We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location in Key West” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pegasus International Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pegasus International Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Pegasus International Hotel
501 Southard Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 40 hotels in Key West
West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Central Location in Key West”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great central location on the corner of Duval and Southard. Therefore not the quietest on a night when the world powerboat championships are in town. Handy off site parking, extra cost, was very useful and worthwhile given parking availability in Key West. Room was fine and a good size, staff were friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
We really are in the perfect place to enjoy all the fun that Duval has to offer! Thank you for staying with us, and for singing our praises on TripAdvisor. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Regards,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    100
    54
    21
    25
See reviews for
40
167
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leigh england
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

well what can I say ,small friendly hotel, great location, rooms big and comfy staff polite and helpful . Only one or two little whinges no coffee makers in rooms and like lots of hotels now in room safes missing

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
It was our pleasure to make you feel at home! Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words. We hope to welcome you back next time you're looking to soak up the sun!

Cheers,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRUNSWICK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed at the Pegasus for over a week. This was a repeat visit to this great-location hotel. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful to us. Svetlana was very knowledgeable and nice--always greeting us with a smile. Enjoyed our entertaining shuttle driver, Michael. Also, another great employee was "Life is Good." Can't remember his name. Thanks, Pegasus, for making us feel safe and comfortable. Looking forward to making reservations for next year.

Room Tip: Requested a certain room that I had the year before and got it the next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Making our guests feel safe, comfortable and free to enjoy themselves is our first priority. We can't adequately explain how rewarding it is to hear your kind words! Thank you for taking the time to sing our praises on TripAdvisor. We would love to welcome you back next time you're in the Keys.

Cheers,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The staff was not friendly and could not be bothered with. We came up short on towels and had to call down and then it took forever so we had to call multiple times during our stay.
The room was stale and smelly, and the noise from the wall air conditioner was so loud and since it is hot and humid you must have it on all night. The noise from the pool was loud as well since the rooms sit next to the pool deck. The bathrooms are smaller than my smallest closet so you have to bring things in and out of the bathrooms because it lacks in counters or shelves to put your stuff in. So even though I was in a hotel, I felt like I was camping.

Room Tip: ask to be away from the elevators, stairs and the pool. It is pretty loud since the hotel is on a su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Malia,

While we're disappointed to learn of your recent stay, we can assure you that your comments will only aid us as we work to improve. In fact, we are currently in the process of making the necessary upgrades, and your feedback is very helpful. Thanks for taking the time to leave it.

Best,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed there in October 2012. The hotel was fantastic. I enjoyed the deck - I could sit out there every day and just take in the sights (Fantasy Fest). The hot tub could have been a little warmer but not enough to complain about. The rooms were clean and the staff was fantastic. They gave us ideas about what to see and where to go. We certainly intend to stay there again next year when we visit Key West. They were doing construction on the hotel but that did not interfere with anything we wanted to do.
Denny and Sandi Boyd
Littlestown PA

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Denny and Sandi,

We really do have a beautiful view — it gives us the ultimate opportunity to watch those stunning sunsets. It was our pleasure to welcome you to Key West. Thank you both for the kind words. We'd love to welcome you back next year.

Regards,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The receptionist was really unfriendly/ rude. we had one extra person so they charged us extra but wouldn't want to give us a mattress or blankets!!

Don't think of asking for a new towel because you will be yelled at and you will need to return your used one first.

The rooms are really ugly/ not clean.
the beds had literally wholes in in them which hurt my back.

and again the receptionist has no idea what customer service means.

AND I NEVER complain!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
It's disappointing that your recent stay did not leave you with a better impression. As you recall, your reservation accounted for 4 people rather than 5, and we were happy to adjust for this change for a $20 fee. I apologize if these policies were unclear, but we would have gladly discussed them with you if you had any questions. That said, we stand by our service.

Best,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

The roof top was an excellent hang out spot. Most of the time I was the only person in the pool and no one was in the hot tub. I could hear the music from the adjacent bar from the comfort of a lounge chair and yet our rooms were still quiet enough to not be disturbed from the noise of Duvall St.

The location was prime, right in the middle of everything and within walking distance of everything of note. The breakfast was pretty spartan, but at least they had an assortment of cereals, some mini bagels, blueberry muffins, orange juice, and instant coffee. We took a short walk to Blue Heaven as we'd already had a week of continental breakfast. Well worth the walk. We would stay here again.

There was construction while we were there, but it was very unintrusive. It did not disturb us in the slightest.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We completely understand how disturbing the noise of construction can be, so it's good to hear that you were not disturbed during your stay. Our location really is perfect for exploring all the fun that Key West has to offer. Thank you for staying with us! We would love to have you back next year.

Warm regards,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pegasus International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pegasus International Hotel

Also Known As:
Pegasus International Key West
Hotel Pegasus International
Address: 501 Southard Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Key West
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pegasus International Hotel is a charming Art Deco hotel located in the heart of Key West. Many activities, popular sites, restaurants, shopping, bars and clubs are within a short walking distance. Thirty newly renovated rooms offer modern comfort such as cable TV, phone with data port, free wireless internet, air conditioning, refrigerators, microwaves, and irons with ironing boards. Also, our rooftop sundeck with a heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi offers views of the bustling Southard and Duval Streets. Spice Lounge is the hotel’s onsite, poolside tapas bar featuring a unique Indian Tapas menu and excellent drink selection. Parking is available for all guests at a flat rate. Shuttles from the airport and ferry are also available upon request. Limited room service is also available from various local restaurants.Activities nearby include diving, snorkeling, fishing, city tours, golf, pirate tours and pub crawls, Dry Tortugas National Park, Fort Jefferson Ferry, The Key West Butterfly & Nature Conservatory, Key West Seaplane Adventures,Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, Sloppy Joe’s Bar, Mallory Square, Fort Zachary Taylor Beach, The Hemingway House, bars, nightlife, clubs, shopping, restaurants and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Pegasus International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pegasus International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.