We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location and Comfortable Accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse Court

Save Saved
You added Lighthouse Court to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lighthouse Court
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   902 Whitehead Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 41 hotels in Key West
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect Location and Comfortable Accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

There are too many guest houses in Key West to narrow down the best of the best, but I did have the opportunity to visit and tour many properties. I was fortunate to stay at this location and I was very pleased. The rooms were large and had all anyone could need. The included cold breakfast was more than I expected and the poolside bar was convenient. Try the Key Lime Margarita! Location of this guest house is one block from the best part of Duval Street and walking distance to all. Clean and cute.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs above the pool seem to be the largest and have a shared balcony for added privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    214
    73
    51
    18
See reviews for
51
291
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Always our first choice when visiting Key West..Quiet and tucked away from Duval to escape and relax but close enough that just a short walk and your eating ,drinking and then unfortunately singing and dancing and falling down at the Green Parrot..I'm sure no one will remember that by October(next visit)!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Neat place next to the lighthouse and across the street from the Hemingway House; one block off of Duval. Nice suite tucked away in the back. The only downs; no closet in the rooms, the WI-FI was iffy back there, and parking could be problematic.

Otherwise, everything else was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights over NYE 2012/2013 and while we smacked our heads more than a few times on the low, slanted ceilings and door frames, we were very happy with the grounds, the room, the bed, the shower, the pool, the food and especially the customer service!

The hotel gladly took care of our bike rental logistics, they were always available for a restaurant recommendation, gave us more than enough information on where to go and what to do and every request we had for our room was answered with courtesy, effienciency and speed.

The cafe on site is very cute and the staff is also very personable. We sat by the pool a few times and it was very quiet and relaxing. This hotel is directly across the street from Hemingway's house, but we never were bothered by any noise from the crowds there. The hotel is in the PERFECT location to see everything in Key West. We parked our car in the back of the hotel upon arrival (first come first served) and never moved it until we left. Everything is in walking distance.

I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have slanted ceilings. We had a King bed room on the outside of one of the buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I was in Miami on business for two weeks, and I decided to visit Key West for the weekend. I only stayed for Saturday night at Lighthouse Court, but I wish it could have been longer.

The staff were very friendly at the front desk and were full of pointers for good places to check out for food, drinks, and sightseeing. The bars/restaurants they recommended were all very local-type places - nothing touristy, which is good.

The room was small, but very clean and pleasing to look at. It had a queen bed, a small closet for storage with an iron and ironing board, and small bathroom. My room's location wasn't the greatest in terms of exterior view (window and glass door look out to a wall underneath the second story), but it was located right next to the entrance to the inner courtyard, so I didn't really care.

The inner courtyard is very nice, with a deck/patio area with chairs, tables, and a hammock, and another area with the pool, tables/chairs and mojito bar (which I did not visit). The whole inner courtyard is nicely lit at night, so it's a place you could sit and enjoy a drink with others.

The location of the inn is great as well - one block from Duval St. and just a few blocks down from where the action starts. It's a perfect combo of quietness and peace close enough to the mayhem.

If I have a chance to return to Key West for a longer stay next winter, I will definitely try to reserve here first.

Room Tip: A second floor room would offer both a better view and greater privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed for a few nights about a week before Christmas. The atmosphere of the inn, with rooms centered around an attractive pool area with small bar, was very nice. We were in one of the small King rooms that opened onto the large second floor deck above the pool, with a view of the lighthouse. The atmosphere was great, the room showed a little wear and tear but was clean and comfortable. If you want spotless luxury, this isn't it, but you will find the historic charm that is the essence of Key West. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Very quaint place located in walking distance of just about everything. This is an older place, so if you are looking for modern, this is not it. You can imagine it probably looks just like it did when Hemingway lived across the street. It is clean but nothing fancy. The staff is very friendly and try to make you feel right at home. The pool is small but very clean (it is also salt water) but not busy. The bar is cute and our bartender was very pleasant. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lighthouse Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Court

Address: 902 Whitehead Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 41 hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lighthouse Court 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lighthouse Court is one of five hotels in the Historic Key West Inns collection and is located next door to the Key West Lighthouse Museum and across the street from the Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum. Forty guestrooms are spread out within ten buildings, creating a spacious and relaxing environment. Buildings are separated by brick pathways, tropical landscaping, and decked courtyards. The grounds provide many comfortable spots for lounging, sunning, or gazing up at the lighthouse. Guests can relax around the large pool in the main courtyard while sipping on tropical drinks from the pool bar. Just one block off Duval Street, the location affords instant access to some of our favorite things to do in Key West including the Mallory Square sunset celebration, Sloppy Joe’s Bar & Margaritaville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Lighthouse Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Court Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lighthouse Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.