We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pegasus International Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pegasus International Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pegasus International Hotel
501 Southard Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 41 hotels in Key West
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We found this hotel here on tripadvisor. The reviews were all true regarding the location and value. The room was small and dated but clean with everything you need, including hairdryer, microwave and frig. We scored it a 3 for service because part of the reason we choose this hotel was for the rooftop bar and snack bar everyone raved about in their reviews but it was not open at all the entire time we were there for 4 days. That was VERY disappointing to us because we are not typical "go out to party at the bar" type and we were looking forward to the smaller setting everyone described. The hot tub was wonderful and we enjoyed that a lot. So we do recommend this hotel just be aware all amenities might not be available.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We're so glad that TripAdvisor steered you in our direction! As you mentioned, this location just can't be beat—there's no better place to enjoy the waves and the fun of Key West nightlife! However, we're very sorry that our bar was closed during your stay, especially since you were so looking forward to checking it out. We should have been more clear, and we will certainly keep that in mind for our future guests. Still, we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we'd love to welcome you back again next year—or sooner! Until then, thank you for the wonderful review.

Warm regards,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    118
    60
    22
    26
See reviews for
48
190
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Nice location, clean place, the staff was really friendly. It is a hotel that I will definitely go again. It was also really close to everything, we walked everywere. I will recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for your high recommendations, Maria! It was so nice to hear your kind words. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Ile, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stay at this hotel everytime we are in Key West. Love the location. Walking distance to everything in old town. They also have a nice parking lot to keep your car. Newly remodeled rooms. Very clean. Love the pool deck and bar area. Nice place to relax. We have enjoyed our stay here many times.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
It's always nice to welcome back a familiar face! Thanks for making us your Key West headquarters, and for taking the time to leave such a fabulous review. We're looking forward to your next visit!

All the best,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Ile, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I recently stayed at The Pegasus. The hotel is located on the center of Duvall St in Old Town Key West. The Hotel is close to where all the action is. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel has a large deck with a pool and bar. The rates are reasonable for such a great location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
David,

Great location and comfortable rooms at a wonderful price—it's great to know that we've covered all the bases! We're so glad that you've made us a part of your vacation, and that you took the time to review us. Thank you! We look forward to your next stay.

Cheers,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and myself recently stayed at the Pegasus International Hotel. I was saddened that I had to leave to return to work. We travel quite frequently, and our stay at Pegasus was our best hotel experience yet.

Upon arrival, staff was warm, friendly and full of helpful information. Staff made our stay enjoyable, as well as made us feel special and at home. Our room was clean and quiet. The bathroom was spacious and very clean.

Our bed was so comfortable that we asked staff where we could purchase a similar bed for our home. With the assistance of staff, my husband was able to purchase a similar mattress when we returned home.

The pool was very well maintaned. Clean. We had an excellent experience at Pegasus International Hotel and the location couldn't be any better.

This is an "absolute must stay." We are looking forward to returing to the Pegasus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
With the gorgeous views and great location, we can't blame you for not wanting to leave! It sounds like you had a wonderful time here in Key West, and we're so happy that we were a part of it. Thank you very much, Jean. We'll see you soon!

Warm regards,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

my second time.i just want to say i fell like an home and spice lounge is great pleace for drink. well i just to thanks to the bartender and staff for my staying and will come back again.with my family for vacation

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Yes! The Spice Lounge is one of our favorite places to grab a drink. It's so rewarding to hear how comfortable you felt with us. We'll be sure to pass your compliments along to our bartender and the rest of the team—they'll be elated to hear your kind words. Thank you, Walter. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

All the best,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

my wife and i went to the key's for a weekend and stayed here I loved the poolside bar food was very good drinks were very good the bartender was very nice. food was surprising good for a pool side bar. rooms were clean and the area was very nice. I do live in south florida but it was very nice to go to the keys and enjoy the conch republic would tell anyone to stay here great time great bar at the pool side. bring your suntan lotions and get down here

Room Tip: get here the place is great pool side is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Even if you live in sunny Florida, sometimes you just need to experience a different side of the state! We're delighted that you chose to spend that time with us, Wayne. Come back and see us next time you need to get away. And don't forget your sunscreen! :)

Cheers,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pegasus International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pegasus International Hotel

Address: 501 Southard Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Key West
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pegasus International Hotel is a charming Art Deco hotel located in the heart of Key West. Many activities, popular sites, restaurants, shopping, bars and clubs are within a short walking distance. Thirty newly renovated rooms offer modern comfort such as cable TV, phone with data port, free wireless internet, air conditioning, refrigerators, microwaves, and irons with ironing boards. Also, our rooftop sundeck with a heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi offers views of the bustling Southard and Duval Streets. Spice Lounge is the hotel’s onsite, poolside tapas bar featuring a unique Indian Tapas menu and excellent drink selection. Parking is available for all guests at a flat rate. Shuttles from the airport and ferry are also available upon request. Limited room service is also available from various local restaurants.Activities nearby include diving, snorkeling, fishing, city tours, golf, pirate tours and pub crawls, Dry Tortugas National Park, Fort Jefferson Ferry, The Key West Butterfly & Nature Conservatory, Key West Seaplane Adventures,Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, Sloppy Joe’s Bar, Mallory Square, Fort Zachary Taylor Beach, The Hemingway House, bars, nightlife, clubs, shopping, restaurants and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Pegasus International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pegasus International Key West
Hotel Pegasus International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pegasus International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.