We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Day in Key West” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Avalon Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1317 Duval St., Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct and Save 10%
Ranked #25 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dillon, Co
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A Day in Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This is a charming B & B! Our room was lovely and clean, and the staff was friendly and they let us leave our coolers there after checkout. They also had lots of ice for our coolers, and refreshments & cookies. The location is great, the trolley was in front & the southernmost marker & beach close by. Don't miss the butterfly store & exhibit across the street. Lots to do in Key West!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    173
    27
    10
    4
See reviews for
89
380
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very customer oriented staff. Rooms are very clean. Nice porch to sit on and watch the goings on Duval Street. You can walk to all the shops and restaurants on Duval Street. Would definitely return next time we are in Key West.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my first Bed and Breakfast and what a delight. I was pleasantly surprised. Its location is perfect just off Duval Street close to the Southernmost marker. The room was so cute and cosy had such a feeling of warmth. I love the breakfast on the front porch, I felt no rush and was very relaxing. The staff was sweet as well. I would highly recommend this B & B .

Room Tip: i think all the rooms would be spectalur. Just make sure your not expecting a large chain style room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avalonbnb, General Manager at Avalon Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I am so happy we were able to make your first B & B experience a good one, and hope its not the last. We look forward to seeing you again hopefully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My boyfriend and I just returned from an enjoyable stay at the Avalon Bed and Breakfast, very near the southernmost marker, and right on Duval Street. The staff was friendly, professional, and helpful.

Our guest room (standard queen) was bright, tasteful, and modern. It wasn't overly large, but served its purpose. The property has a small pool in a private courtyard, offers beer and wine for purchase, and sets out yummy cookies and a refreshing drink for guests each afternoon. Wifi is free. A varied continental breakfast awaits guests on the covered front porch each morning.

This property is a great alternative for those seeking to avoid large hotel properties. We would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avalonbnb, General Manager at Avalon Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Sharon,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, and I am happy you enjoyed your stay. Being one of the few locally owned and operated properties still on the island we really do try our best to give that personal touch to our service.

Thanks again for staying and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is just great! on Duval street, 1 block away from the southernmost point mark, walkable to all locations in Duval street, including Mallory Plaza. Very clean. Extremely helpful staff! Good breakfast too and free internet.
the only problem was that our room was dark and very small...

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avalonbnb, General Manager at Avalon Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to review us. I am happy you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms to be very clean and the staff helpful. We would wish for nothing less. I am sorry you were in one of our smaller, darker rooms, but hope on your next visit you can get to stay in one of the larger brighter rooms. As always we suggest making any special room requests at the time of booking, as on arrival we are usually not able to switch anything. Some room categories are more spacious than others. We always recommend calling us directly so we can steer you into the best category and room based on your needs and availability.

I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a great time, very clean and nice. I Recommend! We stayed in the smallest room in this Bed & Breakfast and thought it was wonderfully decorated and felt very comfortable.. Enjoyed!

Nice breakfast both mornings we were there.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avalonbnb, General Manager at Avalon Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your recent visit, and for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed the Small Queen room, and that you found everything nice and clean. We do know these rooms are small and can be a little snug for longer stays, but they are ideal for that little weekend getaway. Please come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this beautiful B&B for 3 days and it was perfect. The room was gorgeous and the beds so comfy. They had thought of everything, they even decorated the room for my birthday as a surprise: which was so lovely and so unexpected.
The breakfast was the best we have ever had in a B&B and we could have sat on the porch all morning!!
They had free tea and coffee and a cold drink available every day, the cool drink was welcome especially as the weather was so hot every day.
The B&B is at the quiet end of Duvall Street very close to the Southern most point in the US and was perfect. We cant recommend the place highly enough. Would love to return.

Room Tip: Our room was a double with Queen beds and was fabulous. We overlooked the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avalonbnb, General Manager at Avalon Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a positive review. I am very happy you had such a great birthday weekend with us and enjoyed everything at the B & B. We also really appreciate you recommending us to others. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1317 Duval St., Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Historic Duval St. the Avalon is a c1885 historic 19 room Bed and Breakfast style Key West Hotel.With romantic canopy net beds in all rooms, private bathrooms, mini refrigerators, flat screen TV's, heated pool and free Wi-Fi, the rooms are updated to provide modern amenities, while still maintaining its colonial charm & ambience.The plentiful continental breakfast buffet served café style on the front porch each morning is the perfect start to your day before exploring Key West. Located on Duval Street the Avalon Bed and Breakfast Hotel is within walking distance to the many attractions Key West has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Avalon Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Key West
Avalon b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.