We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, private escape from Key West” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort to your Saves list
Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   245 Front St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Monday Exclusive
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Key West
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quiet, private escape from Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

If you're willing to go first class and spend the money for your quiet, private tropical island escape from noisy party-town Key West, this is the place for you! Making our way down for the weekend from Key Largo to Key West, with stops along the way, we were only spending one night in Key West and decided to go for the best. We were very happy with our choice. It was very expensive but we loved our stay there. PROS: private island, only guests, homeowners, and diners allowed. Ferry service from the island every half hour and quarter hour coming back. Very quiet (we wanted to whisper when outside!), private, breezy, nice views, beautiful grounds. The cottages were nicely appointed, the king beds heavenly, and the porches had nice seating to enjoy the breezes and a drink. Don't sit inside and watch TV, get your money's worth and enjoy the amenities, the island, the sunsets, etc. They had a private sand beach, with a raft in the water, chaise lounges, umbrellas, and towels. The zero entry pool was very large and they had a poolside bar. There were waterfront hammocks throughout the resort - a nice touch. The open-air bar and restaurant was nice, as was the concierge service. The refrigerator in the cottage was well-stocked and the prices were reasonable. They provided one bottle of water per guest upon arrival and dropped off orange juice, muffins and breads in the morning on your porch. The entire island had nice paths for walking or running - be sure to check out the island homes and nice views.
CONS: Expensive! The cottage was starting to show some minor wear and tear - nothing major -but for the price, they should look brand new every day. Bring some snacks and drinks to the island with you! There is no food or drinks to buy in the gift shop, only the items in your refrigerator, at a charge. At the beach, walking into the water just near the shore was difficult with the small coral rocks (explained in fine print in the brochure --back in your cottage!), so bring water shoes or walk in with flip flops like we did and then toss them back to shore. The bottom of the pool was dirty in some spots - again, for the money - it should be spotless. The pool bar closed around 4-4:30, quite early. We didn't see any bar service on the beach. The resort noted that it was not suited for small children and we didn't expect to see any but there were quite a few children and a couple babies there, and they made a lot of noise in the pool area. It is so quiet there, I would not recommend a cottage around the pool.
So overall, if you want to splurge on a quiet, first class paradise, this is the way to go. If you're looking for a loud party atmosphere, stay in town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay on the island. All reviews are passed along to staff for training and improvement purposes. We do offer grocery service at the resort. Prior to arrival, guests are given a grocery list and your cottage can be pre-stocked prior to your arrival. We also offer food and beverage service on the beach from Latitudes Restaurant throughout the day and Sunset Key is a family friendly resort. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    77
    30
    13
    15
See reviews for
126
119
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Upgraded first night when they were overbooked for suites at hotel. Was great! Only issue was waiting for ferry at end of night when you are tired and just want to go bed.....was a great place, Westin owns 1/3 of island, private owners have the balance. Again, absolutey fantastic, especially for a family or older people who want to avoid to hustle of Key West. Sunset Key is wonderful! Would recommend to anyone!!

Room Tip: Any cottage is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the positive review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I recently went Lattitudes for my 40th Birthday dinner. Everything was amazing, the food, the service, the view... I even loved the fact we had to take a boat ride to get to the island. This place is first class. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Just a short boat ride off the end of Key West to forget it all.

Relaxation is what it's all about. The zero entry pool and pool bar are great for just hanging out.

The restaurant Latitudes is first class. Food exquisite though pricey. Ride over to KW for some play time then return for some sanity.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return visit!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We came here for our 20th anniversary (without the kids) and I think we could not have made a better choice. It's easy to recommend this place. If possible, choose a cabin by the beach. If you like an island charm, but yet don't want to be far away form the fun and hype of the Key West night life, this is your choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the positive review. It's always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Very pretty and luxurious but bad customer service. Worth the price with a beautiful beach and free calapas. Great room service food. The workers cause many problems and are careless- wiping sweat all over your personal belongings and soiling them. Also, many staff are extremely creepy.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for reviewing our resort. All reviews are passed along to staff for training and improvement purposes.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had originally booked a 2 bedroom suite at the Westin Resort, right on the Marina. Upon check in, we spoke with "Bryan" at the Front Desk. Picking up on his lovely Irish accent, I commented that I knew he wasn't from around here. As we struck up a wonderful conversation, he asked if we had been in Key West before. I explained we visited the island last year but had a horrible experience at the Casa Marina but were looking forward to staying at their hotel. We conversed some more, he stepped away and returned with a backpack for our son. How sweet! We were admiring the Sunset Key poster in the lobby when Bryan returned and flagged me over, he said "how would you like to stay there, same price?". I was shocked, it took a while to sink in but we were upgraded to SunSet Key in a great 2 bedroom cottage for the same price as the 2 bedroom suite in the hotel (of course we checked, prices were not the same between the two). I told Byran things like this NEVER happen to us. We couldn't have Thanked him enough. Later that evening, after a walk around the island, we returned to our cottage to find a bottle of Champage and a plate of chocolate covered strawberries, with a note that read "Good things happen to good people". I made it a point to head back to the front desk the next day and express our appreciation to Bryan in person. Service was fabulous, you get waters and orange juices delivered each evening and a wonderful basket of fresh fruit, muffins and breads each morning! Housekeeping rocked, rooms were super clean. We ended up staying 2 extra days, we just didnt want to leave! The beach is great, private, quiet with drink/food service and it was super. Concierge supplies you with fishing gear and bait if you want to fish off the docks, no charge. Walking around the island is awesome, no cars, all the streets are in pavers and the private homes beautiful. Lattitudes, the only 5 star restaurant on the island was super. I simply cannot say enough great things about this place, our experience, everything. Money WELL spent! Bryan is a super-star, we've told everyone we know about what an awesome experience this was. I'll return again and again.....and again!!!!

Room Tip: The cottages are great size, the bedrooms are huge with their own private bathrooms. you wont be dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the positive review! It is always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort

Address: 245 Front St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#5 Spa Hotel in Key West
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#7 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Key Guest Cottages is a secluded tropical island sanctuary located just 500 yards off the coast of Key West Old Town historic seaport district featuring private cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Key Guest Cottages, a Westin Hotel Key West
Westin Key West
Key West Westin
Sunset Key Cottages Guest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.