We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pegasus International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pegasus International Hotel to your Saves list
Pegasus International Hotel
501 Southard Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Key West
leigh england
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“would go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

well what can I say ,small friendly hotel, great location, rooms big and comfy staff polite and helpful . Only one or two little whinges no coffee makers in rooms and like lots of hotels now in room safes missing

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
It was our pleasure to make you feel at home! Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words. We hope to welcome you back next time you're looking to soak up the sun!

Cheers,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    134
    62
    22
    26
See reviews for
50
213
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed at the Pegasus for over a week. This was a repeat visit to this great-location hotel. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful to us. Svetlana was very knowledgeable and nice--always greeting us with a smile. Enjoyed our entertaining shuttle driver, Michael. Also, another great employee was "Life is Good." Can't remember his name. Thanks, Pegasus, for making us feel safe and comfortable. Looking forward to making reservations for next year.

Room Tip: Requested a certain room that I had the year before and got it the next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Making our guests feel safe, comfortable and free to enjoy themselves is our first priority. We can't adequately explain how rewarding it is to hear your kind words! Thank you for taking the time to sing our praises on TripAdvisor. We would love to welcome you back next time you're in the Keys.

Cheers,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The staff was not friendly and could not be bothered with. We came up short on towels and had to call down and then it took forever so we had to call multiple times during our stay.
The room was stale and smelly, and the noise from the wall air conditioner was so loud and since it is hot and humid you must have it on all night. The noise from the pool was loud as well since the rooms sit next to the pool deck. The bathrooms are smaller than my smallest closet so you have to bring things in and out of the bathrooms because it lacks in counters or shelves to put your stuff in. So even though I was in a hotel, I felt like I was camping.

Room Tip: ask to be away from the elevators, stairs and the pool. It is pretty loud since the hotel is on a su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Malia,

While we're disappointed to learn of your recent stay, we can assure you that your comments will only aid us as we work to improve. In fact, we are currently in the process of making the necessary upgrades, and your feedback is very helpful. Thanks for taking the time to leave it.

Best,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlestown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed there in October 2012. The hotel was fantastic. I enjoyed the deck - I could sit out there every day and just take in the sights (Fantasy Fest). The hot tub could have been a little warmer but not enough to complain about. The rooms were clean and the staff was fantastic. They gave us ideas about what to see and where to go. We certainly intend to stay there again next year when we visit Key West. They were doing construction on the hotel but that did not interfere with anything we wanted to do.
Denny and Sandi Boyd
Littlestown PA

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Denny and Sandi,

We really do have a beautiful view — it gives us the ultimate opportunity to watch those stunning sunsets. It was our pleasure to welcome you to Key West. Thank you both for the kind words. We'd love to welcome you back next year.

Regards,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The receptionist was really unfriendly/ rude. we had one extra person so they charged us extra but wouldn't want to give us a mattress or blankets!!

Don't think of asking for a new towel because you will be yelled at and you will need to return your used one first.

The rooms are really ugly/ not clean.
the beds had literally wholes in in them which hurt my back.

and again the receptionist has no idea what customer service means.

AND I NEVER complain!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
It's disappointing that your recent stay did not leave you with a better impression. As you recall, your reservation accounted for 4 people rather than 5, and we were happy to adjust for this change for a $20 fee. I apologize if these policies were unclear, but we would have gladly discussed them with you if you had any questions. That said, we stand by our service.

Best,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

The roof top was an excellent hang out spot. Most of the time I was the only person in the pool and no one was in the hot tub. I could hear the music from the adjacent bar from the comfort of a lounge chair and yet our rooms were still quiet enough to not be disturbed from the noise of Duvall St.

The location was prime, right in the middle of everything and within walking distance of everything of note. The breakfast was pretty spartan, but at least they had an assortment of cereals, some mini bagels, blueberry muffins, orange juice, and instant coffee. We took a short walk to Blue Heaven as we'd already had a week of continental breakfast. Well worth the walk. We would stay here again.

There was construction while we were there, but it was very unintrusive. It did not disturb us in the slightest.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We completely understand how disturbing the noise of construction can be, so it's good to hear that you were not disturbed during your stay. Our location really is perfect for exploring all the fun that Key West has to offer. Thank you for staying with us! We would love to have you back next year.

Warm regards,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We met up with a group of friends who were staying at the Pegasus this weekend. It was the creepiest, sketchiest hotel I've been in. Plastic lining the floors, small dark rooms, broken hallway lights, etc. No one stopped us as we just walked up and into the hotel to see who we were or where we were going. Our friends were a group of guys so it was tolerable (barely) as a base for them, but our group of girls would NEVER have slept the night there. Great location, everything else just awful.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Jill,

We are disheartened to learn of your discontent our accommodations as our guests' satisfaction and safety is our first priority. However, we are currently undertaking a series of repairs to improve for our guests, and we believe that the plastic lining and darkness you mentioned were direct results of the ongoing construction. We apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you for your candor.

Best,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pegasus International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pegasus International Hotel

Address: 501 Southard Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Key West
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pegasus International Hotel is a charming Art Deco hotel located in the heart of Key West. Many activities, popular sites, restaurants, shopping, bars and clubs are within a short walking distance. Thirty newly renovated rooms offer modern comfort such as cable TV, phone with data port, free wireless internet, air conditioning, refrigerators, microwaves, and irons with ironing boards. Also, our rooftop sundeck with a heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi offers views of the bustling Southard and Duval Streets. Spice Lounge is the hotel’s onsite, poolside tapas bar featuring a unique Indian Tapas menu and excellent drink selection. Parking is available for all guests at a flat rate. Shuttles from the airport and ferry are also available upon request. Limited room service is also available from various local restaurants.Activities nearby include diving, snorkeling, fishing, city tours, golf, pirate tours and pub crawls, Dry Tortugas National Park, Fort Jefferson Ferry, The Key West Butterfly & Nature Conservatory, Key West Seaplane Adventures,Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, Sloppy Joe’s Bar, Mallory Square, Fort Zachary Taylor Beach, The Hemingway House, bars, nightlife, clubs, shopping, restaurants and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Pegasus International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pegasus International Key West
Hotel Pegasus International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pegasus International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.