We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Wonderful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Avalon Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
1317 Duval St., Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
All New Beds
Ranked #27 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
Wyoming
1 review
“Charming and Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was our second time staying at the Avalon. Our first trip we stayed in the private villa in the back which was spectacular. This trip we stayed in the main house - equally as great. The rooms are immaculate. The main house and all the grounds are maintained and clean. Staff courteous and polite. Parking is across street in a parking lot and while your car isn't in plain view, its safe back there.

We were staying for our 1 yr wedding anniversary and when we arrived in the room, there was a bottle of champagne with a card and the 4 post bed with sensual white lace netting was covered in rose petals. A+

Very classy.

My wife and I wholeheartedly recommend this wonderful place. We will return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great; however, the detached private villa in the back is always our first choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avalonbnb, General Manager at Avalon Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Happy Anniversary to you both again, and thanks for sharing your photo. We look forward to seeing you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    156
    27
    8
    3
See reviews for
78
332
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Lovely room with canopy bed in charming old building. Small pool outside. Only one block from Souternmost point in US. Great service and touring tips. Liked outside breakfast and free parking close by

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay in Avalon from begin to end.

We had a queensize room which was really small, but so cute and cozy. Everything was very clean and the bed was nice.

Breakfast was included and really good and we also loved the free parking and free wifi (which was very fast). The pool was a lovely refreshment from a long day in Key West.

My only con is that it's quite far from the "action". Sloppy Joe's for example is a good 20 minutes walk. It's not too far, but expect some walking.

Next time when we will be in Key West, which we definitely will because it's awesome, we'll probably book Avalon again since its price/quality is excellent.

Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Absolutely wonderful! I booked a room with 2 queen beds and it looked exactly as pictured on their website. Clean, comfortable and a great value for an overnight stay. I was able to leave my luggage after I checked out which was a great help as the ferry wasn't leaving until early evening. Nice breakfast on the from porch and tasty cookies and tea in the afternoon. It was on the quitter side of Duval street which I appreciated in the evening and closed to the southernmost point. I could walk everywhere which was a great perk.

I will recommend this lovely B&B to all my friends and would stay again on my next visit to Key West.

Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Compared to nearby hotels, like southernmost, this place is a great option and better value. The only thing they really lack is a pool. There is one, but it is really more the size of a hot tub. Breakfast is great and not included with your stay at southernmost. You get free parking. You're right by the beach. It's a great choice for your next trip!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avalonbnb, Manager at Avalon Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for reviewing us online. We agree our location is excellent. As we like to say close enough to the action but not too close. You do want to be able to sleep after all.

We are so happy you enjoyed the breakfast! We are somewhat limited as we are not allowed to provide hot foods, but within the legal limitations of what we are able to provide we try to ensure we have a good and plentiful selection full of fresh fruits and some protein selections like hard boiled eggs, deli meats and cheese. A must for our many European visitors.

I agree our pool is small, limited by our property size, more of a plunge pool to cool down on a hot summer day than a swimming pool.

Thanks again and hope to see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days and would definitely return. Yvonne, the manager was so welcoming and the rooms are quaint and really nice. It has to be one of the best places to stay in Key West, a lovely historic old building on Duval Street but an easy stroll to the livelier end of town. Breakfast on the porch was really nice and free parking nearby also a bonus. I recommend Avalon to anyone visiting Key West.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

WE booked 2 rooms here for 3 days and wished we could have stayed all season. the staff are great, location in superb and the rooms / beds are super comfortable. Brekky on the porch each morning was a pleasant start to each day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avalonbnb, Manager at Avalon Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I cannot tell you how much we appreciate it. We hope to see you again if you make it back this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1317 Duval St., Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Historic Duval St. the Avalon is a c1885 historic 19 room Bed and Breakfast style Key West Hotel.With romantic canopy net beds in all rooms, private bathrooms, mini refrigerators, flat screen TV's, heated pool and free Wi-Fi, the rooms are updated to provide modern amenities, while still maintaining its colonial charm & ambience.The plentiful continental breakfast buffet served café style on the front porch each morning is the perfect start to your day before exploring Key West. Located on Duval Street the Avalon Bed and Breakfast Hotel is within walking distance to the many attractions Key West has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Avalon Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon b&b
Avalon Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.