We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Homey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Avalon Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
1317 Duval St., Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Charming and Homey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Avalon this past weekend. It was our 1st trip to Key West and felt we made a great choice. The room was large enough to be comfortable and very clean. Breakfast included enough choices. The location at the end of Duval Street made every destination walkable for us. Best was parking was included if we needed to take our car out. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    156
    27
    8
    3
See reviews for
78
332
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

just spend three nights at the Avalon Bed and Breakfast, Key West, and it was great. The rooms are very clean and delightful. The breakfast, although not a hot breakfast, was good with lots of choices. the location is great, you can walk everywhere and the location is just one block from the beach and quiet...you can get up early, walk one block and watch the sunrise. the only downside is there is no central air conditioning...our room had an air conditioner in the window and it was noisy. the first night was brothersome but after that we didn't really noticed it..overall, we can a great stay and would definitely stay there again....key west is lovely!

Room Tip: we had a room in front, and it was not noisy and was nice to look out onto the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

We arrived early about 12:30 and the room was ready. The room was very clean and had beautiful decor. My wife is a light sleeper but she had a good nights sleep for the entire stay. We felt a little nervous about being on Duvall street but it was very quiet perhaps because our room was in the rear of the home

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

What a find! This very professionally run B&B was totally and charmingly decked out for the holidays and really made Christmas for my husband and me. The room was CLEAN, very comfortable, the bed net romantic and the bathroom good. The goodies in the morning on the porch were great, as were the cookies, etc. in the afternoon. The small but lovely pool is great - what a way to spend some of Christmas afternoon floating and looking at palm trees! I also enjoyed hanging out on the upper porch watching the street scene below while using the comp wifi. And the innkeepers were very, very knowledgable and nice people who steered us to best beaches, restaurants, etc. Overall a lovely stay and a good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Absolutely loved this little B&B - it was more than I wanted to spend but turned out to be a good investment as it was so close to the main sites but quiet enough to ensure we slept well. For me it was all about the little things - a dark coloured face flannel for me to take off my make up with (I always hate using those florescent white ones knowing it is going to have two panda eye marks on it), home-made drinks and snacks in the lounge, postcards of the house for free, a wine service for around the pool or on the veranda (really nice quality wine too - and some US establishments really serve some decidedly iffy wines) and the best Christmas light display in Key West - I will be appearing on a number of holiday snaps quaffing wine on the veranda whilst they pass in their cars, on bikes and on tour buses even! We wanted a break from the parks of Orlando and this was the ideal retreat if only for a couple of days - hell of a drive though - hadn't realised how awfully US roads are lit - well basically they aren't and we spent many miles on the pitch black Florida Turnpike - sounds major but believe me it is little more than a dual carriageway for many miles. As we left Avalon we said we would be back - we meant in 2013 when we will be returning with our daughter and her partner.....however, 60 miles down US1 I received a call from the hotel that our passports had been found in a drawer ("I thought you had them", "no you always look after them" etc!) - we turned around immediately - so that day we went over seven mile bridge 3 times - it's very impressive but I think I can wait until 2013 to see it again! Thank goodness someone did a full clean and sweep of the room as it is possible we could have only noticed we didn't have them on Christmas Day when we were due to leave Orlando. Cannot be recommended enough.

Room Tip: Take whatever you can get - they all look gorgeous, just don't expect a view you won't be in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Charming B&B right on Duval St. ... and yet away from the noisy section. Good value, clean and bright. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good Continental Breakfast. Slight downsides are noisy AC unit and shades that let in a fair amount of light in the upstairs unit in the back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 days on our first trip to Key West. Fantastic location, great hospitality, on Duval Street (main street), within walking distance of good restaurants. Would go back tomorrow. Not cheap it great value.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1317 Duval St., Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Historic Duval St. the Avalon is a c1885 historic 19 room Bed and Breakfast style Key West Hotel.With romantic canopy net beds in all rooms, private bathrooms, mini refrigerators, flat screen TV's, heated pool and free Wi-Fi, the rooms are updated to provide modern amenities, while still maintaining its colonial charm & ambience.The plentiful continental breakfast buffet served café style on the front porch each morning is the perfect start to your day before exploring Key West. Located on Duval Street the Avalon Bed and Breakfast Hotel is within walking distance to the many attractions Key West has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Avalon Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon b&b
Avalon Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.