We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort to your Saves list
Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   245 Front St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Midwest City, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Perfect Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

A few years ago my wife and I came to Key West for our first trip and really enjoyed the environment. We have been back to Key West 5 or 6 six times and have stayed at the Sunset Key Cottages several times. Sunset Key is one of our favorite hotels in the US. The cottages are excellent. You can relax on the porch eating your complimentary breakfast breads and listen to the Gulf or relax inside with all the amenities (and more) of home.The cottages are well decorated and the beds are extremely comfortable. Even the "garden view" cottages are a 1-2 minute walk to your private beach. Latitudes is a five-star restaurant on the island with unbelievable food. MY wife has to go to the spa every trip.The Room service food is also outstanding. Key West is a great place but can get a little chaotic. Sunset Key is the perfect place to stay because it allows you to get away from the chaos and enjoy complete peace and relaxation. We are going back to Sunset in two weeks and can't wait!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    77
    31
    13
    16
See reviews for
126
122
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

A beautiful property. This is an ideal place for someone who wants privacy and a beach, which are often hard to come by on the main island of key west. The property itself is that of a 4-5 star resort, however the service is lacking in every facet. Gardeners do not smile when you walk by. On multiple occasions our towel was taken off our beach chair when we got off for only a few moments, followed by a scow when we asked to leave it. The bathrooms in our room were not as clean as one would like. The beach does not appear to ever be cleaned, multiple cigarette buts and straws on the ground. There was no assistance taking our bags from the cottage to the transfer boat when we left, which is annoying when your wife is also pregnant. I would return if I wanted some peace and quiet for a day in key west and would not pay more than 250 night, otherwise I would spend my cash at another island oasis.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. All reviews are passed along to staff for training and improvement purposes.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cransston, RI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

After reading such wonderful reviews we wanted to see this beautiful place and enjoy a late afternoon drink and appetizer at the bar. We were informed at booking, by two different staff, that we couldn't walk on the beach. Boarding the shuttle we were told again and questioned if we knew we should plan to have dinner. All we wanted was to have a relaxing experience and see Sunset Key. Instead we were treated like children. Upon arrival we asked a staff member if we could walk the path around Latitudes and were told "we prefer you did not." That's OK - people are paying big money for privacy, then they deserve it. Walking into the bar, we were stared at, from head to toe, by some female guests. We saw the beautiful eating area being set up for dinner, then walked back into the bar. The reaction and stares, one actual snicker, from these female guests made us feel VERY uncomfortable and unwelcome. There was no way having a drink here would have been a pleasant experience so we boarded the shuttle for the short ride back. The entire trip to this "unique oasis" was less than 15 minutes. So unless you're extremely wealthy and fit the mold, don't bother making the trip. Stay in Key West, use your 2 for 1 coupons, mingle and laugh with "regular common folk" - guaranteed you'll leave Duval St. smiling!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Sunset Key is a private 27 acre island that consists of a residential community and 40 guest cottages with a spa, fitness center, Latitudes restaurant and a private beach. To protect the privacy of our homeowners and guests, we require reservations at either the spa, Latitudes or purchased beach passes for the day in order to go to the island if you are not staying on Sunset Key. The beach passes are offered through the concierge for $40.00 per person and are limited. We do this to protect the privacy of the homeowners and maintain the quality of our guests experience. Thanks again for your review.


Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

It is very entertaining to dive into the touristy, loud and colorful Key West party scene, but after a while, the pressing crowds, heat and commotion overwhelm and it is time to escape. If only there were a private island nearby where serenity and relaxation await. Sunset Key Guest Cottages provides this wonderful opportunity. Within sight of and only five minutes from the cruise ship docks at the edge of Durant Street, tiny Tank Island is split between the Westin’s collection of sunset-facing beach cottages and a dozen private vacation homes.

On the property are tennis courts, a five-star restaurant, spa, community pool and snack bar and small private beach with lounge chairs and palm-fringed palapas. Although the beach water was bathtub warm and wasn't suited to snorkeling or a refreshing dip, it was pleasant to read a book under the shady thatch and watch the passing catamarans as they ferried day-trippers out to the reefs or floating activity centers far offshore.

This is a very quiet place where the busiest people are the morning runners delivering your daily muffin basket or the motor launch crew shipping guests to and from town, as well as a few envious landlubbers who come for lunch or dinner on the sandy-floored, palm-filled restaurant terrace for unobstructed views of those dramatic seaside sunsets.

You can splurge on a room on the beach or opt for a less-expensive cottage in the middle of the complex, as we did; it was only a two-minute stroll to the beach, spa or restaurant. The one and two-story, clapboard sided cottages are painted in light pastels and feature deep verandas. The landscaping is lush and offers privacy between the closely spaced units. Inside our two-bedroom unit was a banquette dining table, open living room and kitchenette with microwave, refrigerator and cooktop, plus dishes, flatware and some modest cooking equipment. High ceilings, tall windows and tile floors make the rooms feel spacious and user-friendly after a day at the beach.

Although the resort was fully occupied, we were surprised at how subdued the grounds were. Even the central pool, with a few boisterous children present, seemed fairly peaceful. Dinner at Latitudes was always well attended, by guests and visitors, and service was nicely paced and friendly, allowing us to enjoy both our food and the water views.

We highly recommend Sunset Key as a place to unwind after a day of sightseeing and as a convenient hideaway at Key West’s back door.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review! It is always wonderful to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

What can I say about the Westin and the Spa at Sunset Key. As always; a perfect experience.
because of my job i am on the road 90% of the time and i always try to book a stay at this Westin.

It is an absolutely beautiful location, walking distance from everything in Key West, and the service is impeccable. From the time I arrive I always feel like royalty, Wanda the front desk receptionist greeted me and offered me an umbrella (It was raining cats and Dogs that day) and made sure that i was taken care of the entire time.

To unwind i always visit the Spa at Sunset Key. The spa is located a short 5 minute boat ride just off of the Westin dock and just like every experience at this place it is magical. It is a very nice contrast to Key West and gives you a great chance to unwind. Tracy at the front desk managed to fit me in and as usual the staff is not only amazing and extremely knowledgeable but they go the extra mile to make sure that my visit is always top notch.

Its the little details that make a place feel like home. I mentioned that i had not eaten that day and they already had a menu ready for me. Not only did they make some great recommendations; the food on Sunset Key is delicious, but they had it ready for me when i was done with my visit.

Beautiful, charming, definitely the Jewel of Key West. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review! We are delighted to hear about your wonderful experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This resort is definitely different from the other properties in the area. For one, it is on it's own island so that automatically makes a a special retreat. The boat rides getting on and off the idea are every half hour and make it easy to go into town. The cottages are very nice and definitely give off the Key West vibe. We had a 2 bedroom cottage right across the restaurant, which made it very easy at breakfast time and for getting on the boat.

We visited the restaurant, Latitudes, for breakfast and Dinner. It was so peaceful being outside enjoying the view. We had the omelette, eggs benedict , pancakes, and French toast during our stay. All very good? For dinner we had the chicken dish, lobster bisque, and the snapper dish. In retrospect I wish we would have ordered the scallops. The bisque was great. Overall, Not a memorable dinner, food wise, but still a good atmosphere.

The service we encountered was very good and the feel of the resort is amazing. Makes you just want to sit around and do nothing. Nothing! Just enjoy the view!

Definitely a unique experience and the resort is truly one of a kind.

Room Tip: 701 is a nice 2 bedroom cottage across the restaurant, very close to the boat dock, and with an ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay on the island. All reviews are passed along to staff for training and improvement purposes. Thanks again and we look forward to your return visit!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very restful community environment

We stayed in a two bedroom unit with an ocean view. The beds were comfortable; the kitchen had all of the items we would need if we purchased groceries. We chose to eat out every night.

It was indeed nice not to have a maid knocking on the door at eight AM yelling “room service”. It never happened once and yet the rooms were always taken care of.

The pool was perfect and the bar food especially the crab cakes were top notch.

The boat launch to Key West was not an obstacle at all as it runs every half hour.

Room Tip: We reserved an ocean cottage and were told by reservation, “you can walk out our front door and on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest:

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay on the island and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort

Address: 245 Front St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#7 Spa Hotel in Key West
#9 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Key Guest Cottages is a secluded tropical island sanctuary located just 500 yards off the coast of Key West Old Town historic seaport district featuring private cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Key Guest Cottages, a Westin Hotel Key West
Westin Key West
Key West Westin
Sunset Key Cottages Guest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.