We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Garden House to your Saves list
Garden House
329 Elizabeth Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Can't wait to return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2005

I cannot imagine staying anywhere else when we return to KW. Perfect location and not too pricey. Great breakfast and Happy Hour everyday.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    54
    30
    18
    25
See reviews for
9
113
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
port au prince, Haiti
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2005

Cute rooms and welcoming hosts.
The inn keepers were VERY accomodating (we had a problem and arrived at midnight, they left the key for us). The location was PERFECT, walking distance from everything. Reasonnable prices, quiet, and a very welcoming atmosphere. I would DEFINITELY stay here again
The Garden House is my #1 choice for key west.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2004

We just got back from a stay at the fun, cozy Garden House. Overall we were pleased with the accommodations and walking distance to Duval Street. Not a four star B&B, but definitely nice enough for the reasonable price.

Pros: Great location, nice innkeepers, private & cozy room, reasonable price, clean, enjoyed meeting the other people while hanging in the pool at the free happy hour!

Cons: Toilet didn't work, pool was small but definitely a nice touch during the free happy hour, can't sunbathe by the pool as it's shaded and small

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2004

Just returned from Key West & a stay at the Garden House. Garden House exceeded all expectations. The location is great. The pool area is cozy, quiet & a nice place to escape the afternoon heat or cool off after a long night on the town. I had the chance to see 3 of the 10 rooms & they were all very nice. I would not hesitate recommending this place to friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2004

My sister and I had the pleasure of staying at the Garden House in June 2004. It exceeded all of our expectations. The hotel was clean and cosy and the innkeepers were friendly but unimposing (even fluffy the cat). We spent three wonderful days floating in the lagoon-like pool and sipping on 'happy-hour' drinks. We wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else in Key West!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2004

This is my second time to Key West and I enjoyed my first stay at the Garden House. It is in a very convenient location to many restaurants, shops, fishing/boat charters, night life...YET...it's quiet at the Garden House. We were there the first week of June, 2004 and definitely would come back.

The pool is a little bit small, but welcoming. The staff is friendly and helpful. The coffee cake served in the AM is absolutely YUMMY! Not a great place for kids, definitely oriented to couples or a few couples traveling together.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2003

my wife and i go to key west each year and last year we could not get into our regular hotel (reach grand beach resort) for 3 of our 10 days. we found the garden house and like it so much we are spending all 10 of our days there this year. the couple that own it are friendly and fun to talk with. the place is right at the end of duval so you can find your way home at night. the rooms are clean and well appointed and have all the charm that you don't get at a hotel. they have a small but inviting pool on the top level. the breakfast and evening cocktail hours are exactly the right way to start your day or prelude into your evening. it's quiet for sleeping. and the prices for the differing rooms are very reasonable. we go in november...maybe we'll see you there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden House

Address: 329 Elizabeth Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden House Inn is Key West's most fun inn! Garden House Bed and Breakfast is very centrally located, only a block or two from Duval Street, the Historic Seaport, Mallory Square and Caroline Street, to name a few. We are a fun and relaxed B&B, with 10 rooms, all with private shower/bath. You'll most likely hear laughter spilling around the building from the other guests enjoying the free happy hour. Come over to join in the fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Garden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden House Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.