We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the best or worst” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West to your Saves list
Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   245 Front St, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“not the best or worst”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights. I will preface by saying that if I return to Key West I would likely choose to stay here again because I enjoyed being away from the tourist action, but within reach so that we could go to dinner and do other activities. The boat back and forth was totally easy, and the boat captains were extremely friendly. We rented bikes and kept them locked up at the Westin Key Resort on the other side--this made getting around the whole of downtown/old town really easy and fun, particularly because the "Westin" end of Duval and Key West is a bit more loud and clubby. The end of town near the Southernmost resorts was much more our style.

What we liked about the resort:
Being away on a separate island.
Nice pool (you can't really swim laps here if that is important to you)
Beach with chairs and umbrellas (2 caveats: the beach is rocky so bring waterproof sandals if you mind that. Also the beach service only goes until 2 pm. This didn't bother us too much but seems like a loss for the hotel as we would have gladly continued ordering!)
Having your own separate cottage with little kitchen area.
Lattitudes bar for sunset is unbeatable

What we didn't love about the resort:
If you are looking for luxury--this hotel is not it--but I am not sure anywhere on Key West actually is. I have certainly stayed in nicer Westins. This resort is not at all on par with places like four seasons, ritz, etc...
Service was spotty--some staff lovely, others were not. Not consistent as in other $$$ resorts.
Amenities in cottage were sort of motel quality
Fitness room is adequate but is just that--a room--no spa amenitites like showers, sauna, steam, etc (PS Sunset Key--why not put some fruit in the fitness room?)
I think some of the cottages have been updated/renovated. Ours wasn't but it was beachy, clean, and comfortable--bed was very nice.
Our cottage ("Sea Oats") had an ocean view from the front (was not beachfront)--from the back though it had a view of the island trash bins, and we got to hear the dumptrucks every morning from around 8:30 to 10:00 am. May not bother you if you are not sensitive to noise and if you keep the back blinds closed so you don't have to view the trash.
I agree with the other reviewer who said that the resort is "noisy" in that you hear quite a bit of boat motors--this didn't bother me too much but you definitely hear this the entire time you are on the beach, although it is better later in the afternoon. I don't think there is a "quiet" beach resort in key west though so it may not be your choice of destination if that is your main priority.

Please feel free to PM me if you have more questions. All in all we had a great time on vacation!

Room Tip: My row of cottages (included Sea Oats and Bahia) had a view of the ocean from front but a view of tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review Sunset Key. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay on the island as well as your time in Key West. All of the reviews are passed along to the staff for training and improvement purposes. Sunset Key is designed to have a casual yet elegant island feel to it and is much different that a traditional Four Seasons, Ritz Hotel experience. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    85
    37
    17
    17
See reviews for
144
134
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
avalon, n.j.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I visited the resort with a group of girlfriends. We were celebrating a milestone birthday.
the 3 bedroom cottage was roomy and well appointed. The resort on the overall is a perfect place to get away from reality. Very peaceful with subtle luxury. Worth every penny.

Visit the spa and have a massage with Channel. She truly has a gift.

Room Tip: We had a cottage near the pool. It was in close proximity to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had booked our 5 night stay at the Sheraton, but after a rough night, we ended up transferring to Sunset Key. The gentleman at the reception desk was so helpful and soon we were on a boat over to Sunset Key. The boat runs very regularly, so you are never trapped on the island or stranded on Key West. The ride is an enjoyable 10 minutes of gorgeous views and fresh ocean air (or you can sit in the air-conditioned cabin).

We stayed in the most amazing little cottage (Sand Dollar), right on the beach. It was pretty big for just the two of us! Two full bathrooms, separate bedroom, living room, kitchen and patio with seating for 2. There were two entrances to the cottage: One in the back, which has a paved path that leads to the pool, reception and restaurant and one that opens onto the patio, which is right on the beach. There are lots of beach chairs and a dock to swim to.

Every morning, a basket of fresh baked goods and fruit is dropped off on every patio, before 9 AM and free of charge. Delicious muffins, banana bread...wonderful.

Such a great place to check in and chill out for a few days. We did go over to Duval Street a few times during our stay (which was chaos), but we found ourselves wanting to come back to the peacefulness of our little cottage.

I cannot stress how wonderful of a time we had here - we will return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thanks for the review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,
.
Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Myers
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

When I found out we were staying here I was skeptical at first . This property is on an island just minutes away from Key West . I soon changed my mind . It was awesome . First class all the way . Great service . Relaxing atmosphere . We stayed in a two bedroom cottage .A continental breakfast was delivered to our door every morning . The boat ride was not a problem . . We seldom had to wait over five to ten minutes . Had lunch by the ocean . The food was very good . Just a perfect weekend .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the positive review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We traveled to Key West and decided to stay at the cottages on Sunset Key. This resort is probably the best experience we have ever had as regards accomodations, resturant and lounge. Every morning there was a basket at the front door or our cottage containing homemade Muffins & Biscuts second to none. The staff was outstanding and could not do enough for you. The pool was excellent and the beach was pristine. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Cottages surrounding the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest:

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Sunset Key and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We recently got married at Sunset Key. Staying at the cottages was a little out of our price range, so we stayed at the Resort & Marina and took the ferry over to the ceremony. The room there was fine, but having seen the beautiful cottages, I now long to stay on this cute little island.

First, let me say that Erin (the Director of Catering) rocks. She was super to work with -- despite the fact that we had a very small ceremony (immediate family only), she was on top of all the necessary details, including arranging special transport for my mother, who has some mobility issues. More importantly, I didn't feel for a second like a second-class citizen. Sunset Key, like many venues, charges based on the number of guests, so our ceremony was not a huge money maker for them. Given this, I really appreciated her attentiveness to our event and her numerous helpful suggestions. She was, in a word, lovely, throughout the entire process.

Second, the site itself is spectacular. Sailboats, a sunset, a beautiful dock -- what more could you want? Also, taking the ferry over also made the whole experience seem a little special/exclusive, without being too much of a strain on our parents. After the ceremony, we had numerous parts of the island available for photos, which was an extra bonus.

Third, Latitudes, where we had dinner, was amazing. Our table of 9 watched the sun slip into the ocean and then dined on fantastic food and wine. When the cake came out, it had sparklers on it, which was a great touch.

Simply put, I could not have asked for a better wedding. It was exactly what I had imagined/hoped for -- simple, elegant, and relaxing. Thanks to Erin and Latitudes for making our wedding perfect!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the great review and we will make sure to pass this along to Erin and the Latitudes team! Congratulations on your wedding and we hope you will come back and visit us again soon!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at Sunset Key Guest cottages with 2 other couples. We had a 3 bed/3.5 bath cottage. It was next to the beach and it was absolutely lovely. Muffins, water, and juice were brought to our cottage every morning. We had no problem getting the shuttle back and forth to Key West. Yes, it is upscale and you pay for it but it was well worth it. Great pool with a bar. Drink and food service on the beach. Really lovely!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the good review! It is always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West

Address: 245 Front St, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#7 Spa Hotel in Key West
#9 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, is a secluded tropical island sanctuary located just 500 yards off the coast of Key West, featuring private cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Key Guest Cottages, a Westin Hotel Key West
Westin Key West
Key West Westin
Sunset Key Cottages Guest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.