We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pegasus International Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pegasus International Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pegasus International Hotel
501 Southard Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 41 hotels in Key West
wooster ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

It wasn't sure what to expect when I booked this hotel. We were pleasantly surprised. Great location and very friendly staff. The breakfast was average but good. Our room was comforable and clean. I think it was worth what we paid. The elevator is kind of slow and I wouldn't recommend the steps, they were too steep/narrow. You do have to park down the street, but you can unload luggage at the front door.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Glad we exceeded your expectations! It was our pleasure to welcome you to Key West, Crystal. Thanks for taking the time to sing our praises!

Cheers,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    236
    118
    60
    22
    26
See reviews for
47
190
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Great location, comfortable bed, nice pool but not a lot else going for this place. For the money I was expecting something great, however it all looks a little tired and dirty, starting with the cracked tiles as we entered the room. The room was superficially clean but not what you'd expect from any hotel. And the alleyway outside leading to our room was filthy. The bathroom door was difficult to close with the handle hanging half off, and getting cases from reception to room was difficult in spite of the lift. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Our housekeeping staff works hard to provide a welcoming environment for our guests, but it appears that we have fallen short. We know that we are better than this, and we will discuss your comments with our team to keep instances like this to a minimum. Thank you for letting us know about this. We hope to have another opportunity to wow you during your next trip to Key West.

Best,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is a great place to stay at, very clean, the staff was very helpful, I was her for three days and it made worthwhile after getting home from an awesome time at the beach. I would recommend this hotel for everyone that decides to take a trip out here to Key West.

Room Tip: Get the suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks for the high recommendations, Nardo! It's so great to hear that you felt welcome and comfortable after a few long, relaxing days at the beach. Come back and see us next time you're looking to get away!

Regards,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel. Definitely would recommend to my family and friends.the room we stayed in was very nice and clean. The location was great, close to many restaurants attractions and beaches. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We were happy to have you! Thank you for singing our praises. Come back and see us next time you're looking to get away!

Regards,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Great place to stay! The hotel is in the middle of where you want to be in Key West! Everything is within walking distance. The hotel is clean and neat and the staff is friendly. We didn't spend too much time in the room. We were out exploring, but we slept well on comfortable beds. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
It was our pleasure to offer you a restful night after a long day of exploring! Thank you for staying with us, Anamaria. Come back and see us again next year—as you've seen, Key West is the ultimate place to get away!

Regards,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We spent only one night in Key West, and didn't spend much time in our hotel room, so I'm not feeling ripped off or anything. However, the only thing the Pegasus has going for it is its location. It's right in the middle of the main drag in the old town. Everything we did was within an easy walk. The room was not up to our standards. There was absolutely nothing about the bedroom or bathroom showing any attention to detail. Breakfast was almost non-existent. I got a cup of coffee and that was all I found to my liking. They charged 50-cents per page to print my boarding pass. When I return to Key West, and I will - soon I hope, I will find someplace else to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Sorry your stay with us was disappointing. We hope guests will enjoy not only our location, but also our accommodations, and it's clear we fell short. Please don't hesitate to get in touch with us if you'd like to discuss your visit further.

Sincerely,

Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there in Marchapter. The hotel was so clean the staff really polite! I guess the reviews were correct I can't Wait to come back with this beautiful Nurse one day. This is by far the best hotel I ever been in key west! No regrets!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thanks so much for the glowing review. It's wonderful to hear you had such a pleasant stay back in March. "This is by far the best hotel I ever been in Key West"—that really says it all. We appreciate your spreading the word about us and look forward to welcoming you back next time.

All the best,

Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pegasus International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pegasus International Hotel

Address: 501 Southard Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Key West
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pegasus International Hotel is a charming Art Deco hotel located in the heart of Key West. Many activities, popular sites, restaurants, shopping, bars and clubs are within a short walking distance. Thirty newly renovated rooms offer modern comfort such as cable TV, phone with data port, free wireless internet, air conditioning, refrigerators, microwaves, and irons with ironing boards. Also, our rooftop sundeck with a heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi offers views of the bustling Southard and Duval Streets. Spice Lounge is the hotel’s onsite, poolside tapas bar featuring a unique Indian Tapas menu and excellent drink selection. Parking is available for all guests at a flat rate. Shuttles from the airport and ferry are also available upon request. Limited room service is also available from various local restaurants.Activities nearby include diving, snorkeling, fishing, city tours, golf, pirate tours and pub crawls, Dry Tortugas National Park, Fort Jefferson Ferry, The Key West Butterfly & Nature Conservatory, Key West Seaplane Adventures,Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, Sloppy Joe’s Bar, Mallory Square, Fort Zachary Taylor Beach, The Hemingway House, bars, nightlife, clubs, shopping, restaurants and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Pegasus International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pegasus International Key West
Hotel Pegasus International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pegasus International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.