We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great free museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oldest House

The Oldest House
322 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
305 294 9501
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 187 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
sofla954
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great free museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place to look around. It was free and we left a small donation. Full of interesting history. The historian was very friendly.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    51
    16
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lincoln england
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Lovely and free!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a lovely old house with a great garden and story to go with it!!! It is well worth a visit and one of the few things in this world that is free!!!
A must do!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Odd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a show of sorts. If you are not prepared to be held captive for the show for approximately 15 to 20 minutes, skip it. I know the "actor" was giving information about how the wrecker business was important to Key West, but I felt my eyes glazing over at one point. Kids might especially find this boring, which is too bad because the setting is fascinating, lots of found treasure.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Historical”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Finally stopped in here after all the years of visiting. We were not disappointed the history is interesting and for a small donation could not complain.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javea
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Colour Check”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This free museum is worth a visit, it will only take twenty or so minutes unless you want to stay longer.

The volunteer staff are ready to relate the history of the house and its occupants in vivid detail. The fact that it was one of only six to survive a hurricane which destroyed the town give special interest to its history and age.

The furnishings are authentic and plentiful with additional seafaring exhibits in the 'office'.

The grounds are delightfully shady and provide a quiet respite from the bustle of the town.

I'm no historic paint expert but I cannot believe that the interior wall colours can be authentic, they feel wrong and a little research and repainting might be in order if the museum has the resources.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oldest House also viewed

 

Been to The Oldest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oldest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.