We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset Key. You disappoint” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort

Save Saved
You added Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   245 Front St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 41 hotels in Key West
Sanibel Island, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Sunset Key. You disappoint”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Third stay here. Just left a few hours ago. After staying two doors down from a house full of Neanderthals: F this and F that and keeping cottages around us awake for two nights running, mgmt finally did something by sending two guys down to break it up. This was our 3rd year. Our neighbors 10th. Surely that takes precedent over rowdies. We never received any apology or update. We had to finally go to concierge to find out disposition of this. To be told by a human in Sasquatch disguise. Lady, go f yourself. What a disappointing Westin attitude. How about a nice call, a bottle of wine, some fruit, to say sorry for your inconvenience ? Please don't respond that "Jenny" will discuss with mgmt and try to correct problem.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    70
    29
    11
    13
See reviews for
114
107
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We are a family of four, with two girls between 9 and 14. We were not early risers, and with the active days we planned, we slept fairly soundly. The cottages were clean, open, airy and spacious. We liked breakfast. It comes in an adorable little basket. Jenny the concierge was amazing. She tried to accommodate our every need. She was very proactive and efficient.We also enjoyed the fact that the pool, the beach, our cottage, the concierge, and the pier were all relatively close to one another making it easy to enjoy different activites. The hotel restaurant, Latitudes, was always delicious and being a guest at Sunset Key gave us an advantage in getting last minute reservations. One item to note is the late check in time of three to five PM. If you arrive before three, the staff will allow you to use the pool, beach, and restaurant which solves most of the problems. Their luggage transportation service from the Westin, on th boat, to our cottage, was seem less.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return visit!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Shortly after New Year we spent a long weekend at Westin Sunset Key. We loved it!
Having been to Key West several times before I was surprised to find how effortlessly removed from activity one can be here. The ferry takes you in 15 min to and from K.W. this resort is a relaxed oasis with a sand beach.
Our beach house faced the water and I highly recommend that upgrade. The porch was terrific to sit on, day and night.
The casitas are nice but not luxurious. Clean and cottage like, still above average. The pool area was tropical and set within the green landscaping. I liked the central building which had an island feel. It housed spa services (massage was good, I didn't see a full spa) an attractive gift shop, a restaurant with terrace, and a check in- information desk. Registration is on the KW side. The boat ran late enough for our activities and we used it 1-2 times a day. The resort is it on S.K.
What a treat to stay near a busy active town, do it all, and retreat to a private island.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the positive review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Sunset Key and look forward to your return visit!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was the most amazing place to enjoy a nice lunch or dinner. We had lunch, its like sitting in the middle of paradise. Service was outstanding and the food was even better. The only draw back was the noisy neighbors but they were just having a nice swim in their pool. This is a must do stop on your Key West excursion. Reservations are probably necessary.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review. We are glad you enjoyed your time at Latitudes and look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent one night here with our daughter, son-in-law and two grandchildren. Wish we could have stayed much longer. It is a great way to visit Key West - a beautiful cottage on a quiet island where you can relax, but just a short ferry ride to fun, exciting, hectic Key West. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Owner at Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest:

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay on Sunset Key and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just returned to reality after a week in paradise. What an amazing place. The cottages were spacious and clean, the entire resort was quiet, we thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast basket of baked goodies delivered to our front porch every day, the shuttles to/from the island were on time, the restaurant and bar were wonderful and all of the personnel we encountered was pleasant and customer focused. I am ready to return to paradise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the positive review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay on Sunset Key and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I rented a 3 bedroom cottage for 3 weeks in February at the Westin Sunset Key cottages. Every aspect of the hotel was perfect. The staff was friendly and very accommodating . The cottages were very clean and well kept. The food at Latitudes restaurant was superb. I would definitely come back!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this positive review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay on Sunset Key and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort

Address: 245 Front St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#6 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#6 Spa Hotel in Key West
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Key Guest Cottages is a secluded tropical island sanctuary located just 500 yards off the coast of Key West Old Town historic seaport district featuring private cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HotelsClick and Travelocity so you can book your Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Key Guest Cottages, a Westin Hotel Key West
Westin Key West
Key West Westin
Sunset Key Cottages Guest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.