good for families, couples, and friends. I highly recommend and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you so much for the recommendation! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We're looking forward to your next visit. Our pool and patio are calling your name!

Cheers,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    122
    61
    22
    26
See reviews for
49
193
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Largo, FL
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Hotel was good location with entrance just off Duval on Southard. No lobby to speak of. Room was nice w/small fridge and microwave. I was in a room with 2 double beds which were low to the ground as was the dresser. The very small bathroom had a large pedestal sink but no room for toiletries but it served its purpose. Easy access to rooftop pool Very glad pool was unheated since it was so hot outside. The complimentary continental breakfast was minimal: coffee, tea, juices, cereal and some breads. No fruit or yogurt. But then again, I wasn't there to eat breakfast. Staff held our luggage until it was time to leave. Complimentary shuttle to ferry.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thanks for making us a part of your trip! It was a pleasure to make you feel welcome, and to read your kind words. We'll certainly keep your suggestions in mind for the future, but until then, thanks for taking the time to leave them!

Cheers,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This a middle of the road hotel. Nothing spectacular, but nothing horrible. The location is its selling point. We could look down on Duval Street from our window, even though the entry is not on Duval. The outdoor pool was okay. I did scare one of the other guests when I was sitting at the pool. Their bathroom window was right there....... If you don't want your door opening up to poolside, or have any other hangups as far as room location, ASK when booking. Our room worked out perfect. But they do have an odd setup.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Yes, location is definitely key! We understand why some of our guests would be confused by our set up, but we've always found that it was a part of our charm. Still, we're glad you were happy with your room and our location on Duval, and we'd love to welcome you back again. Until then, thanks for your feedback!

Regards,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newburgh, ny
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I just got back from my August 2013 trip to the Keys. This is my second time staying at the Pegasus. This year I stayed for three nights & like last year, I was not disappointed!! This isn't the Plaza Hotel by any means, but it's a clean place to stay in the absolute PERFECT location!!! The Pegasus is on Duval right next to the Walgreens, which is perfect because you're right on the main drag, but far enough from the bars that you don't hear the noise from your room. Just like last year, we drove down to Key West in a rental car & opted to pay the $10 a day to park the car in Pegasus's lot. This hotel is in such a great location that you won't need your car until its time to leave. Literally everything is within walking distance- Mallory Square, Southern most point, all bars & restaurants, the bight, fort Zachary Taylor state park, souvenir shops, etc!!! The location alone is the reason you shouldn't hesitate to book this hotel!!! There is a rooftop pool that stays open til 10pm, a rooftop bar, & a nice rooftop patio with lots of seating! The Pegasus also has daily complimentary coffee & breakfast in the morning- nothing fancy though, which is fine because while in Key West, you should really check out Blue Heaven for breakfast!!! As I said before, this hotel is definitely worth staying in based on its location alone!! I will be back to visit Key West in the spring of 2014 & will be booking a room at the Pegasus for my time in Key West!!!

I just wish the Pegasus offered some sort of discount for repeat customers...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
You're right—this location is pretty hard to beat! It sounds like you had a fabulous stay, and we were thrilled to be a part of your vacation. Thank you, and we'll see you again next year! :)

Warm regards,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Not only do they give u parking at a tiny fee ur entire stay but the rooms are great, theres a bar by the pool and ur in the middle of Duval street so u can party up in walking distance. The staff is super friendly and they sell beer at the hotel desk. They are all ready and eager to help you find the activities you desire and even give you coupons for certain attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Great tip, Miche'le—we do have beer for sale at the front desk! It sounds like you had a fabulous time in Key West, and it was lovely to be a part of it. Thanks, and come back and see us next time you need a little sunshine!

Cheers,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I read alot of reviews and finally settled on the hotel with reservations about the trip. When I made the reservation and when we arrived the front desk person Karina (spelling) was fantastic! accomodating and nice.
The room was overlooking Duval and the street was quiet(er) as it was not Spring Break. The hotel also has a balcony overlooking Duval where we sat one evening and people watched.
The parking lot is secure and has plenty of space, it is about 1 block away.
OK the rooms and the hotel are old but they are clean and our room was maintained. The bed does leave something to be desired as it was a little lumpy but overall I didn't feel that would stop me in the future from reserving again. We did not get up in time to visit the continental breakfast that many reviews slammed but there is a great coffee shop next door. the AC worked fine and that was important as we visited in August and it was extemely hot outside.
The pool is cute and has alot of deck seating for sunbathing or just sitting and reading. the deck was immaculate and welcoming.
Overall I would recommed this hotel for location and parking.

Room Tip: The end rooms overlooking Duval have extra windows for views but you may get street noise, But that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Yes, it's pretty hot out there! We're delighted that you felt comfortable in your room, and that you loved our location, too. Thanks, Debbie! We'd love to welcome you back next time you need a little sunshine!

Cheers,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The front desk person was not friendly and her attitude set the tone for our stay.

The pool was okay because it was empty. It was smaller than most backyard pools so it would've been awkward with more than two people. And the rooftop is pretty junky in general.

We picked this place because we wanted to be in the middle of everything, I didn't want to stay at a chain hotel, and all of the B&Bs we liked were booked. The location was very convenient and the rooms were fine, but I wouldn't call it nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We wish that we had been able to show you the five star experience you deserved. It's really disappointing that our clerk's tone made you feel uncomfortable, but rest assured that we will certainly discuss this with the whole team later, as well as your additional comments. Thank you, and we hope you'll give us another chance to wow you next time you're in Key West.

Regards,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pegasus International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pegasus International Hotel

Address: 501 Southard Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Key West
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pegasus International Hotel is a charming Art Deco hotel located in the heart of Key West. Many activities, popular sites, restaurants, shopping, bars and clubs are within a short walking distance. Thirty newly renovated rooms offer modern comfort such as cable TV, phone with data port, free wireless internet, air conditioning, refrigerators, microwaves, and irons with ironing boards. Also, our rooftop sundeck with a heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi offers views of the bustling Southard and Duval Streets. Spice Lounge is the hotel’s onsite, poolside tapas bar featuring a unique Indian Tapas menu and excellent drink selection. Parking is available for all guests at a flat rate. Shuttles from the airport and ferry are also available upon request. Limited room service is also available from various local restaurants.Activities nearby include diving, snorkeling, fishing, city tours, golf, pirate tours and pub crawls, Dry Tortugas National Park, Fort Jefferson Ferry, The Key West Butterfly & Nature Conservatory, Key West Seaplane Adventures,Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, Sloppy Joe’s Bar, Mallory Square, Fort Zachary Taylor Beach, The Hemingway House, bars, nightlife, clubs, shopping, restaurants and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Pegasus International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pegasus International Key West
Hotel Pegasus International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pegasus International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.