We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Key West” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lighthouse Court to your Saves list
Lighthouse Court
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   902 Whitehead Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Key West”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Very quaint place located in walking distance of just about everything. This is an older place, so if you are looking for modern, this is not it. You can imagine it probably looks just like it did when Hemingway lived across the street. It is clean but nothing fancy. The staff is very friendly and try to make you feel right at home. The pool is small but very clean (it is also salt water) but not busy. The bar is cute and our bartender was very pleasant. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    228
    79
    53
    19
See reviews for
54
317
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Very quaint place, though our room was very small. We had a glass door as well. The bathroom wall didn't go all the way up to the ceiling, so...if you are modest and want some privacy, it's not quiet. There really was no room to put your luggage. For the women that many reviewers made, there are no shelves in the bathroom to put your curling iron, make up, etc. Our bathroom was quite large, but just a pedestal sink. My make up bag was in the sink on a towel. curling iron kept falling off the stool. Our TV almost didn't come in well both nights, but we were so tired from walking around all day drinking that it didn't matter. The breakfast was pretty basic, but you don't need much to start your day. Yogurt, coffee, muffins, toast/bagels. The bar was a nice start to the evening. Parking can be VERY difficult, but we lucked out with a spot on Olivia St I think it was? Right next to the hotel. The hotel is very quaint, charming, excellent propertly. We loved it. Staff was friendly too. Few complaints I made are minor ones. I would stay here again. It was our first time to Key West and want to come back. It seems like alot of complaints, but they truly were minor ones, but things to mention because many people need amentiies that don't bother me so much. I would highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

As so many have observed, the location is ideal and the staff is friendly and very helpful. The rooms are typical of hte Historic District and they blend in well with the ambiance of the Keys. The room we had was small, but tasteful and more than adequate for our needs. The pool area, Mojito Bar, Continental breakfast were all excellent. Not any complaints here. Excellent property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We visited Key West this past weekend for a friend's wedding on Smathers Beach. The wedding plans were short notice so we didn't have a lot of time to book. The bride and groom were staying at the Tropical Inn on Duval but by the time we looked at room rates, the only available rooms were twice as much as we were willing to spend. We ended up booking our flight and hotel as a package, which ended up being the best decision we could've made!

The Lighthouse Court B&B is just opposite the Hemingway House on Whitehead street and one block away from Duval street. Whitehead happens to dead end into the southernmost point and if you go in the opposite direction, you end up right around Mallory square, so the location was perfect for getting around.

The staff could not have been better. We were greeted by Jeremiah, who let us store our luggage while we got reacquainted with KW. We arrived a few hours before their normal check-in time but he gave us a call within an hour to say they had our room ready. Our room was location was great, just between the front of the B&B and the pool/bar area. The room itself was quite tiny but we were only there when we slept. The noise was nonexistent since we weren't facing the street directly.

The only downside was the iron (board). The iron had a retractable cord which didn't stay extended and made it difficult to iron. The board was also small and a little challenging to assemble.

Room Tip: I'm sure we could have called the B&B and requested another room but ours seemed to be in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Like a B& B feel without a boxed in crowded feeling. This key west cottagie inn has a great pool area under the shadow of the lighthouse. Very nice staff went beyond their duties when a freak of nature, caused us to have to change rooms. We loved our room in the B section. Hemmingway house if right across the street and holds weddings, so can have music playing, none of which we could hear in our room. Like most B&B's no 2 rooms are alike. Many have porches or decks. Great location one street off noisey active Duval on a beautifull street. Breakfast is not gourmet but is included and very pleasant poolside location. They do have a bar and restaurant open 11:00 to 7:00 with a tv for sports. So if you like a B&B with outside space and a non comercial feel with friendly staff stay here.

Room Tip: B2 B3 B4 or C rooms upstairs J rooms lower face back street off pool. Ask for a non H side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

For an older hotel that is close to Duval St this place was great. Although a lot of buildings in the area show their age I didnt have any complaints. The bed were comfortable. The only concern I had was with the gap under the door, that those very plentiful little lizards were going to come in.

Room Tip: During the busy season you may want to be upstairs or somewhere away from the pool. My room was 3ft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very well maintained grounds, clean rooms but need a little extra. There is plenty of room in the bathroom but no where to put your "stuff". No shelves or cabinets. Also the water was just barely warm enough to take a shower. Although the rooms are nicely decorated, the bed was very lumpy and uncomfortable. Nice pool area, nice little bar, pleasant staff. I would suggest they ad a microwave to the rooms. There is a little kitchenette, but it only has a mini fridge. Overall a nice property.

Room Tip: Our room faced the courtyard or back of the property. I would recommend this area as it was fairly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lighthouse Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Court

Address: 902 Whitehead Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lighthouse Court 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lighthouse Court is one of five hotels in the Historic Key West Inns collection and is located next door to the Key West Lighthouse Museum and across the street from the Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum. Forty guestrooms are spread out within ten buildings, creating a spacious and relaxing environment. Buildings are separated by brick pathways, tropical landscaping, and decked courtyards. The grounds provide many comfortable spots for lounging, sunning, or gazing up at the lighthouse. Guests can relax around the large pool in the main courtyard while sipping on tropical drinks from the pool bar. Just one block off Duval Street, the location affords instant access to some of our favorite things to do in Key West including the Mallory Square sunset celebration, Sloppy Joe’s Bar & Margaritaville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lighthouse Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Court Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lighthouse Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.