We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Lovely Nights at the Andrews Inn in Key West” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andrews Inn and Garden Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Andrews Inn and Garden Cottages to your Saves list
Andrews Inn and Garden Cottages
Zero Whalton Lane or, 223 Eanes Lane, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Direct for Best Rate
Ranked #12 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Five Lovely Nights at the Andrews Inn in Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a stay at the Andrews Inn in Key West. This is a simply gorgeous oasis of tropical vegetation and calm a half block off of the buzz of Duval Street. The rooms are charming, cozy, clean, quiet, small but sufficient, and comfortable. The room had personality and style. The garden and pool were the real treat. To start the morning with a breakfast at the pool and to have an afternoon happy hour in the same spot .... simply lovely and a way to meet the handful of other guests. George and Tom were welcoming hosts and I felt like we were entirely well cared for. This is our fourth trip to Key West; Andrews Inn will see us again. - Ron and Sue from Chapel Hill, NC

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    56
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
15
232
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the treetop apartment, this is located a little bit away from the inn, at first this upset me but it turned out to be a great room. Much more secluded than the inn, and "NO ROOSTERS"!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Jersey Shore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

This is a delayed review but wanted to make sure this wonderful B&B gets its due. Stayed several times and always without a smidge of a problem. Great location, great hosts, spotless rooms and just an overall good vibe.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rascalkw, Manager at Andrews Inn and Garden Cottages, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Andrew’s Inn. We appreciate the kind words, and consider ourselves very lucky to have such wonderful guests. We pride ourselves in providing clean and comfortable accommodations to our guests, and feel our gusts deserve nothing less than a warm and friendly atmosphere. Again, thank you for taking the time from your busy schedule to review the Andrew’s Inn; it is very much appreciated.
Sincerely,
Tom, Nancy, and Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Eyebrow Suite. A short walk from the garden inn. We loved it. The suite is nearly the entire first floor of the house. Private back patio with hot tub. Kitchen, dining room, living room. Your own front porch. Loved it and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Just spent five days at the Andrews Inn in Key West. What a nice place to stay!! Very private and comfortable. Nice breakfasts were available every morning by the pool and happy hour from 4-5:30 was a nice way to meet other guests. Situated close to Duval St. it was a good place to explore Key West. A return visit is a sure thing for us.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We loved our stay at the inn. I guess the third time is the charm with us finding this gem on our third visit to Key West. Previous trips we stayed in other B&B type hotels a few blocks away on Truman, but now for us there is no other place in this price range that can compare to Andrews Inn. We stayed in the Paris room and loved it. Although not a big room it was fine for our needs. The room and bathroom were tastefully appointed. The bathtub with shower had shower gel and shampoo dispensers on the wall but also included bars of soap and small packages of shampoo.

The breakfast was a continental style with a couple of cereals, hard boiled eggs, pastries, bread, English muffins, fruit, and even some sparkling wine to add to your orange juice if you want! Another nice touch is having place settings that are metal cutlery and FiestaWare style plates with cloth napkins as opposed to Styrofoam plates and plastic cutlery we encountered at the other locations we used on previous trips. Another amazing amenity is the free happy hour from 4-5 PM – make your own mixed drinks or have some wine or beer.

And Jorge is always helpful with great tips for dining out. They also have bicycles for rent (a great way to get around the island and burn off calories at the same time!). Free WiFi is also available throughout the property.

This place is an oasis tucked away just steps from Duval Street. You will love your stay here and we can’t wait to visit Andrews Inn again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

If you drive to the Andrews Inn, be prepared to keey your eyes peeled for the entrance, otherwise, you will pass it by. The entrance is a gravel allyway on Duval between a sandal shop and a smoothie stand. The main lot only has three spots. I was told there is another parking area, but I didn't venture to find it. You enter the property through a garden gate and find yourself in what looks like the backyard. There is a pool, a outside dining area (where breakfast is served), a few lounge chairs and 3 small shacks. The shacks are actually the kitchen, a concierge desk and a storage shed with a bathroom. Speaking of the concierge, the one we met, George, was very helpful and outgoing. He had plenty of suggestions on activities and would try to get us access to the various functions around the island. Take advantage of his knowledge. There are also three cats who basically own the place. They are friendly and like to stare at you while you eat breakfast. We stayed in the Pamplona which is up a flight of stairs. The Paris is next door while the other rooms are on the ground level. The room initially felt a bit small, but not cramped at all. The bathroom is large and has all the standard amenities. there are ceiling fans in the main room as well as the bathroom. There is a balcony with a table and two chairs that overlooks the Hemingway back yard. Not terribly private, but we didn't care. The room was clean and nicely furnished. The air conditioner was almost completely silent but did a great job of keeping the room cool.
Breakfast was set up on a table next to the kitchen and was available until 10:30. There were hard boiled eggs, cereal, breads along with a toaster, danish, juice and a bottle of champagne if you should feel like having a mimosa. Nice touch.
The location is great. Duval is seperated into two areas. To the south it's more gallery oriented with some more upscale restaurants. To the north are more bars and shops. The Inn is right at the divide. The southernmost point is a five minute walk if you turn right out of the driveway, while Sloppy Joes is ten minutes if you turn left. Mallory Square is 15 to 20 minutes depending on how fast you walk. All things considered, I'd stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andrews Inn and Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrews Inn and Garden Cottages

Address: Zero Whalton Lane or, 223 Eanes Lane, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located behind the Hemingway Estate and down a small lane off of Duval Street, Andrews Inn offers 10 rooms, suites and cottages. Enjoy our champagne continental breakfast and daily happy hour by the pool. The courtyard is lushly landscaped with palms, jasmine, and hibiscus. Suites and cottages include kitchens, private decks with jacuzzis, and are welcome to pets and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Andrews Inn and Garden Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrews Inn And Garden Cottages Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andrews Inn and Garden Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.