We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West to your Saves list
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   902 Whitehead Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 45 Hotels in Key West
East Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfy getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Neat place next to the lighthouse and across the street from the Hemingway House; one block off of Duval. Nice suite tucked away in the back. The only downs; no closet in the rooms, the WI-FI was iffy back there, and parking could be problematic.

Otherwise, everything else was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    265
    83
    58
    20
See reviews for
62
366
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights over NYE 2012/2013 and while we smacked our heads more than a few times on the low, slanted ceilings and door frames, we were very happy with the grounds, the room, the bed, the shower, the pool, the food and especially the customer service!

The hotel gladly took care of our bike rental logistics, they were always available for a restaurant recommendation, gave us more than enough information on where to go and what to do and every request we had for our room was answered with courtesy, effienciency and speed.

The cafe on site is very cute and the staff is also very personable. We sat by the pool a few times and it was very quiet and relaxing. This hotel is directly across the street from Hemingway's house, but we never were bothered by any noise from the crowds there. The hotel is in the PERFECT location to see everything in Key West. We parked our car in the back of the hotel upon arrival (first come first served) and never moved it until we left. Everything is in walking distance.

I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have slanted ceilings. We had a King bed room on the outside of one of the buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I was in Miami on business for two weeks, and I decided to visit Key West for the weekend. I only stayed for Saturday night at Lighthouse Court, but I wish it could have been longer.

The staff were very friendly at the front desk and were full of pointers for good places to check out for food, drinks, and sightseeing. The bars/restaurants they recommended were all very local-type places - nothing touristy, which is good.

The room was small, but very clean and pleasing to look at. It had a queen bed, a small closet for storage with an iron and ironing board, and small bathroom. My room's location wasn't the greatest in terms of exterior view (window and glass door look out to a wall underneath the second story), but it was located right next to the entrance to the inner courtyard, so I didn't really care.

The inner courtyard is very nice, with a deck/patio area with chairs, tables, and a hammock, and another area with the pool, tables/chairs and mojito bar (which I did not visit). The whole inner courtyard is nicely lit at night, so it's a place you could sit and enjoy a drink with others.

The location of the inn is great as well - one block from Duval St. and just a few blocks down from where the action starts. It's a perfect combo of quietness and peace close enough to the mayhem.

If I have a chance to return to Key West for a longer stay next winter, I will definitely try to reserve here first.

Room Tip: A second floor room would offer both a better view and greater privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed for a few nights about a week before Christmas. The atmosphere of the inn, with rooms centered around an attractive pool area with small bar, was very nice. We were in one of the small King rooms that opened onto the large second floor deck above the pool, with a view of the lighthouse. The atmosphere was great, the room showed a little wear and tear but was clean and comfortable. If you want spotless luxury, this isn't it, but you will find the historic charm that is the essence of Key West. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Very quaint place located in walking distance of just about everything. This is an older place, so if you are looking for modern, this is not it. You can imagine it probably looks just like it did when Hemingway lived across the street. It is clean but nothing fancy. The staff is very friendly and try to make you feel right at home. The pool is small but very clean (it is also salt water) but not busy. The bar is cute and our bartender was very pleasant. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
153 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Very quaint place, though our room was very small. We had a glass door as well. The bathroom wall didn't go all the way up to the ceiling, so...if you are modest and want some privacy, it's not quiet. There really was no room to put your luggage. For the women that many reviewers made, there are no shelves in the bathroom to put your curling iron, make up, etc. Our bathroom was quite large, but just a pedestal sink. My make up bag was in the sink on a towel. curling iron kept falling off the stool. Our TV almost didn't come in well both nights, but we were so tired from walking around all day drinking that it didn't matter. The breakfast was pretty basic, but you don't need much to start your day. Yogurt, coffee, muffins, toast/bagels. The bar was a nice start to the evening. Parking can be VERY difficult, but we lucked out with a spot on Olivia St I think it was? Right next to the hotel. The hotel is very quaint, charming, excellent propertly. We loved it. Staff was friendly too. Few complaints I made are minor ones. I would stay here again. It was our first time to Key West and want to come back. It seems like alot of complaints, but they truly were minor ones, but things to mention because many people need amentiies that don't bother me so much. I would highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

As so many have observed, the location is ideal and the staff is friendly and very helpful. The rooms are typical of hte Historic District and they blend in well with the ambiance of the Keys. The room we had was small, but tasteful and more than adequate for our needs. The pool area, Mojito Bar, Continental breakfast were all excellent. Not any complaints here. Excellent property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West

Address: 902 Whitehead Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 45 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lighthouse Court Hotel is a 40 room boutique hotel in the heart of Old Town, Key West, across from the Hemingway House and Lighthouse Museum. You can walk to Margaritaville, Mallory Square, Sloppy Joe's, the beaches and Duval Street's famous bars & nightlife. A variety of guest rooms and suites are located in ten "conch" buildings dating back from 1890 to the 1920's. The architecture is typical for old Key West, featuring one and two story buildings that have tin roofs, wood siding, open porches and french doors. Buildings are separated by brick pathways, tropical landscaping and decked courtyards with many comfortable spots for lounging, sunning, or gazing up at the lighthouse. Guests can relax around the large pool while sipping on tropical drinks, sandwiches, wraps, salads and pizzas from the Mojito Bar & Cafe. Free high-speed Wifi in your room. Continental breakfast served poolside. Upscale bathroom amenities. Free hotel parking. Modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Lighthouse Court Hotel. Free High-Speed Wifi In Room. Free Continental Breakfast. Free Onsite & Offsite Parking. Upscale Amenities. Mojito Bar On Site. Outdoor Heated Swimming Pool. Historic Cottages & Buildings. Conveniently Located In Old Town Key West. Walk To Duval Street, Attractions & Beaches. Excellent Location For Weddings At Hemingway House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Court Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.