We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff and Location was Perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West to your Saves list
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   902 Whitehead Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Key West
Orlando
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Staff and Location was Perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We visited Key West this past weekend for a friend's wedding on Smathers Beach. The wedding plans were short notice so we didn't have a lot of time to book. The bride and groom were staying at the Tropical Inn on Duval but by the time we looked at room rates, the only available rooms were twice as much as we were willing to spend. We ended up booking our flight and hotel as a package, which ended up being the best decision we could've made!

The Lighthouse Court B&B is just opposite the Hemingway House on Whitehead street and one block away from Duval street. Whitehead happens to dead end into the southernmost point and if you go in the opposite direction, you end up right around Mallory square, so the location was perfect for getting around.

The staff could not have been better. We were greeted by Jeremiah, who let us store our luggage while we got reacquainted with KW. We arrived a few hours before their normal check-in time but he gave us a call within an hour to say they had our room ready. Our room was location was great, just between the front of the B&B and the pool/bar area. The room itself was quite tiny but we were only there when we slept. The noise was nonexistent since we weren't facing the street directly.

The only downside was the iron (board). The iron had a retractable cord which didn't stay extended and made it difficult to iron. The board was also small and a little challenging to assemble.

Room Tip: I'm sure we could have called the B&B and requested another room but ours seemed to be in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    275
    90
    58
    21
See reviews for
70
389
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Like a B& B feel without a boxed in crowded feeling. This key west cottagie inn has a great pool area under the shadow of the lighthouse. Very nice staff went beyond their duties when a freak of nature, caused us to have to change rooms. We loved our room in the B section. Hemmingway house if right across the street and holds weddings, so can have music playing, none of which we could hear in our room. Like most B&B's no 2 rooms are alike. Many have porches or decks. Great location one street off noisey active Duval on a beautifull street. Breakfast is not gourmet but is included and very pleasant poolside location. They do have a bar and restaurant open 11:00 to 7:00 with a tv for sports. So if you like a B&B with outside space and a non comercial feel with friendly staff stay here.

Room Tip: B2 B3 B4 or C rooms upstairs J rooms lower face back street off pool. Ask for a non H side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

For an older hotel that is close to Duval St this place was great. Although a lot of buildings in the area show their age I didnt have any complaints. The bed were comfortable. The only concern I had was with the gap under the door, that those very plentiful little lizards were going to come in.

Room Tip: During the busy season you may want to be upstairs or somewhere away from the pool. My room was 3ft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very well maintained grounds, clean rooms but need a little extra. There is plenty of room in the bathroom but no where to put your "stuff". No shelves or cabinets. Also the water was just barely warm enough to take a shower. Although the rooms are nicely decorated, the bed was very lumpy and uncomfortable. Nice pool area, nice little bar, pleasant staff. I would suggest they ad a microwave to the rooms. There is a little kitchenette, but it only has a mini fridge. Overall a nice property.

Room Tip: Our room faced the courtyard or back of the property. I would recommend this area as it was fairly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
94 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The rooms/cottages remind me of "old" Florida. Rooms are large, well appointed and very clean. Service was outstanding. The hotel is directly across the street from the Hemingway mansion and only a block off Duval Street in the quiet section of the City. No car necessary, everything is within walking distance. Breakfast bar is okay, but I like the convenience of the Mojito Bar and Cafe on site. Patio is well appointed and great for just sitting in the sun and reading. Would stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Frederick, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I wanted to stay here one night while in Key West. The parking situation was slightly challenging and tight spaces. Worked for 1 night though. Clean rooms, nice and spacious. We were amused by the very open shower we had! Overall nice stay for an evening!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Web and reviews influenced us to stay but we were generally very disappointed. The good points first, the location is great and the front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful. That about sums it up.
Now to the downside. We had a King room on the front of the complex. Looked like a wooden shed which we assumed was meant to be 'quaint' and in keeping with the area. Amenities were poor, no clothes closet which would be a problem for more than one or two days, few drawers, a very noisy refrigerator next to the bed, next door rooms TV mounted on the other side of the wall above the bed and a bathroom which had nowhere to put any toiletries. Must be the noisiest room we have ever had and our friends in the next shed agreed with us. We were woken up by blaring tv late at night in both rooms. When I rang the front desk to complain they phoned the wrong room and woke our friends instead of the room attached to ours. Would have thought the staff should know the layout of the complex.
No coffee making facilities in rooms but breakfast was included. Bagels, muffins etc so not a wide choice but not too bad as it went. They ran out of tea bags and smoking is allowed in the open breakfast area which is not a good idea.
Overall we felt that this property had a lot of potential but was badly designed and very very expensive for what was provided. Would not recommend or visit again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Key Lime Inn
Key Lime Inn
#16 of 45 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,057 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chelsea House Pool & Garden Hotel
0.6 mi away
Cypress House Key West
Cypress House Key West
#13 of 45 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#5 of 45 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pegasus International Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Saint Hotel Key West
The Saint Hotel Key West
#8 of 45 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West

Address: 902 Whitehead Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lighthouse Court Hotel is a 40 room boutique hotel in the heart of Old Town, Key West, across from the Hemingway House and Lighthouse Museum. You can walk to Margaritaville, Mallory Square, Sloppy Joe's, the beaches and Duval Street's famous bars & nightlife. A variety of guest rooms and suites are located in ten "conch" buildings dating back from 1890 to the 1920's. The architecture is typical for old Key West, featuring one and two story buildings that have tin roofs, wood siding, open porches and french doors. Buildings are separated by brick pathways, tropical landscaping and decked courtyards with many comfortable spots for lounging, sunning, or gazing up at the lighthouse. Guests can relax around the large pool while sipping on tropical drinks, sandwiches, wraps, salads and pizzas from the Mojito Bar & Cafe. Free high-speed Wifi in your room. Continental breakfast served poolside. Upscale bathroom amenities. Free hotel parking. Modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Lighthouse Court Hotel. Free High-Speed Wifi In Room. Free Continental Breakfast. Free Onsite & Offsite Parking. Upscale Amenities. Mojito Bar On Site. Outdoor Heated Swimming Pool. Historic Cottages & Buildings. Conveniently Located In Old Town Key West. Walk To Duval Street, Attractions & Beaches. Excellent Location For Weddings At Hemingway House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Court Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.