We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“b & b ?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Avalon Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
1317 Duval St., Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
Ilford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“b & b ?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here ,the room was really nice and the staff were extremely friendly but we thought that this was more of a hotel than a B & B we stayed in 19 B & B during our trip and spent breakfast at most of them with the other quests where we could share our adventures. The breakfast here was very poor compared to other establishments ,though the good point was the location on Duval street near Hemingway's house and the southernmost point.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    157
    27
    8
    3
See reviews for
78
333
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed three nights at this lovely little B&B, located right on Duval Street, but at the "quiet end" of the street. The location is perfect, right near the Southernmost Point and directly across the street from the Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory. It is a bit of a hike to get to the other end of Duval, Mallory Square, etc., but we love to walk, so it wasn't a big deal for us. The staff were very professional and friendly. Our room was great - very clean, comfy bed (we had a king), roomy shower, and I had requested the 2nd floor so we could enjoy sitting on the 2nd story porch overlooking Duval St., which we did every night! The pool was great - nice and warm, but still refreshing after long days of walking the island. I agree that the breakfast was just OK. The fresh fruit and sweet breads were great, but the bagels and breads were just grocery store bought and no hot dishes. The cookies and lemonade in the afternoon were a nice touch, and they have a filtered water bubbler with hot and cold water and coffee and tea available 24 hours! Several of the other B&B's we have stayed at have had a complimentary happy hour in the late afternoons, and this B&B does not offer that. This was the only thing that could be added that would be a nice touch. We will definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have access to a great front porch! However, you can use the porch even if you stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Wyoming
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our room looked just like the photos. Loved the netting over the bed and the quality furnishings. The breakfast wasn't anything exceptional. Would have enjoyed one hot dish. Cookies in the evening was a nice touch and the women who run the inn were very nice. Be aware that's it's at the other end of Duval Street from Mallory Square but not far from El Siboney restaurant with great Cuban food and the Southernmost Point in the U.S.!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at the Avalon for 4 days with a group in mid-Oct. Very professional approach, rooms clean, the only critique would be a hair brush (not ours) under one of the beds. Like others have noted, A/C was a little loud but not over the top. Owners very accomdating with info on local attractions. Breakfast great, especially on the front deck. This part of Duvall is quiet. Get up a dawn walk to the southernmost beach (turn left out the door) and you'll see all sorts of fish/birds feeding off the beach. Take your camera as the architecture of sun coming off the adjacent mansion/inn is stunning.

For dinner, the Blue Heaven is heavenly, nice atmoshpere, outside, but great food.

Get some cuban coffee at the Cuban coffee Queen down by the marina.
If you like snorkeling/outdoors, do not miss the Dry Turtogas hydrofoil tour. Sea turtles on the way out, snorkeling with barracuda, sharks, rays, beautiful fish etc., outstanding. The fort is just alright. Money well spend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Avalon B&B is a great place to stay. It is friendly, inviting and very clean. Breakfast was continental with a great choice and served on the porch every morning. Our room c/w en suite was bright, clean and lovely. It had everything we could possibably need. The staff were friendly, helpful. It is situated on a quieter part of Duval Street not far from the beach but within walking distance of all the shops, restaurants and nightclubs. I would recommend the Avalon to anyone it is brilliant.

Room Tip: Go on line and check out the room that most suits you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had the little bungalow nex to the pool which was lovely, the Bed and Breakfast is nicely decorated and you feel welcome. The breakfast on the porch was excellent. Now the only and significant problem I have t mention here is the incredible noisy airconditioning, there was the airconditioning of our bungalow plus the one of the room in the building next to it that made so much noise that i turned off ours at night trying to sleep better, which of course made me wake up because i was too hot and turned the air conditioning back on, trying to sleep with the noise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avalonbnb, Manager at Avalon Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you so much for staying at the Avalon and for your positive comments.
We are happy you enjoyed our accommdoations and property.
We would like you and our future guests to know that the air conditioner in the cottage has been replaced. We have installed new air conditioners in almost all of our rooms.

In addtiion the cottage has also received new furniture, as have many of our rooms.
We do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Mills, NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon and had a fantastic experience. The B&B is located at the quiet end of Duval street--very nice--but also within biking distance of activities. The staff was super gracious and helpful in planning our activities, from suggestions to booking. We couldn't have asked for a better stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1317 Duval St., Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Historic Duval St. the Avalon is a c1885 historic 19 room Bed and Breakfast style Key West Hotel.With romantic canopy net beds in all rooms, private bathrooms, mini refrigerators, flat screen TV's, heated pool and free Wi-Fi, the rooms are updated to provide modern amenities, while still maintaining its colonial charm & ambience.The plentiful continental breakfast buffet served café style on the front porch each morning is the perfect start to your day before exploring Key West. Located on Duval Street the Avalon Bed and Breakfast Hotel is within walking distance to the many attractions Key West has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Avalon Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon b&b
Avalon Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.