We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West to your Saves list
Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   245 Front St, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hatch, New Mexico, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

After searching for a perfect place to vacation with family, I found Westin's Sunset Key Cottages. A short boat ride from Key West is a slice of heaven on earth. A private island with cottages to suit every size group. Being 7 in our family to make the trip, a 3 bedroom cottage was perfect! The young grandsons were happy on the queen sofa, close to the kitchen and tv! A very comfy sofa, at that. King beds in 2 rooms, 2 queen beds in the third rounded out the sleeping arrangements. Bathrooms in each bedroom allowed for plenty of room to clean-up. Every room had an outside door with key access-wonderful for everyone to come & go as they pleased. Our house was right by the pool, garden view. It was quiet, beautiful, private. Sitting porches at every room were amazing for enjoying the outside. I had coffee & the most amazing sweet bread every morning on the patio. A basket of bread & fruit is delivered to the cottage each morning. The fridge is stocked with water & orange juice each day. We had planned to cook, but never turned the stove on! The grill poolside and Latitudes Restaurant were both amazing . 24hour room service also made meals easy to get. I cannot say enough about the staff! EVERYONE on the island was so nice. They all assured our stay was Perfect! The private beach was the spot to watch the awesome sunset each evening. Never missed it during our 5 day stay! PERFECT vacation!

Room Tip: Not a bad cottage on the island that I could see! We loved our cottage by the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your vacation on Sunset Key and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    85
    37
    17
    17
See reviews for
144
134
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We just spent Father's Day weekend at beautiful Sunset Key just off Key West. We have been going there frequently since it opened as we live in Boca Raton, Florida, just beautiful 4-hour drive from Key West.

We used to take the trip with another couple and enjoy the spa, 4-star restaurant and all the luxury features of the resort. You can take the launch out to the island and never return or have some fun in Key West. No problems with driving as the launch will get you back and forth to the island at all hours.

This used to be a very romantic get-away. If that's what's on your agenda, Little Palm Island, 30 miles east of Key west is the best spot in Florida. However, if you want to take the family as I did, or grab a group of friends, this place is fantastic. Each room is a bungalow with 2 rooms to a 4-bedroom home with pool. The restaurant is really 4-star. The pool is a blast. Just bring your water shoes, as the lower keys are not known for white sand beaches, although tis is one of the best.

We will be back again and again especially with the newly-built restaurant, bar and spa. This place is CLASS!

Room Tip: Don't go crazy on paying for the view. They are all good. I've NEVER gotten an upgrade with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay on Sunset Key and time in Key West. While Sunset Key is family friendly, we were also voted one of the top 22 most romantic Florida resorts in Florida Travel and Life, listed as one of the top 10 most romantic wedding destinations and also listed as one of Samantha Brown's most romantic places to visit. We appreciate your good review and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Beautiful place, quiet to relax and if you want noise and party, just minutes away. The cottages are beautiful, like being at your house on the beach, confortable and if you see what you get, it is not expensive.
Nice restaurant on the island, and decent bars, they close earlie though, since is just for the people staying at the hotel and if there are no customers they will close as demand.

But we will be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the good review! We look forward to your return visit!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We just arrived today at Sunset Key. The bellhop was nice but the woman who checked us in at the Westin Resort desk, while perfectly efficient, said she could not help with room upgrade questions as she only can check people in. Really? I can't imagine why if you have to register in one place why thy can't answer all room related questions.

Easy to find launch, captain was nice but there was no general announcement or courtesy discussion as to whether his was our first visit, etc. lovely boat ride over and they took care of our luggage quickly. The woman who met us (French or German? accent) started rattling off sites, locations and other logistics of staying there but really was rather cold. She didn't even show us around inside the cottage, which I usually find an annoying ritual, but it would at least have given us a basis upon which to it her. The beach was lovely and the water warm. I don't recall receiving a warning or reminder from the hotel to bring water shoes for the very rocky sand into the water. We got to the beach btwn 5-6pm, still prime time cocktail hour, and there were no signs reminding us that beverage service ends at 5pm. What a waste. I wanted to start vacation with a drink and the kids wanted snacks and we definitely would have spent money if we could. Same issue at the pool area with no sign at the empty bar to indicate hours or where or how one might procure a drink. (And I witnessed several people wander over ruinously looking for a bartender). I finally found an attendant and when I asked him if the bar was open he simply said, "no." I would have expected that a little corporate training would ave encouraged him to add "but the bar at Latitudes covers beverages after 6pm and you are welcome to bring your drink back here in a cup." I finally sent my kids to investigate to learn bout the other bar. At that bar he waitress was perfectly responsive and smiled, but not that effusively friendly and seemed more interested in the local guy at the bar. We just didn't feel that welcome.

Dinner was in a lovely sunset setting, more casual in attire than I had expected. Waitstaff friendly. Food was ok but nothing o write home about or anything close to the kind of food you can get in NYC. Reminded me that we are still at a corporate chain. On the way back to our room we stopped by the incinerate desk where the same young European woman who brought us to our room was sitting studying one bills. We had to say excuse me to get her attention. She didn't seem to recognize us or be overly friendly. Really, there aren't many guests on the island. When I inquired as to whether there were any beach bags or totes guests could use to bring boos, sunglasses, etc to the beach, she said no, they don't prove them. First of all, they should. Second, she could have been a little more gracious and introduced us to the boutique matron right net to her. With any bit of encouragement or sorry ness and effort to find an alternative solution, I again would have dropped money at the resort, even to purchase an overpriced beach tote. There seems to be a corporate hole in customer service that could e easily remedied. I'm not sure what they are selling here other than the escapist island itself. Cottages are perfectly nice and grounds are clean and manicured. I will, however, readjust my service expectations for the remainder of the trip.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

When on vacation and playing tourist, it's always nice to have recommendations of dining, entertainment, etc. from some of the locals. Two of the staff in particular, went above and beyond to make our stay perfect! Lou and Mandy both bartend at Flippers, the poolside bar, and in Latitudes, the main restaurant bar. They are the type of employees that all hotel chains should seek, as they will be responsible for my wanting to return to Sunset Key for another visit in the near future. These two made our stay thoroughly enjoyable! The were more helpful than the concierges, as sometimes I felt slightly patronized by those manning the front desk. (Had to seek help in arranging parasailing, fixing a broken ac unit, and fixing our hotel bill when checking out- and always felt rushed, or like they were in too much of a hurry to want to take any time to answer questions or help. Interestingly enough, when I asked about speaking to a manager to discuss how wonderful Lou and Mandy are, I was told to instead write a trip advisor review. Note to Westin management; be careful of what you ask a guest to do.... it could backfire). Lou and Mandy were friendly, accommodating to all of our group of 6, courteous, and never failed to greet us with anything but a smile and a way to make us laugh. They both went out of their way to learn and remember our names, assist the kids with anything they asked for without a moment of hesitation, and had the instinct to appear exactly when you needed them without ever being intrusive. They were charming, and engaging, and my kids haven't stopped talking about how wonderful they are since we've been home! I have been on many vacations to many different tropical locations and resorts, and have yet to ever receive this type of exemplary service from staff. I will definitely return to the Westin on Sunset Key in the very near future because of the level of service and kindness these 2 provided, and wouldn't even hesitate to visit a different resort if either one of them changed jobs. Make sure to stop by either of the bars and visit them, and be prepared to be charmed, pampered, receive great tourist information, and thoroughly enjoy their bartending skills! The Westin is LUCKY to have these two, and anyone who visits whether for sunset cocktails, or a tropical drink by the pool will be dazzled by them as well.

Room Tip: ask for a cottage close to the pool if traveling with kids.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for this wonderful review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay on Sunset Key and the service you received from Lou and Mandy. We will make sure to pass this great review along to them in acknowledgement of their efforts! Thanks again and we look forward to your return visit!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleair Beach
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The cottages provided an ideal setting for a romantic getaway while having all of the lively activities of Key West a short water taxi away All of what you expect in a 5 star resort with a fabulous restaurant on the beach to watch sunset.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this positive review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Sunset Key by Westin, a beautiful island just off Mallory Square in Key West and accessible by boat service only, which runs each way every half hour. Half of the island is elegant residences and the other half is a First Class, upscale resort with cottages from 1 bedroom up to multiples. Having visited several times in the past, We made reservations for 2 couples to share a 2 bedroom, 3 bath beach front cottage. Making the reservation could not have been nicer for Shannon Lutz, in the reservation department, went out of her way to insure that we had the beach front cottage that we wanted during the dates that we wanted, even through i actually made the reservations through the American Express Platinum Travel Service. Why ?? Check it out, but part of the list of benefits, at the same cost were,; Early Checkin, Late Checkout, Room Upgrade (we already were beach front) $80 per day in breakfast coupons for 5 days, free internet, $100 credit, at the spa or upon checkout, plus we had Wine & Cheese in our cottage. With a Sunset Key reservation, checking in could not be easier as you check in at the Westin hotel and then along with your luggage and personal items you are directed to the boat docks behind the Westin hotel. If you haven't been to Sunset Key, then you are missing one of our top favorite properties in the USA. Elegent, relaxing, superior, beautiful, expensive !!! Sure it is truly expensive, but one suggestion would be to book a non-ocean front cottage, which is still only steps to the ocean, which will save a lot on your per day cost, but it is certainly wonderful to sit on your covered porch, drink in hand and watch the beach and water right at your front door. The beach is well cared for, with excellent lounges, furnished towels, drink service, etc. One word of caution is that this is a man made island so while the sandy beach is great just as soon as you step into the water, there are small rocks everywhere, so you need to either clear a path each day or wear some beach shoes. Their zero-entrance pool is fantastic with similar lounges, towels and a great bar and lunch area. The pool goes to about 4 ft in depth and there are also two jacuzzis to enjoy. Another point is if you love to fish, I believe that you can fish on the boat dock, which harbors huge schools of snappers and 5 foot tarpon. Please check on the availability of fishing, as I have seen folks fishing but they could have been residents of the island.

Sunset Key's restaurant, Lattitudes, is a very upscale, excellent restaurant with either inside or outside dining. Sand, palm trees, torches and the ocean, just feet away, compliment your eating experience. What a fantastic place to enjoy all of your meals, from breakfast to dinner. While seated at your outside table for dinner, you will be front and center for the famous Key West sunsets. Besides the extreme beauty of Sunset Key, what really makes it so superior is the staff that works there and while everyone was just great from the boat crews that take you back and forth to Key West, to the satff that are constantly working on the grounds, I would be very remiss if I didn't take this opportunity to single out Wendy, a Latitude hostess, Dan a Latitude waiter and Lou, a bartender extronair, These 3 persons, just as ???? in reservation, were so outstanding and helped make our 5 nights at Sunset Key ones that we will cherish for many years. I know that Ms. Diana Schimitt, has been the general manager of both the Key West Westin hotel and Sunset Key by Westin for years and the above employees and the properties certainly attest to the goals of Ms Schmitt and her management team. In closing 2 weeks later we spent 5 nights at Belogio through American Express Platinum Services with similar benefits but far different management attitudes at our breakfast. Please see my review of Belogio. One night, while seated at the outside bar, a lady resident came over to the bar, with her dog and I had a great time calling family and friends, saying, that I had drank so many adult beverages that I thought a guy sitting at the bar was a dog (see picture) So If you decide to visit Sunset Key,

Room Tip: You can save a lot by booking a cottage off water, but still be just steps to the beautiful beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West

Address: 245 Front St, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#7 Spa Hotel in Key West
#9 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, is a secluded tropical island sanctuary located just 500 yards off the coast of Key West, featuring private cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Key Guest Cottages, a Westin Hotel Key West
Westin Key West
Key West Westin
Sunset Key Cottages Guest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.