We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is Amazing but the Rooms......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pegasus International Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pegasus International Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pegasus International Hotel
501 Southard Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 41 hotels in Key West
Bliss,NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Location is Amazing but the Rooms......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The location is excellent for Duval Street, but the room itself was something else. I read the other reviews and decided to give it a chance. The bathroom is small but you can get passed that. The biggest problem I experienced was a dirty room.. The rugs were barely vacuumed. When checking under the bed to make sure I didn't leave anything I was taken back when I saw garbage and dirt under it. The breakfast is simple but met my needs. I do not eat alot for breakfast. The deck pool area is very nice. I spent some time on it and it was very relaxing. The bar wasn't open when I was there and I am not sure why. Would I stay there again? I probably would but I would definitely check out my room more closely and if I wasn't pleased I would ask for another room or for housekeeping to touch it up.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We appreciate you choosing us for your stay, and it's great to hear that you'd return. Please accept our apologies if the room wasn't quite up to standard, though. We pride ourselves on a clean and comfortable environment for our guests, and this certainly doesn't sound like our standards. When you return, please don't hesitate to let us know if anything isn't on par with your expectations, though we don't expect this will be repeated. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we do hope to hear from you again.

Best regards,

Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    236
    116
    60
    22
    26
See reviews for
47
189
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Gardens, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was everything i expected and more everyone was great, the rooms very clean and homey, and its location even better. Some might find the price kinda high, but you do get what you pay for, and its totally worth it so overall its fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We couldn't be happier to hear that we exceeded your expectations on your recent stay, Nelson! Providing the comfort of home while you're away in Key West is exactly what we aim to do, so thank you for sharing this. We can't wait until the next time you make it back our way. Thanks for the excellent review.

Take care,

Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

this is an excelent hotel, great location, very close to many stores, and bars. very good customer service , price is very reasonal for the location. its a plus that breakfast is included and pool was great, in general great hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
An unbeatable location, great breakfast and plenty of space to soak up the sunshine—sounds like the ultimate vacation! Thanks for letting us be a part of it!

All the best,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doetinchem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are a bit small. Bed was hard, sshower was updated. Parking costs $10. Nice pool deck and location is on the place were it all happens! Hotel is expensive ($190 for 1 night) but everything is on Key West.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Yes, we certainly are right in the middle of all the action! It sounds like you had a fabulous time here in Key West, but we wish that we had been able to offer you a more comfortable bed. Let us know next time and we'll move you to another room. Until then, thanks for your kind words. We'd love to welcome you back next time you're looking to get away!

All the best,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This art deco hotel is a gem. It is on Duval, where you want to be in Key West.You don't need a car, as you can walk everywhere.We only needed a rental car for 1 day, to tour the Keys.They have 10 dollar parking half a block down, super convenient.
Where to start...the customer service of this hotel is the best we have encountered, and we travel a lot.From mgmt. to housekeeping and everyone between, they were so wonderful and accomodating, no request they wouldn't help with.One special star was Svetlana, who worked the front desk.She is amazing.She knew where everything was in Key West, all the great restaurants, and helped us with every question and request. I hope mgmt. Knows how wonderful she is with all the guests!
We had the executive poolside room on the second floor, which was perfect.Bed super comfortable and great pillows.Huge shower with lots of hot water.Has a small fridge and microwave.No complaints with the room.We did not find it noisy at all, slept great.
The pool is warm and wonderful, jacuzzi soothing.
It was nice to end each night by chilling on the roof top, looking down at all the tourists on Duval. Awesome!
We used the Tiki bar and I don't understand how some reviews complainedt that it was never open. The hours are posted, folks...just read the sign. Bartender was a great host.
The shuttle was a deal at ten dollars, driver fantastic..always prompt and polite.
Continental breakfast is just that, continental.It was good, fresh and started our day off great.
This place is perfect and we loved it. Thank you to all the wonderful staff!

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre and spa. Sorry, laptop could not make the change. Executive poolside room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Wow! We strive to offer our guests an unparalleled level of service, so it is incredibly rewarding to learn of the wonderful time you've had with us. On behalf of our entire staff, thank you very much for taking the time to share your kind words. We'd love to have you back again whenever you're looking to get away!

Cheers,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We decided to go to Key West and had a lot of trouble finding a room at one of our usual places so decided to give the Pegasus a try...so glad we did! It was a delightful stay...the rooftop pool was great! Very nice rooms and having parking available for $10 was a bargain. Now for the noise...some people have given this hotel poor marks due to the bar noise. 1st of all, you are in Key West so expect wild and crazy! I must say, our air conditioner provided all the "white" noise we needed to get a great night's sleep!

Room Tip: We asked for a quite room when we booked this property and ended up in the main building overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We're so glad that you gave us a try, too! It sounds like you had a fabulous time here in Key West, and we couldn't be happier to hear it. We hope to have you back again soon—that rooftop pool is just the thing for anyone looking to unwind!

Cheers,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

this older hotel, recently renovated was a pleasant suprise in the heart of key west. this hotel was right in the middle of shopping on duval st. the parking was only a short distance away and was only $10 per night for in and out. the rooms were very clean and recently updated. the help was freindly and helpful. there is even a swimming pool and sunporch right above duval st.

Room Tip: ask for a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
It's always fun to be right in the middle of the action! It sounds like you had a wonderful time relaxing with us and soaking up the sun, and we couldn't be happier to hear it. We hope to have you back next time you're looking to get away, Douglas!

Cheers,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pegasus International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pegasus International Hotel

Address: 501 Southard Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Key West
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pegasus International Hotel is a charming Art Deco hotel located in the heart of Key West. Many activities, popular sites, restaurants, shopping, bars and clubs are within a short walking distance. Thirty newly renovated rooms offer modern comfort such as cable TV, phone with data port, free wireless internet, air conditioning, refrigerators, microwaves, and irons with ironing boards. Also, our rooftop sundeck with a heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi offers views of the bustling Southard and Duval Streets. Spice Lounge is the hotel’s onsite, poolside tapas bar featuring a unique Indian Tapas menu and excellent drink selection. Parking is available for all guests at a flat rate. Shuttles from the airport and ferry are also available upon request. Limited room service is also available from various local restaurants.Activities nearby include diving, snorkeling, fishing, city tours, golf, pirate tours and pub crawls, Dry Tortugas National Park, Fort Jefferson Ferry, The Key West Butterfly & Nature Conservatory, Key West Seaplane Adventures,Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, Sloppy Joe’s Bar, Mallory Square, Fort Zachary Taylor Beach, The Hemingway House, bars, nightlife, clubs, shopping, restaurants and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Pegasus International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pegasus International Key West
Hotel Pegasus International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pegasus International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.