We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absoloute worst RAT HOLE hole in all of Key West!!!! CONTAMINATED” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Old Customs House Inn

Save Saved
You added Old Customs House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Old Customs House Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   124 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 97 Key West B&B and Inns
Plantation
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Absoloute worst RAT HOLE hole in all of Key West!!!! CONTAMINATED”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Disgustingly dirty!!!!! Room not at all as shown on website, or described on phone. This place prays on out of towners , its a take the money and run operation. Good luck checking in, or getting a key, and if you complain they'll ask you to leave and threaten to call the police, cause they've already billed your credit card. The owners name is Josh, he has a tattoo of a Lizard on his neck. He also owns Smallest Bar. The only thing he's capable of is lying and charging your credit card, he's rude, incompetent, discriminatory, and a pathetic excuse for a business owner. The hotel itself is just as pathetic as its owner, roaches, bugs, broken furniture, dirt everywhere, hasn't been cleaned in months, much less remodeled or updated. There is no front desk or staff or housekeepers, only him and a bartender who have mastered the pass the buck, not my job, too bad buddy, game. Because they already got your credit card info. Don't be fooled by the positive reviews, take the time to read a few, and you'll see commonality, and if you're still truly interested in booking, GOOD LUCK, YOU'LL NEED IT!!!!!!!! Learn from my and the many others mistakes this place in a NIGHTMARE!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Pick another hotel!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
customshouse, Owner at Old Customs House Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Persona Non Gratis
Dear Sir
Your short stay at our facility failed to include the following :
You and other guests checked into the facility for a Bachelor party stay.
AS always , Upon checking in , guests keys are obtained in the Smallest Bar, located at the front of the property.
At aprox 2a.m. you again arrived at the bar demanding that you be let into your room ROOM. because you had separated (another story) from your group. You Then went to every room in the facility and began banging on other guests doors. Following that you returned to the bar and were extremely disrespectful to the bartender on duty and other patrons in the bar. You were then asked to leave the bar.
The following morning the groom and best man contacted the manager "Josh" and asked that he have you check out of the facility because of the disturbance and that you had altercations with them in the room and that you had broken and destroyed some hotel in the room
At aprox 10:30a.m. the manager "josh " arrived to your room and explained to you that due to the circumstances that had occurred you would need to check out of the facility. Two hours later the manager was again called and informed that you had not checked out. When the manager returned to your room you threatened him and at that point he told you that you should leave the premises immediately or the police would become involved. At this point he left your room, you departed from the facility. The other guests in your party stayed and enjoyed themselves as they had in many previous occasions.

We understand your embarrassment and unhappiness however, in all fairness we find this indent unfortunate for not only yourself but for the manager, bartender and guests. We also find your synopsis of your stay, the rooms and staff and our operating procedures inaccurate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    25
    9
    5
    23
See reviews for
12
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Placid, Florida, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We had a great time here. We had a group of 6 people, and staying here was the best value. For the price per person we could have only stayed on the other side of the island. The management were friendly and personable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

My husband and I were celebrating our recent retirement and booked this inn because of its proximity to Key West activities. We were VERY rudely "greeted" by the manager who yelled at us from behind closed doors (and never apologized!) at the Smallest Bar next door...that's the place you go to "check in." Very odd arrangement and very confusing. The room not only lacked the barest of essentials (such as no kleenex, only 1 bar of soap, and 2 little hangers) but also the air conditioner did not work and was stuffed with rags, plus the mattress on the bed was almost non-existent. The nice older gentlemen who worked there did try to make amends for the poor behavior of the manager. This COULD be a wonderful, quaint place to stay...under a new manager!

Room Tip: Find another place to stay even though it may cost you more
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandal, norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in february and we had a very pleasant stay. A really charming place in the middle of the old town. It reminds me about French Quarter in New Orleans.

Harald Rydberg Eriksen

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary in September since it was also recommended to us by the father who had stayed there. We were so thrilled with the fabulous location and how spacious our room was! The mini kitchen was great for making cocktails in the room as well. We loved it so much that we booked right then for a guys weekend for my husbands birthday. They crew just got back from a wonderful trip and everyone of the guys said they LOVED it! The room was even bigger than the one we had stayed in. I think Old Custom House will have some new business soon. Key West is our favorite place to just be laid back and worry free. This place made it even easier for us to do that. Thanks for taking good care of us.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary because it was recommended to me by the father who had just stayed there. We were so incredibly happy with the superior location and our room was super spacious. The room is very clean and we even made a new "cat friend". My husband loved it so much that he booked right then for his birthday weekend which he just came back from. This room was even bigger and nicer. He traveled with all the guys for this one and they loved it too. I think they will be getting some new customers coming back!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

I have vacationed in Key West every 3 months for the past 10 years, this wasn't my first time staying at Old Customs House Inn it is the only place I stay....It is awesome. Best spot of the Keys, especially if you enjoy shopping, site seeing and the night life! My suite was extreamly nice and cozy, hard wood floors, two comfy double beds with an extra pull-out mattress to sleep six comfortably even though I only need one bed. Very spacious and very clean. There is a bar called World's Smallest Bar and it is awesome, I can get trashed and crawl to my room if I wanted to. No need for a taxi everything you need is within walking distance, it is in the heart of Key West!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Customs House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Customs House Inn

Address: 124 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Customs House Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Old Customs House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Customs House Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Customs House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.