We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pegasus International Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pegasus International Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pegasus International Hotel
501 Southard Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 41 hotels in Key West
Derby, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Just stayed there for 10 days mid January 2013. Room was very clean, bathroom very small with only a pedestal sink. However I do understand you are limited in Key West as to what you can do on a remodel. Breakfast was sparse but if you just need a quick meal as we did when leaving early in the morning it was fine. Only really bad experience was the very last night when we went to bed early for an early flight and there was a pool party outside our room. Was not too concerned as the pool closed at 10:00 however was woke up at 2:00am from the same party. Still people roaming around at 5:30 am although they had quieted down a bit. I will recommend it to friends and I might even stay there again although if I am there for an extended time again I would prefer to have a kitchen. No need for a car here- we walked everywhere.

Room Tip: despite the bad experience- poolside is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thanks for staying with us, Lori. While it sounds like you were pleased with a majority of your stay, we're sorry to hear that your last night with us left you with mixed feelings. We would have been happy to quiet our more lively guests, so don't hesitate to let us know if you're bothered. After all, we understand why you'd want to get some rest! Still, we're glad that you enjoyed your time here in Key West, and we hope to have you back again next year. Until then, thanks for your candor.

Regards,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    118
    60
    22
    26
See reviews for
48
190
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend & I decided to stay at the Pegasus for multiple reasons. Location, price & quality. We were in Key West for a wedding & knew we didn't want to be in a tiny hotel, nor did we want to be an a hotel that was hundreds per night, it's unnecessary for Key West, if you ask us. So upon arrival we noticed the construction/remodeling..kinda assumed it would be an issue but honestly it wasn't. The crew was super nice & conscientious. Our room was on the 3rd floor/Southard St. side. Room was remodeled, lovely soft bedding.. bathroom was above expectations with ample nice towels, essentials & very clean. We loved the amount of space, even had friends stop by for drinks before going out. Never did the noise of Duval St. or the nearby open late Pizzeria bother us (& I'm a light sleeper). *Our most memorable part of our stay was relaxing at the bar with Gary, the bartender. He made quite an impression on us, very easy to talk to & you don't experience friendliness like that from a hotel as often as you'd like. We hope he is still with the hotel for our next visit..thank you again, Gary, for your service & conversation!! Made our stay one that we will always look back on & smile. :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Gary certainly does know how to make everyone feel at home! We're so glad that you and your boyfriend enjoyed his company, and your stay with us as a whole. It's always a pleasure to host great guests like you, so we hope you'll come back and see us next time you're looking to get away! Until then, thanks for your kind words—they meant the world to us!

Warm regards,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Great location! We travel to Key West twice every to visit friends, and have stayed at the most expensive hotels. This hotel is in the best location (center of Duval). New roof terrace is beautiful !! Wish I had pictures to share. We'll be traveling back soon and plan to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Sounds like you had a fabulous stay, Julie! Thanks so much for allowing us to host your trip to Key West. We're looking forward to welcoming you back next time you're in town! :)

All the bst,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, IA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were in Key West for 5 nights, have tried all areas of the island...hotels by airport, b & b's, first stay at Pegasus. Will look no further in the future. It is right in the middle of Duval, rooftop pool is enough to cool off, jacuzzi is just right for the poolside bar in the evening. Bed was very comfortable, room size (1Q) was sufficient. Pillows make or break my night of sleep, and they were great. Little fridge & microwave, perfect for late night leftovers. We were on 3rd floor room, corner Duval & pool deck-only one night experienced noise. Pool bartender was very friendly & works the entire hotel-tip him big! Walgreens next door, keep your own beer cold in your room & have a few before you go out at night! I agree with other reviews there was no where in bathroom to put your personal items, but oh well. The front desk staff-not so friendly...but again, oh well. This is not a luxury hotel, but for sure you will want to stay when checking out the island by foot, can't get any better. Will definitely stay here again, price was right, location perfect.

Room Tip: Room #301, corner of rooftop pool & Duval, Queen. Good view of what's going on outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Great price, great location, great stay! It was our pleasure to host your stay in Key West, and to read your description of your time with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind words! We look forward to your next visit. :)

Cheers,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Good - located right on Duvall St, hotel parking one block away, friendly staff, decent continental buffet included, big rooms with fridge, clean bathroom with big shower, great roof terrace with bar and swimming pool.

Bad - the bedspreads!!! Straight out of the 80's I'm sure.

So basically this is a great hotel, great price, great location. Don't listen to the whingers on here :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thanks for staying with us, Nicky! We're so glad that you enjoyed your time with us, even if you were a bit confused by our bedspreads. We always thought they gave a beach-y feel to our rooms, but we'll definitely keep your thoughts in mind as we move forward. :) That said, we'd love to welcome you back again soon! Until then, thanks for the stellar review.

Cheers,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Fairly bland, functional hotel, reasonable room size with comfortable bed although small bathroom with shower stall only. Right on the corner of Duval Street which is THE rowdy street in Key West so expect some noise. Basic continental breakfast included in room rate taken in the smallest, cramped breakfast area ever. Hotel does have a nice compact pool area with a bar though. Was bit irritated that the parking fee of $10 only covered us from check in at 3pm until check out (by 11) the next morning and we had to pay another $10 to stay for the rest of the day, despite the fact we'd booked two rooms. Didn't think the rate charged justifies what is a fairly basic hotel but all accommodation in Key West is really expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back so you are protected from some of the noise from Duval Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, Jasmine. After reviewing your comments, it appears that your experience was a bit mixed. We wish that your time with us had yielded a better impression, but we will certainly take your comments regarding our parking fees and breakfast area into consideration as we move forward. Thank you for leaving such detailed feedback. We hope to have another opportunity to earn your business next time you're looking to get away.

All the best,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Location is great if you want to be where the action is. However, the beds are so horrible that I would never recommend staying here. I can't imagine how old or cheap the mattresses must be. Worse than a sofa bed.
To be fair, staff was very nice, but really, really bad beds.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Yes, our location can't be beat! However, we're surprised to hear that you found your bed to be this uncomfortable. That's not a complaint that we receive often, so we will be happy to look into this further. That said, we would have been happy to move you to a different room—don't hesitate to ask! Still, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to show you a 5-star experience next time you visit Key West.

Best,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pegasus International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pegasus International Hotel

Address: 501 Southard Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Key West
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pegasus International Hotel is a charming Art Deco hotel located in the heart of Key West. Many activities, popular sites, restaurants, shopping, bars and clubs are within a short walking distance. Thirty newly renovated rooms offer modern comfort such as cable TV, phone with data port, free wireless internet, air conditioning, refrigerators, microwaves, and irons with ironing boards. Also, our rooftop sundeck with a heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi offers views of the bustling Southard and Duval Streets. Spice Lounge is the hotel’s onsite, poolside tapas bar featuring a unique Indian Tapas menu and excellent drink selection. Parking is available for all guests at a flat rate. Shuttles from the airport and ferry are also available upon request. Limited room service is also available from various local restaurants.Activities nearby include diving, snorkeling, fishing, city tours, golf, pirate tours and pub crawls, Dry Tortugas National Park, Fort Jefferson Ferry, The Key West Butterfly & Nature Conservatory, Key West Seaplane Adventures,Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, Sloppy Joe’s Bar, Mallory Square, Fort Zachary Taylor Beach, The Hemingway House, bars, nightlife, clubs, shopping, restaurants and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Pegasus International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pegasus International Key West
Hotel Pegasus International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pegasus International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.