We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst bed ever” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pegasus International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pegasus International Hotel to your Saves list
Pegasus International Hotel
501 Southard Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worst bed ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Location is great if you want to be where the action is. However, the beds are so horrible that I would never recommend staying here. I can't imagine how old or cheap the mattresses must be. Worse than a sofa bed.
To be fair, staff was very nice, but really, really bad beds.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Yes, our location can't be beat! However, we're surprised to hear that you found your bed to be this uncomfortable. That's not a complaint that we receive often, so we will be happy to look into this further. That said, we would have been happy to move you to a different room—don't hesitate to ask! Still, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to show you a 5-star experience next time you visit Key West.

Best,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    137
    62
    22
    26
See reviews for
50
215
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

What we liked: Location is simply perfect, close to everything important (Duval street - the most busy street in the town, Zachary fort - the most beautiful beach, sunset square, shops, restaurants etc.). Room was small, but nice and clean. Parking was for 10 USD per night, wifi was for free (good connection).
What we didn´t like: We couldn´t open the window so we missed fresh air. Breakfast was very basic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Yes, Zachary fort is a beautiful beach! We're so glad that we're just minutes away from the waves. It sounds like you had a lovely stay, Petra. Thank you for leaving such kind words, and for sharing your thoughts about our breakfast—we'll see what we can do to introduce a bit more variety. Once again, thank you for the fabulous review. We'd love to welcome you back next time you're looking to soak up the sun!

All the best,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We had a really good time with the Pegasus as our home base. The owners really are vested into keeping this place up. We had a great time at the bar; Gary took care of our every need when we stopped by the bar. We hung out at the hot tub a couple of nights - they cleaned the pool and hot tub every day. This is a very reasonable place to stay; while not having all the bells and whistles of the higher end properties, we experienced comfort and rest at a reasonable price. What more could you ask for?! The only change I would make was requesting a room with a mattress topper - our mattress was so firm as to make my hands numb sleeping on it overnight.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thanks for staying with us! We're so glad that you were able to unwind in the hot tub after long days at the beach. We'll definitely keep your suggestion about the mattresses in mind—but don't hesitate to ask for a different room next time! :) We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel offers a good value for money with great location and comfy, clean rooms. The staff was very helpful and parking on hotel's lot was reasonably priced. Complimentary breakfast was scarce as usually, but was enough to start the day for me. The rooftop pool area is an outstanding place to enjoy the hot Florida sun. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay close to the Duval street and all its attractions.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Between our pool, our location and our friendly staff, there's no better place to spend a Key West getaway! We're so happy to hear from you, Heikki—thank you for taking the time to share your words of praise. We look forward to your next visit!

All the best,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed at the Pegasus just a few days but we felt very welcomed and enjoyed our stay very much. Everybody was friendly and polite. They have very nice deck with the view of Duval street so we could watch the Christmas parade. A small bar with happy hour drinks and we even happened to try some Indian cuisine. And of course Jacuzzi was great after a long day. The room was nicely decorated, very clean. Most of all I liked that they have big flat screen tv in the room. Housekeeping service was on top as well: fresh towels every day. They also serve continental breakfast. Everything is in a walking distance. For a late hour snack there is a pizza place right next door.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thanks for staying with us, Kristine! Whether you're with us for a few days or a few weeks, we're happy to make you feel at home. This is a perfect time of year to visit Key West—glad you were able to catch the Christmas parade. But if you're looking for warmer weather, we'd love to welcome you back next year! :)

Warm regards,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

These people don't hesitate to double book the rooms and cancel your reservation right before your trip, if they find better deals for their rooms. They don't care that you have made in advance planning based on your hotel reservation and it would be too late to find a substitute, specially during high season. It would be harder specifically you are travelling with family. The only thing that they say is that they are sorry because there was a glitch in their system!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We understand how valuable your time is, especially when you are planning to spend it relaxing with your family. We are terribly sorry to hear that there was a mishap with your reservation—that is not like us at all, and we want to get to the bottom of this immediately. Please don't hesitate to call us at (800) 397-8148 if you'd like to discuss this in detail. Thank you for your feedback.

Best,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This hotel is in a great spot,steps to Duval street but it has some issues.they say 100% non smoking hotel not true can't smoke in your room have little smoking decks end of 2nd and 3rd floors they don't close the doors so that smoke blows back in with the slightest breeze they also smoke on the pool deck area. the room had issues also the bed needed to be replace box spring felt like it was broken ,no coffee maker in room the bathroom has no counter space just a sink toilet shower hairdryer and a really slippery when wet floor. room shows age with door stop shower curtain rusting wardrobe bar falling apart. The wifi single doesn't make to parts of hotel i.e. our room. i saw some other reviews say they couldn't sleep because of street noise our ac unit was like a loud white noise generator that never shut off no thermostat i guess. This could be a great spot i saw the signs of work like the stickers they never took off the new windows in our room, but you gotta put some effort in. One last thing breakfast only good for a small child.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for leaving such detailed feedback. We apologize for not being more clear about our smoking policy. While we do not allow smoking within the hotels and rooms, we permit smoking in the outside areas. The issues you described with your room are quite concerning—we don't normally receive complaints like this, but we would have been happy to move you to a room that better suited your needs. Please don't hesitate to ask next time. Once again, thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope to have another opportunity to earn your business.

Best,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pegasus International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pegasus International Hotel

Address: 501 Southard Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Key West
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pegasus International Hotel is a charming Art Deco hotel located in the heart of Key West. Many activities, popular sites, restaurants, shopping, bars and clubs are within a short walking distance. Thirty newly renovated rooms offer modern comfort such as cable TV, phone with data port, free wireless internet, air conditioning, refrigerators, microwaves, and irons with ironing boards. Also, our rooftop sundeck with a heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi offers views of the bustling Southard and Duval Streets. Spice Lounge is the hotel’s onsite, poolside tapas bar featuring a unique Indian Tapas menu and excellent drink selection. Parking is available for all guests at a flat rate. Shuttles from the airport and ferry are also available upon request. Limited room service is also available from various local restaurants.Activities nearby include diving, snorkeling, fishing, city tours, golf, pirate tours and pub crawls, Dry Tortugas National Park, Fort Jefferson Ferry, The Key West Butterfly & Nature Conservatory, Key West Seaplane Adventures,Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, Sloppy Joe’s Bar, Mallory Square, Fort Zachary Taylor Beach, The Hemingway House, bars, nightlife, clubs, shopping, restaurants and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Pegasus International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pegasus International Key West
Hotel Pegasus International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pegasus International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.