We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Island Get Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort to your Saves list
Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   245 Front St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Island Get Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

First time at Sunset Key in December. It is a gorgeous little island just a short 10-minute ferry ride from the heart of Key West (scheduled ferry leaves every 30 minutes from the island and from Key West until pretty late at night and then smaller boat takes you after hours). Stayed in a two-bedroom cottage with 3 full bathrooms (so your visitors don't have to go into your room) and a small but full kitchen. Full-size fridge you can stock yourself if you want to haul things from the mainland. Daily AM free delivery of various breads, muffins, apples and oranges. Starbucks coffee provided that you can make for free. Great private porch where you can start your morning. We stayed right next to the pool, which is lovely and also has 2 hot tubs (didn't see a posted close time, which might be nice addition at least for the hot-tub which one night had some late-night partiers just outside our bedroom windows...). Registered Sunset Key guests can bring others over to the island on the ferry, but the whole experience is very private and super classy.

The restaurant on the island is absolutely fabulous. Great wine list and each course was better than the next and perfectly prepared! Nothing is easy on the wallet, but for a treat the restaurant and the views from it are just fabulous.

Another great unadvertised amenity is the island lockers with two full bathrooms. We had a morning checkout but an evening flight. The wonderful staff let us put our bags in the lockers right by the main house and the ferry launch and gave us key card access. After a day at the Sunset Key beach and pool, we could take a relaxing shower and get cleaned up for our departure. That made our last day really great!

Key West has a ton of cruise ship traffic that blocks a large part of your view if in Key West during the day. Being on the island across the way, with its private beach, was completely removed from the cruise ship world and the thousands of tourists on 'em.

As advertised, sunsets in Key West are just beautiful and are worth scheduling your day around. Would recommend a stay at the Sunset Key Cottages. A first-rate experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much - sounds like you enjoyed yourself thoroughly. We hope you join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    77
    31
    13
    16
See reviews for
126
121
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We are long time fans of Sunset Key! We used to visit the island on a regular basis when our kids were little. We have many happy memories of family vacations on this beautiful and unique island. But came back recently and brought our best friends. Just a couple's trip and it was amazing. The island was decorated for the holidays and the service and was supreme. After an error with our booking from the Westin Rep on the 1-800-number, the concierge Jenny had it straightened out quickly and went out of her way to take care of us. She had a bottle of chapagne and a cheese tray waiting for us in our cottage. I would highly recommend calling the concierge (Jenny) directly when booking your reservation. The island has a new, larger restaurant with beautiful views and the new spa and workout room are also wonderful. The service was as good as it always was and our waiter on the beach was great! We are already planning our trip for next year! FIVE STARS!

Room Tip: I would call the concierge and have her advise on you on which cottage would be best for you. Do yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review, for being repeat guests and for mentioning staff by name. Glad you had a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kingston, RI
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

As a SPG Lifetime Platinum member, I usually receive an upgraded room when I stay at a Starwoods property. This stay was especially appreciated since I treated family members who stayed as my gift at the Sunset Key West resort, associated with the Westin Key West.

I paid for their stay and the hotel delivered. No hassles. The general manager, Diane S., responded immediately to my request for these two deserving guests. Thank you, Diane, at the Westin Key West, for making this a perfect present for me. My family truly loved their stay-- the cottage, the room, food and the ambiance. I am grateful that they received the same great service that I always do.

Room Tip: Trust the reservations desk staff to help you choose the perfect room choice based on your price ran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your review and for mentioning staff by name. We are thrilled that you enjoyed all aspects of your experience and hope to see you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Very lovely cabins on a private island. Short ferry ride from Key West and very close to the action.
Great location if you want privacy and quite but a short ride to the hustle and bustle of Duval street.
Beach front location. Could use a BBQ for cooking meals. Beds and bedding were fantastic, kitchen could be better equipped. Definitely stay again for the right price. Winds could be higher here than on the east side of KeyWest.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We're so glad you had a nice time. Unfortunately, we are prohibited from providing grills/barbeques due to fire code restrictions. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Valley, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We usually go to Turks and Cacios for Thanksgiving....however, we decided to try something new. It was nice being in the US and not having to worry about passports for everyone....However, the flying time was no different than going to Turks....
We arrived into Key West and had a very short boat ride to Sunset Key.....Our villa was very nice...right on the ocean which mind you can be a bit breezy...We had a group of 12 so we had 2 villa's..They both had kitchens and beileve it or not I was disapointed because we didn't have a full cooking kitchen...We had a microwave and a cooktop and full fridge...however, no stove, limited cookware and serve ware...we couldn't really cook a full meal if we wanted to but could make Mac and Cheese for kids etc..... traveling with 5 kids this is pretty important to me...also is a washer and dryer and there were neither in our unit....most didn't have them...
We enjoyed the sunsets, spa, fitness facilities, pool and Latitudes.....all very good....I didn't enjoy having to take the boat over to Key West....we did on a limited basis however, I found Key West to be not very kid friendly.....tooo many bad t-shirt's, bar's and drunks.....However, if you plan on staying on Sunset Key with kids it is very nice!!! In the end it isn't Turks and Cacios and we had a new experience....all in all ...I can't give Key West a full thumbs up in the kids department.......

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. We hope you come stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I recently stayed here for a week as a second honeymoon for my 25th. Anniversary and a present for my wife who just got done a year long battle with breast cancer. This was her dream trip. This island is amazing. The pool was great and everything satisfied. She is spoiled now. Although there were some minor details in the room cleaning process that needed fixing, they made everything right with one call. Great job!

Room Tip: Every Cottage has its advantages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Got upgraded with wife and three kids from the hotel . The cottage we had overlooked the pool and had three bedrooms - sea mist it was called .
Beautiful linen and very tasteful rooms made it a superb cottage to stay in . The pool area was great as well as the beach area .

Would love to go back there again .

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. How lucky! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort

Address: 245 Front St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#7 Spa Hotel in Key West
#8 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Key Guest Cottages is a secluded tropical island sanctuary located just 500 yards off the coast of Key West Old Town historic seaport district featuring private cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Key Guest Cottages, a Westin Hotel Key West
Westin Key West
Key West Westin
Sunset Key Cottages Guest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.