We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful private island escape!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West to your Saves list
Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   245 Front St, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Key West
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful private island escape!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

We were so happy staying here as we originally were planning on staying at the Westin on the mainland. Just a 5 min ferry ride to the island and it is so private and upscale. We had a 2 bedroom cottage directly on the beach. The views were fabulous! It is pricey but was well worth it! We would have lots of fun in Key West but was always so happy to end our day back at our adorable cottage. Will definitely want to stay here again on my next trip to Key West!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKW, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    91
    40
    18
    17
See reviews for
160
139
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

AMAZING. My Husband and I stayed here from July 26th-29th. Everyone on this resort was so nice and friendly. I definetly loved Jada, she was hilarious and made us feel like we known her for years. I can't wait to come back here with My Husband and Kids. This place is great for a couple getaway, family vacation, girls getaway. The view here is also amazing, especially watching the sunset. It's pretty sweet how you can take the boat over to get to keywest. Duval street was a good time. I can't wait to come back next year. Oh, The cottages were to die for. Clean, relaxing, and feels like home. Thanks for the stay. This was definetly a trip to remember. This place is awesome for rekindling the flames!! lol

Room Tip: Every Cottage was amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKW, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed here for our 7 year anniversary July 6th -July 10th, we brought our 16 year old son & our 16 year old niece. I had booked the 1 bedroom cottage and had planned on the kids just sleeping on the full size fold out sofa bed.....but to our wonderful surprise they had automatically
Upgraded us to a two bedroom , three bath cottage with pool view!! When you arrive in key west you check in at the westin on the main island, you bags are loaded onto a luggage cart , covered & wrapped with shrink wrap & brought out to the dock for your boat ride over to the private island of Sunset Key! The private boat for Sunset Key is large with an interior air conditioned cabin as well as an exterior seating area,, the boat captains are extremely polite & very helpful with any questions or information you may need. Once you arrive on the island you realize why this resort is a little pricey. You feel like you have arrived in a beautiful lush Caribbean island, the grounds are immaculate, all the streets are cobble stone & you will be hard pressed to find a single imperfection in the structures or landscape. The beach is absolutely amazing & the staff are always there to cater to anything you may need or want. They have fishing polls to use if you want to try fishing off the dock, you are allowed to bring your own alcohol out onto the beach but no glass is allowed. We actually brought a small insulated cooler out to the beach with us & we asked the beach staff if we could get it filled with ice & he did so with a smile ....no problem, of course we tipped him very we'll because he has the most positive polite attitude. Each morning the staff leaves a fresh basket of muffins, sweet breads, bananas, apples & orange juice around 830am. It was such a wonderful surprise each morning & it was just what we needed to get our long days started. To sum up our stay I would say that I cannot imagine a more perfect place to stay while visiting Key West.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKW, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We rented a one-bedroom cottage, and it was great. Had two full bathrooms, and we loved the porch. We could sit out there and drink beers and watch the boats go by (we were upgraded to a "partial ocean view") The staff were all very helpful and nice. The spa was AMAZING! I got a massage and loved it so much I went back again. You have your own full bath with shower off of your treatment room, and a private patio where you can sit. We were disappointed in Latitudes. The windows overlooking the sunset were streaky and smudged. The steaks didn't really have much flavor. Overall, not nearly what we were expecting based on reviews we read here. Service was okay, but nothing to write home about.

When in town, definitely try The Porch for a laid back bar serving craft beers. We also liked Charlie Mac's. They have wonderful food and the atmosphere is laid back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKW, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the great review of our resort! All reviews are passed along to the staff for training and improvement purposes. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We travel a lot with our two teenage kids and this was a perfect property. The two bedroom cottage gave plenty of space and privacy and kept the family together. The exclusive island feel is excellent and quiet. You can enjoy the nightlife and of Duval St. and then escape to this island paradise for a quiet relaxing night. The pool is nothing special but is clean, the beach is beautiful but rocky and hard on your feet... but we felt relaxed and treated well by all of the staff. The restaurant is great and the bar is wonderful as well. Sunsets do not get much better... Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Try to avoid any cottage that backs up to the pool or has a pool view. Ocean front or one back from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Sunset Key the week of July 13th. This was our second stay at this resort and like the last we really enjoyed it.
The restaurant onsite Latitudes has excellent service and food. The only hiccup with our stay was the first evening when there was a blackout.
When we got back to the Island after dinner on Duval we were unable to get into our room as there was no electricity. After sitting in the lobby for
over an hour I asked for some ice water which I was told they did not have. There were not enough seats in the lobby so we asked if we could
sit in the bar but was told we could not since it was closed. The night manager eventually showed at 12:30 am with keys and got us into our rooms.
Along with no AC our room was in the 90s and the fact that they were working on a cable just outside our bedroom door made it very difficult to sleep.
I always carry a flashlight with me when I travel and thankfully I do, since we were all told the resort did not have any to lend us. The Resort needs to
have some sort on contingency plan when something like this happens. Also there was no mention of any sort of compensation for the
inconvenience. Overall we had a good stay at Sunset Key.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKW, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We went with three others couples for a three night trip. We all enjoyed Key West in general but fell in LOVE with the island! From the 2 bedroom cottages to the private beach and pool everything was perfect! Latitudes is one of the most romantic restaurants we have ever eaten in! The muffin baskets were just icing on the cake!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKW, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards,


Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.5 mi away
Southernmost on the Beach
2.5 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.8 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#30 of 45 in Key West
4.0 of 5 stars 1,860 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pier House Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West

Address: 245 Front St, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#7 Spa Hotel in Key West
#11 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, is a secluded tropical island sanctuary located just 500 yards off the coast of Key West, featuring private cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Key Guest Cottages, a Westin Hotel Key West
Westin Key West
Key West Westin
Sunset Key Cottages Guest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.